May 24, 2007

  • Trust Me With Your Isaac

     

    growin in grace

       
    Wow, it’s been a week since my guys “headed west”!!  So much to tell!  First, I want to thank you all for your thoughts and prayers for their safe journey!  God blessed their trip far beyond what I could ever ask or think!  Our God is truly an Awesome God!  My husband made it home safe and sound Tuesday afternoon, and it was so good to see him!  Ian said he had 3 DVD’s with pictures but, something must have happened in the process of downloading them onto the disks, and they were blank … a bit disappointing, since I have a lot of friends and family that are very anxious to see them, including Lewis and myself!  But, bless their hearts, they are working hard at getting them ready to mail back to us, and as soon a I get them, I’ll share them with you, along with the highlights of their trip, which Lewis has been busy journaling!  So stay tuned!  In the meantime … the pictures below are ones they took along the way which he had uploaded to his Xanga, and I can’t seem to get them larger so you can see them better…I’ll work on that!! I believe it’s because I copied them from his site that they came through this size.  My son has them on his photoblog and they are much larger, and you can see more detail. He also has some video of some of the projects they are working on while there.

    Colorado or Utah 5    Colorado or Utah

    Bar Blog Mini Black Scroll

    Colorado or Utah 8    Colorado or Utah 3

    Bar Blog Mini Black Scroll

    Colorado or Utah 4    Colorado or Utah 7

    I must say, from a mom’s heart, that this separation from my son has not been an easy one,
    but God has given me abundant grace, and great peace through it all!  

    I wanted to share a devotion that I read today 
    which really spoke to my heart regarding my son. 
    I wanted to share it in hopes that it might bring those of you, 
    who may be struggling with this very same thing,
    His great peace as it has done for me! 

     

    First, how would you answer this question …
    Can you trust God enough with your Isaac,
    whomever or, whatever that might be?

    ~ Hugs, 
    Tiny Tag White RoseDeborah <>< 

    Bar Curly dividerBar Curly dividerBar Curly divider
     

    Trust Me with Your Isaac

    Scripture Reading: Genesis 22:1-19

    Today’s Treasure: “Then God said, ‘Take your son, your only son, Isaac, whom you love, and go to the region of Moriah. Sacrifice him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains I will tell you about’” (Gen. 22:2).

    Isn’t today’s Scripture disturbing? We know that “from everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded” (Luke 12:48), but we’ll gladly step aside and allow another to be called faithful if this is the kind of sacrifice it takes. However, we can’t step aside as far as we’d like. We have more in common with Abram, “the father of a multitude of nations” (Gen. 17:5, NASB), than we might think. Consider a few comparisons.

    First of all, our most profound tests involve those dearest to us. You know it’s true; you’ve been there. Each of us can vividly remember a time when God called upon us to surrender our hold and our ownership over someone we love—perhaps even someone we nearly worship.

    Second, we also experience times when we believe we’ve received two seemingly diametrically opposite messages from God. Abram understood God to say he would have more offspring than the number of stars in the sky. Then he received the command to sacrifice his only legitimate heir on the altar. As we continually trust the One who called us, we will eventually recognize that God truly is Reconciler of the utterly irreconcilable.

    You see, God didn’t mislead Abram. He told him to sacrifice his son on the altar and, most assuredly, Abram did. He did not slay his son. Instead, he was able to offer God a living sacrifice. Mind you, living sacrifices are not always easy to offer either. Sometimes releasing our grip on the person who remains with us can be a more painful test than releasing our grip on the person taken from our reach. We’re presented with an ongoing test during which we must continually offer our precious ones to the One who loves them most.

    I see a final comparison. God used Abraham and Isaac to teach others about Himself. The substitutionary offering of the ram caught by its horns in the thicket became one of the Bible’s key images to convey the gospel message. The shadow of the cross fell on Mount Moriah that day. We all have been tied to the altar of death and then presented a chance to be loosed for eternal life by the perfect Lamb, One whose head was torn by thorns and was willing to take our place.

    Our present challenges may not be as dramatic as Abram’s, but we, too, can allow our lives to become visual aids through which God teaches others about Himself—and His faithful ways. I ask you now to read the words God gave me during a time when He led me to my own Mount Moriah. Only you know how this message applies to you. Please allow God to speak to your heart …..

    Tiny Tag White RoseFor every Abraham who dares
    to kiss a foreign field
    where glory for a moment grasped
    Is for a lifetime tilled…

    The voice of God
    speaks not but once
    but ‘til traveler hears
    “Abraham! Abraham! Bring your Isaac here!”

    “Bring not the blemished sacrifice.
    What lovest thou the most?
    Look not into the distance,
    you’ll find your Isaac close.”

    “I hear the tearing of your heart
    torn between two loves,
    the one your vision can behold
    the Other hid above.”

    “Do you trust me, Abraham
    with your gravest fear?
    Will you pry your fingers loose
    and bring your Isaac here?”

    “Have I not made you promises?
    Hold them tight instead!
    I am the Lover of your soul—
    the Lifter of your head.”

    “Believe me, O my Abraham
    when blinded by the cost.
    Arrange the wooded altar
    and count your gains but loss.”

    “Let tears wash clean your blinded eyes until unveiled you see—
    the ram caught in the thicket there
    to set your Isaac free.”

    “Perhaps I’ll send him down the mount
    to walk right by your side.
    No longer in your iron grasp
    but safer still in mine.”

    “Or I may wrap him in the wind
    and sweep him from your sight
    to better things beyond your reach—
    believe with all your might!”

    “Look up, beloved Abraham.
    Can you count the stars?
    Multitudes will stand to reap
    from one dear friend of God.”

    “Pass the test, my faithful one;
    bow to me as Lord.
    Trust me with your Isaac—
    see,
    I am your great Reward.”

    Tiny Tag White RoseMy great and awesome God,
    I want more than anything to hold onto You tightly and to hold onto everything else loosely.
    I want to be willing to lay down my most treasured relationships and possessions at Your request.
    Give me a willing heart to offer those unblemished sacrifices to You.
    Help me to trust You fully when I seem to be getting two opposite messages from You.
    Thank You for providing Jesus, the spotless Lamb, to take my place on the altar.
    I offer myself to You today as a living sacrifice.
    It’s in the name of Jesus that I pray,
    Amen.

    Bar Curly dividerBar Curly dividerBar Curly dividerBar Curly divider

Comments (20)

  • How incredible–what you wrote. I need to process it before I can really comment. All I know is it makes me uncomfortable. Especially as it pertains to my children. Oh, when will I learn to trust Him? Blessings to you as you experience a new “normal.”

    Suz

  • Wonderful pictures…  I also wanted to let you know that I’m home from Israel and posted many pictures myself…   Love in Christ  ~ Melissa ~

  • Great pictures Deborah!! God bless you and have a great weekend.

    Cynthia :heartbeat::sunny:

  • Hi! Boy, your guys are sure busy! We’re doing well. Enjoying some time off with Aaron, spending lots of time outside! So glad it’s warm now!

     I don’t have IM but that sounds nice being able to share pictures like that.

    Do you do shows all year round? They seem to keep you pretty busy! Pet Moosh for me :)

  • Wow!!  Thanks for the long email.I HAVE a chiropractor he has even worked on my hips to no avail.  So, do tell about the shoe implant things.  Is this something that you buy at wal-mart or the really expensive things you order…which I recall i have had years ago and hated them add to the fact that they did not fit in any of my shoes.

    Thanks for your encouragement on the ticket…i’m at peace with it now.  My first court date is june 20, 7 pm.  that is going to be such a busy week for me.  Wed is court, Thurs is the last session of our griefshare ~ IF i make it that far and then friday morning I have to be at the christian radio station 30 miles from here, at FIVE AM!!  I’m going to be beat!!

    Have a great weekend!

    jamie

  • hay deb i hope you and your family you have around you i hope you will have a wonderful holiday love you lotts girl love shelly.

  • Trust, what an incredibly hard thing to do for such a small word, only five letters. Sometimes I think the small words are the toughest. I do trust God far more than ever before, it is coming easier now that I realize that He has my best interests in mind when He says, “Trust me.” But trust does not always come easy for me, He is teaching me that He is trustworthy.

    Heather

  • Hi Deborah,

    I am also married to a Deborah so there are two Debbie and Mike’s around.  My Debbie doesn’t do xanga, she prefers e-mail

    Thanks for visiting my site and for your comments….I know of one husband-wife site http://www.xanga.com/Ajoyfulplace/ Les and Sweetie.  Tell your husband I will look forward to “meeting” him here in xanga.

    Have a great weekend,

    Mike:sunny:

  • I love that story about Abraham and Isaac!  I can’t count the number of times God has called me to give up an “Isaac” in my life…many, I know.

    Love the pics from your husband and son’s trip west! Absolutely awesome!  I certainly know what you are feeling about your son being gone.  My mother’s heart hurts for you.  =o<

    My music is…..theme for Star Trek Voyager!!!  You were right about it being Star Trek!  I LOVE that show…my son owns all 7 seasons on DVD.

    I’m working myself to the bone on my home makeover project!  I really get in the zone…almost bulldog it, getting it completed.  Since it’s such an extensive project, it’s going to take a while!  =o>

    YOU have a great holiday weekend!!!

  • My mom is also missing her son right now…my brother is visiting his girlfriend and her family in NC, to be there for two extra weeks…but God is strengthing her too.

    Thank you so much for these words.  They really spoke to my heart, especially about the “getting mixed messages” part.  What you wrote really encouraged me!  May God continue to encourage you and may you continue to encourage others as a result!!!  Oh and beautiful pics by the way!

    ~Sarah

  • How wonderful it will be to share in all his memories when he gets home!  Thank yo so much for your sweet comment ~

  • awsome awsome pictures i remember when my mom and i moved me from michigan to arizona she took it hard but we had a great time traveling down here 12 yrs ago i love yo girl love shelly.:lol:

  • Seaside is I believe considered to be central California, I’m sure it must be pretty there!  Thanks for your comments.  Oh and hubby’s dad was actually an orthopedic surgeon – very handy lol.

  • Awesome post! 

    Hey, did you get in on the raffle?  I know you’re getting some orders from others, but this might be something you want to enter for a chance to up your free stuff!  :sunny:  Check it out!  I only have 15 tickets left!!!!!!!!!!  They’re going 5 at a time! :fun:

  • Thanks for sharing.  I live in California (southern) but it does not look nearly as beautiful as this where I live!

  • That is so convicting.  I am so glad you shared it.

  • Blessings to you! Wonderful message you posted! Yes, to know we are a gift to each other from the Lord, our  children, spouses, friends, parents. HE is our everything! I love the pictures also that you’ve posted-thanks for sharing those with us!

    Have a great week!:sunny:

  • :sunny:Still praying for all to continue to go well for all of you!………….Beautiful Pics, can’t wait to see the rest!………………..In Christ’s Love……….Monic:heartbeat:

  • your page is so pretty! the pics are awesome!

    separate from our children is the hardest thing cause my mom feel the same thing with me being away from her and I’m the baby of 8kids.

  • I love your posts! When my husband and I were engaged, the Lord took us through an Isaac experience. He asked each of us to give the other up. It was really hard for me because up until that point, I had felt so sure that God was in our relationship. At the time, I didn’t know that God was taking my fiance through the same thing. I fought! I cried! But when I agreed to give him up, the wonderful peace of God flooded my soul! Then I was made to understand that God only required that I put Him first in all things, and that He would now bless my relationship with my honey! WOW! I wrote a song about it which is on my CD “Do You Know Him?”  ** Having children showed the sacrifice of Abraham to me in a whole new light! It has been hard to live an ocean apart from my kids, but when you know you are in the Father’s will, His grace is always there for you. It’s all about trust. ** Thanks for sharing yourself with us! Blessings! :sunny:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads