July 20, 2010

  • We are God’s Workmanship … Nothing Less!

    Conner Prairie 9-1-07 267  hat window texture SIG
    Am I growing or eroding in who I am becoming? 

    A wise woman grows in understanding who she really is.
    A woman who knows how God sees her is confident in her identity.
    She knows God made her just the way she is and for specific tasks.

    She does not compare the inside of herself with other women.
    She makes the effort to grow in her knowledge of the truth of what God says about her.

    A woman who understands who she is in God’s sight knows she is:

    Accepted    (Ephesians 1:5)
    Secure        (Philippians 1:6)
    Significant   (John 15:16)

    Her identity is not bound up in what she has, how she looks, or what she wears.
    Her identity is secured in who she is as a beloved child of God.

    “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works,
    which God prepared in advance for us to do”  (Ephesians 2:10).

    Read Psalm 139 and ask God to fill your heart with the knowledge of just how treasured you are to Him.
    Ask Him to help you grow in your understanding of who you really are!

    Father God,
    Sometimes it’s hard for me to think of myself as a piece of Your artwork – created to be just who I am. Help me to embrace the knowledge of who You say I am! I know all too well the weaknesses in me. I invite You to use these very things that I dislike in me to be the entry points of Your strength and power in my Iife. I know You have things for me to do that go beyond this “to do” list of mine. Help me to be ready to give a kind word or a hug to someone today. Show me who You want to touch through me. Help me to live as an accepted, secure and significant child of the Almighty God today by the power of Your Holy Spirit. In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

    A Daily Devotion – By Gail Rodgers



    Hope you’re all doing well, and enjoying your summer.  We’ve been enduring a lot of heat, along with the ‘muggies’, and rain. I’m so very thankful for air conditioning!  I don’t remember it being so muggy and humid as it’s been the past few years.  I’m drinking lots of iced green tea, these days, as well!  In other news … things may be changing here for us … we may be moving, after almost 20 years in the same house!  We’re still not quite sure though, so your prayers would be appreciated!  Do you ever ask God to put the answer to something right in front of you, making it as plain as day?!  Well, now is that time for us!  We have some doubts, and we’re praying we’ll get the answer very soon! I often wonder what Abraham felt like when he set out for the promised land .. having no idea where he was going … now that takes faith, and lots of it!  There are a few things that are concerning us about this house … like the fact it’s $250 more a month, in rent, then where we are now, also, whether, or not, we can have our two cats!  We’re waiting on that answer from our friends from church, who own the house … I don’t think we could part with them right now … nor they with us!  We’re all pretty attached to one another, around here!  The house has no basement, and, we do here, for our storage, so that would be a bit difficult.  Other than that, it’s very nice … but, so is cheap rent!  Hopefully, we’ll have an answer in the next couple of days … it’s very stressful thinking about moving, with all the things we’ve accumulated over the years here!
    We haven’t moved in so long …. I forget how!!! Lol!  But seriously, thinking of trying to go through it all, de-clutter, purge,, and move, all at the same time, is causing me major sleep deprivation!

    I wanted to thank you for your prayers for my sister, Pattie … I had shared about her in my last post, and I’m happy to say, she is doing much, much better now …. I’m so thankful for that!  Our son, Ian, however, is still in need of much prayer.  He is struggling, and things are still difficult for him out in California.  There are some things that are deeply concerning us, surrounding our son, and, your prayers are so appreciated!  Someday, I’ll be able to share more, but as I said before, God knows Ian’s needs, even more than we do! 

    I need to get back to some visiting here, catching up with some more of you on my list … I’ve missed so much!  Thank you for remembering me … I know I’m not as consistent as I use to be around here, but I haven’t ‘left’, as some others, I know, have decided to do.  I’m thinkin’ they might miss it around here … I know when I’m not here, I really do miss it!  When I get on my site, it’s like being ‘home’!  Well, I pray you all have a blessed week, and, keep an eye out … I’ll be around soon!

    Hugs,
                         ~ Deborah <><

Comments (14)

  • :sunny: :sunny: Glad to see you around! :)

  • Hi there!

    Thanks for coming by my Xanga… I’m really wanting to get back over here too… it’s hard because I chat so much over on Facebook, I don’t have anything really to talk about over here! ha!  I guess I could go into more detail, here… lol!

    Anyway, I did not know that Ian got married!  Congratulations!!  I’m very happy for you and your family… Bethany will be graduating in May and moving home for a while until she gets a job and gets on her feet… she’s planning to go to Graduate school, too, so, we’ll see how that all goes…

    Everyone else is doing great; I’m just having some problems with my sinuses… already went to the dr. to get meds and getting back on the mends… love Spring… hate pollen! ha!

    Love ya!!

  • Hey Beautiful Deborah! Just stopped by to catch up a little with ya! :wave: Hope you have a lovely weekend!

  • BTW… where did you get that cute November Calendar in your module?  I want one of those! :)

  • :heartbeat:Hello my lady!  I’m going to try to blog more over here; it’s been too long!  While I’m thinking about it, my Blogger account is in my left module under “What’s Heartbeat?” or “Learn more about Heartbeat”… anyway, these are accounts that I advertise the magazine, etc… I really don’t blog there, I just maintain the sites…

    I’m more active on FB, HERE, now, and Heartbeatworld…

    What you should do with your photography business is what I’m doing with the magazine… set up accounts at MySpace, Shoutlife.com, Blogger.com and any other web communities you can and just have those blogs for advertising… I have three ladies that “befriend” Christian people, Authors, Writers, Artists, etc… for those communities… we don’t chat with anyone, just “friend” people and advertise.

    Like I said, I chat with people on FB, Heartbeatworld and here… Oh, also, Twitter is set up for just advertising; I don’t like Twitter as far as chatting with folks…

    The three ladies have my passwords to the advertising accounts and when they have time, they find said people and help with getting the word out about the magazine… I’ve gotten some good writers through this process, too…

    Let me know if you would like to advertise your photography in the magazine, I will set you up a page for free, of course! :)

    At Heartbeatworld, you should set up a page for your photography, too… I’m going to start highlighting people on there, so that could be beneficial for ya!

    God is good, I tell ya!  I enjoy helping others with their businesses and things.. we can all help each other!

    Love you and talk to you soon… email me if you are interested in an AD for the December issue… swetcm12@aol.com

    Your Sister in the Lord,

    Connie

  • As always… praying for you and yours. I will try and write tonight, until then ((((hugs)))) mys sweet sweet friend Deborah!

  • I know I commented once already but decided to visit here this afternoon.  Your devotion just sets my heart to thinking good things and at the end of a busy day it is such a good reminder to just relax in our confidence on who He is and that He totally loves me.

  • Hello Sweet Deborah! Thank you so much for thinking of me!! :heartbeat: Your note made my day. :sunny: Will keep you in my thoughts and prayers for wisdom and clear direction regarding the move. Additionally will remember Ian also. One of these days I’ll post a personal update. I’m sorry I just don’t seem to be able to keep up these days. :(

  • Do you have a facebook?  I’d love to be on your friends if you do.  You can look for Debbie Wolf Kuhn.

  • So good to see your post and your site here is so peaceful I will second Laurie post above and pray too.   Thank you again for your friendship here.

  • I love this Eph. 2:10 — I like to think of us as God’s poems, being written and revised as we surrender to Him.

    I will definitely pray for you and for Ian, trusting with you that God is taking care of him. It’s so difficult to wait with faith, sometimes, when we so long to ‘fix’ our kids’ situations. Take care and blessings to you.

  • Nice to hear an update.  I hope you will be at peace with your decision, whatever that is.  And I do pray that your son will also be ok.  I’m not moving but I have a ton of work to do to clean up the house to get ready for the kids visiting in a few weeks!  The idea of a baby crawling around makes me realize how much there is to do!  Talk to you soon.

    :sunny:

  • So good to see you around hun! {{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}

    Lifting you in prayer; that the Lord will show you whether you are to move or stay just as clear as a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night. When it stays may you remain and if it moves may you follow!

    I have missed you around here. Hope to see more of you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads