January 29, 2014

  • Does Yours Work?? Help with Links to Site Names….

    16678_10151396405586085_1547379250_n

    I don’t know about you all, but we’re having a lot of winter around here this year!  I love winter, and the snow, but the cold is just too cold!  Frankly, I’m looking forward to the arrival of spring, but from the way things are going, it may be awhile!
    Anyway, during these long winter day, I find myself still working my way around here and getting familiar with this format, but sadly, my Premium subscription will expire this Friday.  After that, all I’ll be able to do is sign in, read, and comment on your posts here, which I will be doing to stay in touch with those who are still active here … after Friday, I will no longer be able to post, so right now I want to share a tip on how to add a link to your site name where it shows up in the comments that you leave for others. I had noticed that my site name was NOT being linked like other names I’d seen in the comment sections, so after some searching around on here, I stumbled upon this:

    http://donkey-guy-10.xanga.com/2013/09/07/useful-xanga-tip-from-adamswomanback/#comments

    Passing on some important information: Name Link not Working?

    If you notice that names in comments are no longer click-able, and the avatars lead to a ‘not found’ page, do this:

    Top right, of your screen where your cute lil’ avatar is, click it and chose Edit Profile.  Scroll through and look for the space next to Website. Add in your xanga address (eg. http://myname.xanga.com) and this will make it so that your name becomes a clickable link.  It still does not work with your avatar image however.

    Now, I followed these instructions, and this did not work for me because I have underscores in my user name.
    When I changed the underscores to dashes, it started working!

    Try this! It worked for me!
    HUGS!!! :-)

    Well, I hope this helps anyone who doesn’t have a ‘click-able’ link attached to your site name!!
    I’ll be sharing here again, very soon, in order to let you all know where to find me posting after Friday,
    and I do hope you’ll join me!  I find it’s pretty quiet over here, with just a few of you showing up in my ‘reader’,
    and I so hope to hear from some of you before I move! :)

    coffcup

    Blessings,
    - Deborah <><

Comments (8)

  • Thank you for this hint! So sorry to see you leaving, but I’m not sure what will happen to this Xanga in the coming months!

    • I wanted to thank you for coming by, Janet, and yes, it’s sad to be leaving here, at least the posting part of it. I just wish there were more of my friends on here, but I do hope you’ll come follow me in my new home! I’ve also been wondering what will happen to this Xanga in the coming months, as well. As a matter of fact, I was searching over on WordPress for others who might have moved there, and came across someone I had never met, who wrote that Xanga was no longer honoring the Lifetime memberships! I am not a Lifetime member, but if this is true, I wonder if they know about it. The comments also have some added information in them. Here’s the link if you’re interested in reading it, and, again, I’ll still be following you here, but I do hope to see you over on WordPress, too.

      http://zenzen6.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/xangas-failure/

  • sorry about your leaving.

  • It seems a crime to me all that money the Xanga owners raked in and they are doing nothing, and the site is nothing like it was… in fact it is simply another ‘WordPress’ and it looks like we may all end up over there anyway since it is free and this Xanga doesn’t offer any of the good features it once had. I think everyone should get a refund.

    • I agree about a refund! So many had Lifetime subscriptions here, too, and just tonight over on WordPress when I was searching for ‘Xanga’ topics, looking for others who had moved there, I stumbled onto a site that said they were no longer honoring those!! The link is below if you’re interested in reading it. And, if you do move to WP, please let me know where I can find you there!

      http://zenzen6.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/xangas-failure/

  • Will be sorry to see you go, there are so few of us now as it is, but I do understand. My subscription was a blessed gift from a blessed Xanga friend. The linking of the names definitely helps to improve communications.
    Our ground is a frozen white cover of sleet now… :-( It’s pretty but dangerous. Snow would have been so much nicer. I think we are meant to still get a couple of inches of snow through the morning hours… trouble is it will be on top of all that ice.

    • Thank you, and yes it’s sad to have to go, although I’ll still be dropping in to read and comment…thankful they will still let me do that! I’m still sorry to see the ‘old’ Xanga go, too! WordPress will never be like our ‘old’ friend we once had, but I think I’ll like it over there. I always had the Premium subscription, renewing each year since 2006. Such a nice gift for you to receive, too … are you a Lifetime member? I always thought about that, but now, I’m glad I didn’t!

      You be safe there … the sleet is much worse than snow, but sleet under snow, that is even more dangerous! My husband fell on the ice that was under snow a few years back and broke his foot! Our roads are clear here now, but we just got a notice over Facebook from our local ‘winter chasers’ that we may be getting 30″ of snow by the 5th of February!! We live in Indiana, and that would be incredible, but we’ll wait and see if their weather models are correct! You have a good night, and thanks for coming by!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads