November 18, 2009



  • Autumn Forever-Autumn-Posters

     

    Autumn Greetings … I trust you’re all doing well, and, enjoying the most beautiful time of year … well, at least in my opinion, it is, anyway!  It’s okay, if you beg to differ, though!  That’s why we have four seasons … we can choose! =)  Yes, it has been awhile … *sigh* … again!  Hope you all haven’t forgotten about me … I haven’t forgotten about you, that’s why I’m here! =)  We’ve had our craft shows that have been keeping us busy, friends getting married, family in from out of town, work, a few other family matters we’re dealing with, and now, getting ready for Thanksgiving.  I trust your preparations are going well … I hope so, you only have 9 days, depending on when you read this, that is!!  Can you believe how fast the time is going?!  We will be spending Thanksgiving at my sister, and brother-in-law’s again … it’s our yearly tradition.  They have a large home, and a nice, long, Amish dinette table to seat the family at.  We feel like the Waltons sometimes! =)  Although, the past couple of years, it seems to be shrinking, with members of family leaving home, moving away.  It’s sad sometimes to think about.  We doubt that Ian will be here for the holidays … I’m not quite sure I want him to fly back anyway, with this flu going around … I’ve heard it’s not a good time to fly!  All that re-circulated air in the plane … oh, dear! =  I know if things change for him, and, he does come home, we’ll pray, and trust, that the Lord will keep him from those nasty germs … and, if I do start to get nervous about it, as we/us moms can so easily do, well, I’ll just read Psalm 91!  That always brings me peace!  God is ultimately in control anyway!  Do you have any particular scripture you read that calms your fears?  I know there are many, but maybe just one that stands out more than another, for you?

    Mom Betty is doing well … we all took her out for her birthday this past weekend, to Texas Road House … it was her choice, and she picked a good one!  My sister-in-law made the best cake, that I believe, I’ve ever tasted!  She brought it to the restaurant, and the waitress even joined us for a piece!  She deserved it!  She was a great waitress!  I’m going to try to see if she’ll share her recipe .. she wants to start a small cake business, for weddings, and such, this coming spring.  Her hubby decorates them beautifully, too!  We had a very nice time, although O.P. wasn’t feeling too well after his meal.  We are all concerned for him, as he is battling dementia, so, we just continue to pray, and encourage him.  We’re hoping more of their children will come see them for the holidays … everyone is so spread out over the country, in 3 states. =( 

    So, what plans do y’all have for Thanksgiving?  Let’s see … turkey, ham, or both … mashed potatoes, with gravy, sweet potato casserole with marshmallows melted on top, or both … dressing (or stuffing, if you prefer), green bean casserole, hot buttery rolls?!  What special dish do you like?!  Me … ha, I like it all!  I do remember someone even making homemade chicken and noodles to go along with our Thanksgiving meal … and they were the best ever!  Okay, now that I’ve made myself hungry … and probably you, too, I’ll move on to another subject!

    I’ve been working on my photography, over the past few months, and I’ve posted some of the images on my photoblog … it’s over on Blogspot, if any of you have ever been there.  The more recent ones I have on there, are from a photo session I did with a very special, young couple … Christina and Trent.  We are close friends with Christina’s family, and have been for quite a few years.  We’ve literally watched her grow up, and she’s one of those people who is a lot older than she looks!  They were both very fun to work with!  We are planning to do more, soon!  They’re letting me use them for practice! =)  I had also entered some of the other photos in the Capture Indy photo contest a few months ago, and, I was very blessed to get an email just the other day, saying that one of them had been chosen to go in the ‘coffee table’ book they are publishing for our city!  I must say, I was surprised, and very excited!  There were so many fantastic entries!  I believe that each state is doing a photo journal, capturing different aspects of the cities, and it’s been fun, over the past few months looking through, and voting on all the photos for the one that was done for Indiana.  The picture they chose was the up-close portrait of my niece, Cassandra, which is a little farther down on my Blogspot page.  I really love photography, but I need more confidence to get out there, and just ‘do it’.  I don’t like using the word ‘self’ confidence … I’d like to think of it as having a God-given confidence!  Faith in what He can do through us, not what we can do in our own strength!  Does anyone else battle with that … feeling unsure about your ability to do something you really enjoy, and then feeling like what you do just isn’t good enough for anyone to really take an interest in?  Well, I struggle with it … have for years. and I know I’ve missed out on many blessings in my life, because I’ve held back!  =(  I just need to realize that the Lord accepts me, and, in the end, that’s all that really matters … whatever anyone ‘thinks’!

    I’ll finish up here, so you can get back to your day!  It’s cold, gray, and rainy here.  A nice day to stay in near a fire, if your blessed to have a fireplace.  Ours is unusable right now … we need a chimney sweep! =  I pray you’re all staying well!  So much of this flu is going around, and we are blessed to say that we haven’t been affected, as some of our friends have.  We are taking preventative measures, and trusting that we stay well!  We have another antique/craft show on the weekend after Thanksgiving, and we can’t afford to be sick!  Okay, that’s about it for now … I’ll try to get back sooner, than later, to update, and I’ll also be making some rounds here this week, visiting and catching up with you all!  I want to thank you for coming by, and taking the time to read here, again!  Hope you all have a wonderfully blessed Wednesday, abiding in Him!

    coffee cup Hugs,
               ~ Deborah <><

     

Comments (5)

  • I agree with the fall being the prettiest time of year … it’s one of my favorites as well.    :)

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  • Oh my soul!! That pic of Cassandra is adorable!! No wonder it was chosen for the book!! Congratulations- can’t wait to see it!

  • Thanks for the link to your photos – I loved seeing them. I love photography too, but don’t have much time for it at the moment. I will be dropping by now and then to see what you have been doing. ~Colleen~

  • We’re having thanksgiving at home this year. Looking like the weather will be nice and crisp!! Blessings

  • Good to hear from you again. Yep, time sure is going fast! I’m not ready for anything yet! ha! We’re going to my parents’ for Thanksgiving. Son and his girlfriend are coming home from college. Really looking forward to that! Blessings!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads