July 7, 2011

  • I’m back …… with my family!

    Oh my … it’s time for not only an update, but to also make some major changes over here in Xangatown/ville/land – whichever you prefer!  I do think it’s time for this ‘tea’ theme to be shelved for awhile!  I’ll see what I can come up with … I’ve missed working with the themes over here, and I have to laugh at the calender that is still on here … December of 2010! They quit making those calendars, closed down their site, so I’m going to have to find another source!   Boy, do I ever need to change things … I just hope there are still some of my friends here left to see them! 

    I know it’s been so long since I’ve been anywhere close to being consistent around here!  So much has happened since my son, Ian, came home – married!  New adjustments aren’t always easy, but God knows everything that is going on, and He offers peace in the midst.  I do hope you’re all doing well … I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, I’ve missed it over here … and most of all, missed staying up to date with my ‘old blog’ friends!  It’s been almost five years (come September) since I joined Xanga.  I met so many sweet friends, and if at all possible, I hope I can keep them! :)   I’ve seen so many come and go now … it’s sad to think about, isn’t it.  I often wonder how they are, and how God is working in their lives.  I’m going to go through my sub list, and see who is still here, and if any of you see this, please drop by and let me know!  I’d love to hear how you’re doing!

    We are all growing here … ever since we lost O.P. and Mom Betty, things have been different with the family.  Seems everyone is busy living life and we don’t get together as often as we did back then.  I miss that!  I started a family Facebook page, and still there aren’t many who show up there, either.  Well, I’m so blessed to say, that I do finally have my son home again, and now with his wife, we are working at building our own little corner of the ‘family’.  There have been those adjustments for us all since they came home in February, also getting to know one another, but we have a deep love in our hearts for our new ‘daughter’, and even with the struggles and things she is needing to overcome, we know she is where God wants her … we know they are both where He wants them to be!  Yes, Praise the Lord, they are finally home!

    In my last post, I mentioned that they needed a car … I want to thank you for your prayers!  After many weeks of us driving them where they needed to go, God did finally provide, and it was indeed a miracle!  A friend sold Ian a small car, good on gas mileage, for only $1.00!  He said someone had done that for them when they first got that car, and he wanted to “pay it forward” and bless someone else!  I’m so thankful that it was Ian and Nicole!  It needs a little bit of work, but they couldn’t be happier to be ‘free’ to go when they want to, or need to go!  Unfortunately, right now though, they are fixing a flat tire and my sweet hubby is there helping them.  Along with the other small repairs, they’ll need a spare tire now, but we know that God will provide … He has done so many wonderful things for them since they’ve been home, but now, things are getting more difficult for them. Circumstances are changing for them here so fast!  My heart breaks for them both to see them struggling …… 

    I had mentioned also in my last post about Ian having an editing job with a local Christian production company.  He was just getting ready to edit the movie they are filming over the next couple of months, but now they are unable to pay him because the funds just aren’t there, and Ian was told that his boss is going to be doing the editing … that leaves Ian without a job, but he was working for almost nothing over the past few months there, anyway.  He did a lot of good for their company, and there is still a possibility that he’ll work there again, that is if the sponsored funding comes in, or a different position comes available with less pay.  He has been depressed about it all, but at least he’s not completely jobless.  He’s working with his dad and uncle, putting in hardwood flooring, which he is very thankful for, even though he’d rather be editing.  It’s something he loves, and I have to say, very good at it, too!  And, not only that … the house they are renting from a friend, just went up for sale, and they weren’t even told that this was going to happen!  They have a year’s lease, but if the house sells, our friend told them it would be up to the new owners as to whether or not they would honor the lease agreement, so please be in prayer that God will provide another home for them!  This house was another miracle that God blessed them with when they first moved home … a friend from church told them they could rent his house that he and his wife were going to live in, but she passed away about 2 weeks before Ian and Nicole came home.  He wanted to help them get on their feet here, and the rent would only be $142.00 per month for the first 6 months, then it would go up to $600 per month, which is still very reasonable for what they have, but now, everything has changed for them!  We’re not sure what happened with our friend … he has disappeared from church, and we have heard that he is getting married and moving out of state soon, and apparently wanted to get this house sold quick.  It would have been better if he had told them about this though, or even talked to us, but what can we say?  We just pray for him now, and hoping he will have a change of heart … otherwise, we’re praying the house doesn’t sell too fast … Ian needs to get some money saved before they can even think of moving now … please say a prayer for this need as well. 

    I know I’m sharing a lot here … I guess I needed to let go, and get it off my shoulders … as a mother we an carry all their burdens … you want to give your children the world, and make theirs all right, but we can’t do that, can we?!  We can pray, and that’s the best thing we can do!  We know God is working in their lives right now, and all these things are happening to them for a reason … if we jump in and help with every little thing, how can that give God room to work?!  I must say we’re learning the meaning of ‘hands off’!  I read a devotional yesterday that really spoke about this very thing and it said ………

    Living a life of faith often requires us to leave things alone.  If we have completely entrusted something to God, we must keep our hands off it.  He can guard it better than we can, and He does not need our help.

    “Things in our lives may seem to be going all wrong, but God knows our circumstances better than we do. And He will work at the perfect moment, if we will completely trust Him to work in His own way and in His own time.  Often there is nothing as godly as inactivity on our part, or nothing as harmful as restless working, for God has promised to work His sovereign will.”  – A.B. Simpson

    In times like these, it truly is a comfort to drop the entanglements and perplexities of life into God’s hands and leave them there, isn’t it!! He faithfully gives us that peace that we so long for during the storms of life!

    Thank you for taking the time to come by and read all of this, and again, I do appreciate those prayers for Ian and Nicole!  I hope more of you will drop in to say hi!  Let me know you’re still out there!  I’ve missed you all!  And please, excuse the mess around here … it’s high time that I change some of the old pictures and things I’ve had on since Ian left!  Well, he’s home now – and our family just got a little bigger … we have a daughter!  Yes, it’s a new season here in our lives, and I hope to be sharing more, along with photos and staying up to date with you all as each day rolls on!  I pray you all have a truly blessed weekend!  It’s good to be back home here, too! :)

    Love & Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

    P.S. Thought I would share a picture of our family … my dear husband, Lewis, me, our sweet Nicole, and our precious son, Ian.  This was taken on February 15th at the airport … the day Ian flew home with our ‘daughter’!  You can tell that my hubby is very emotional … he cries so easily, but I love that about him … I have to say, it certainly was an emotional day, and the tears did flow!

     

    IMG_6661 my family

Comments (19)

  • I have been looking for your post, as you told me you would be posting here soon :) I am so happy you are back and able to share from your heart! God will provide and I will be praying. He always knows what’s best even if we think “we” have all the answers. I have struggled so many times accepting his will and stepping out of the way. When I do, HE works it all for his good. Many blessings to you and I look forward to many more posts from you. Wonderful picture of your beautiful family.

  • Oh Deborah, God is so good. You know all to well how good he is. Keep hanging on to the All Mighty I know all your prayers will be answered.

    I am so thankful for Gods unconditional love and His always caring heart. I couldn’t love Him any more than I do right now…But I doooo if that makes since to you?

    Whew, that’s me relaxing lol…ah!

    Hugs sweet friend

  • Just came over to say hello! :)

  • @Mymanyblessings - I’m with you!! Let’s get Xanga up and running again!! I don’t know about you, but I’ve missed it!! So glad you’re back on the ‘premium’ channel again, too! :) Hugs!!!

  • Hello :sunny:,

    Well I upgraded my premium again so guess i’m around for a while. I love this music its so nice. So what you up to, now gal you need to get to blogging lets get Xanga up & running lol…well I hope your all well hugs…Linda :wave:?

  • @Donna7 - It was good to hear your voice too, Donna! And thank you for those prayers!! I’ll be in touch here, and call me anytime! :)

  • @DanishDoll - I have missed you, Mae!! Thank you for coming by and leaving this encouragement! You are in my prayers, dear friend … you are such a blessing to me!!

  • Oops you must have protection on yur pics here, I can’t copy it to print out. That’s okay, I’ll tack your name up instead as a visual reminder instead.

  • Deb it was so nice talking to you on the phone the other night. I look forward to our next chat.

    Thanks for the family pic here, it is nice to finally see what your daughter-in-law looks like. I’ll print off this picture and hang it on my cabinet as a visual reminder to lift you up in my prayers.

    {{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}

  • Hello, dear friend! I am so sorry it has taken me this long to get over here and read your blog! Life is busy, and I could not even begin to describe all that has been happening! You are so right about wanting to give your kids the world, but as you said, prayer is the very best thing we can do for them. Sometimes I feel so frustrated because I am so far away from both my girls, but I know God is with them and their dear families every minute of every day. We have to trust them to His hand. I do hope that doors are opening for Ian and his bride. Glad they have a car, and hope their housing situation will be resolved. That is a pretty basic need, right? And, God promised to supply our needs, so I KNOW He has a plan. Tager tro på Gud! Have faith in God! He has done some amazing things for us, and He just loves doing that for those who put their trust in Him! Blessings and hugs from Denmark.

  • Hello my dear friend it so good to have you back on here it been a while since i even got on but hope to do better at keeping thigs updated on xanga, i am so glad that your son and new Daughter in law is home and that things are working out with him and his new wife it such a blessing to see God work in there lives. love the family pictures you and your hubby never change you always look so happy and you can see the love on your face’s for each other and your family.

    It been so busy at our home don’t have time right now to tell you all thats been going on but will message you soon either here are on Facebook

    Thank you for sharing a part of what been going on in your lives I will be holding you and your family up in prayer and for things to work out for Ian and his wife

    Blessing to you,
    Sandy

  • Oh Deborah…what a sweet pic…they are a cute couple and so are you and and Lewis :yes:

    Lots of new stuff here too….we moved to a small tiny apt but all in all it was a good move for us. now to find one a little bigger and upstairs….I hate to have people above me….a townhouse would be awesome…but all in God’s timing and provision. Paul still works for AT& T and I am still homeschooling Amy who will start the 9th grade….where did the time go?? I certainly didn’t get any older :lol:
    I am mostly on Facebook….really no time and desire to blog anymore. Every few months I might but not very often and now I am on blogger.
    See you on Facebook or here….blessings on your new family….. :sunny:

  • :sunny: Helloooo Deborah,

    Finally ….lol, so good to see you have updated here, hey I am sorry I haven’t seen the family sight on FB I will def look that up. I certainly will keep all prayer requests in my prayers. Praise God for the car huh? & who ever heard of $1.00 deals wow that is surely a Godsend! Your dil is so pretty & looks great next to cuddley Ian lol, what a handsome family portriat I love it!

    Deb, keep us in your prayers too, we always stand in need of prayers, financially we need coverage, don’t get me wrong God always manages to provide every month all gets paid but so far not with much left over, and I had a stomach thing I was battling for almost 2 weeks now praying God would help it to pass as we just don’t need anymore doctor bills, so today I feel so much better thank you Lord.

    I will be checking in on you now you hear lol?

    We are going to dd today to help install some light fixtures & she promises to feed us lol…take care my sweet friend…{V}Linda.

  • Hi Deborah, Yes, nice to read your update and glad your family is together also!  With our children no matter what age they are, there is always a test of faith Huh? They keep us praying always! Then there will be the Grandchildren  to keep us on our knees. But God loves to answer the prayers of his children when we trust him and he is full of  blessed surprizes too!

     A wonderful new little devotional is call “Jesus Calling” by Sara Young. Have you read it? A must read.supper encouraging! 

    We are doing real well. Our son will be here on Sun for a day. We  have not seen him in a yr. so we are so excited. We will all get together and have dinner at our daughters house Sunday night.

    The Lord has helped me to loose 35 LBs since Jan so I am at my goal weight! Yea!!   Very Happy about that! 

    Our two 8 yr old grans will be going to a wonderful christian school together this fall.  Our little Jake is almost 2 and such a Joy!!!!! We get to watch him a few times a week. The young keep us young and also tired but we sleep well on those days.

    Glad to hear your men are working in these times. All our kids are  working too. We are so thankful for all his blessings!

    Hugs and God bless!!

    Sharon 

  • I love the picture :)

  • @BluebirdChris - On the way over, my friend!!

  • Nice to hear an update Deborah!  I do understand about how it is, learning to let go and trust God with situations with our sons.  You can come over to my page for my latest!

  • @Shepherdsfold -  Thank you, Christie! It was such a blessing to have you drop by! Now if only my comments would show up better on here! It’s a little hard to read, and I’m sorry about that … if anyone knows how to put a plain background under those, please let me know!

  • SO happy your family is together again, praying for Ian and Nicole it must be difficult to come home while starting over with a new someone to share. Praying for wisdom and Patience in Love for everyone.
    Christie

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads