April 23, 2008

  •  
    godsway

    A STRAYING LAMB

    The Shepherd loved His little lamb,
    And gave it His tender care…
    And followed it with His loving eyes
    As it wandered here and there.

    And as He sat by His grazing flock
    Who so meekly His voice obeyed,
    He pondered sadly His little lamb
    As again and again it strayed.

    The little lamb had a loving heart,
    And adored His Shepherd, true,
    But would turn aside and seek his own way
    As lambs will so often do.

    With His gentle voice the Shepherd called,
    To His loved and straying lamb,
    “Come back, little one, for you are not safe
    Unless you are where I am.”

    But still the lamb would soon forget
    And unthinkingly wander away,
    And not really noticing what he did,
    From the Shepherd’s side would stray.

    Until one day, the Shepherd kind
    Took His rod in His gentle hand,
    And what He then did seemed so cruel
    That the lamb could not understand.

    For with one sharp and well-aimed blow
    Down the rod so swiftly came
    That it broke the leg of the little lamb
    And left it crippled, and lame.

    Then the little lamb, with a cry of pain,
    Fell down upon his knees…
    And looked up at his Shepherd, as though to say,
    “Won’t you explain this, please?”

    Then he saw the love in the Shepherd’s eyes
    As the tears ran down His face,
    As He tenderly set the broken bone,
    And bound it back in it’s place.

    Now he was utterly helpless,
    He could not even stand!
    He must trust himself completely
    To his Shepherd’s loving hand.

    Then day by day, ’till the lamb was healed
    From the flock he was kept apart…
    And carried about in the Shepherd’s arms,
    And cradled near to His heart.

    And the Shepherd would whisper gentle words
    Into his now listening ear…
    Thus he heard sweet words of love
    That the other sheep could not hear.

    He felt the warmth of the Shepherd’s arms
    And the beat of His faithful heart…
    Until it came a blessing to seem,
    By his weakness to be set apart.

    Every need of the little lamb
    By his Shepherd so fully was met
    That through his brokenness he learned
    What he never again would forget.

    And as the broken bone was healed,
    And once more became whole and strong…
    Wherever the Shepherd’s path would lead,
    The lamb would follow along.

    Thus at the Shepherd’s side he walked
    So closely, day by day,
    For once a lamb has a broken leg
    It will never again go astray.

    For the cords of love had bound it so
    In its hour of weakness and need…
    That it had no desire to wander away,
    When once again it was freed.

    Could it be you are broken today,
    And you cannot understand
    The painful blow of the Shepherd’s rod
    Nor believe it came from His hand?

    He only seeks, by this painful thing,
    For a time to call you apart…
    To cradle you close in His loving arms,
    And draw you near to His heart.

    So look up into your Shepherd’s eyes,
    And earnestly seek His face…
    And prove in the hour of your weakness and need
    The sufficiency of His grace.

    For as you are borne in His loving arms,
    And carried there, day by day…
    He will bind you so close with the cords of His love
    That never again will you stray!

    ~ author unknown ~

    jesus_shepherd



    THE LORD, MY SHEPHERD
    ~ Gail Rodgers

    “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want. 
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
    He leads me beside quiet waters. 
    He restores my soul.”
    {Psalm 23: 1 – 3a}

    This disappointment was a hard one to bear.  Her hopes had been high.  She had always believed that God took an interest in the details of her life.  She even thought that He had orchestrated these particular details … yet today she felt her faith falter.  In this disappointment she wondered where God was.

    I was disappointed too.  “Father, how should I pray?  
    Give me Your perspective” … I prayed as my heart hurt for her.

    That still, small voice of His Spirit impressed my mind with the thought that I should pray these words of Scripture over her circumstances and expect God to work.  The familiar words of Psalm 23: 1 took on fresh meaning …

    “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.”
    Father, Thank you that You are the Good Shepherd and You see every tear. Carry my friend now, as a tender shepherd carries a wounded lamb. Comfort her in this time of questioning.  Draw her to come and find her needs met in You.

    “He makes me lie down in green pastures,”
    Father, provide restful places where her soul will be fed. Help her to sleep well at night. Nudge her to reach for Your word and speak to her heart by the power of Your Holy Spirit.

    “He leads me beside quiet waters”
    Calm and quiet her spirit, Lord. Bring her to a fresh belief that You do have her best interest at heart. Free her from any confusing thoughts of self – condemnation. Let her spirit drink deeply from Your living water.

    “He restores my soul.”
    Father God, Thank You that You alone are the One who can restore the broken and hurting places within a wounded soul. Help her run to You in her pain and not from You. Restore hope and peace within her. Pour out Your refreshing on her soul so that she may catch her breath and be strengthened to carry on.

    Thank you that You are called My Shepherd, the Shepherd of my soul, fully trustworthy, fully able to restore.  
    We praise the name of the Lord our God!


    Bar Purple cream rose divider

    Please cast your vote over at
    iliveinmycamera on the ‘Game Boards’!
    Also … for you birdlovers, stop over at 
    BetsaflyGallery!

Comments (17)

  • I loved the straying lamb.  Your site is absolutely beautiful.

  • Hey!
    I wish it was cold again.. lol. i’m up in Ma and Ct- (doing a convention in Ma. staying at someones house in Ct) and it was like 85 when we got here- ugh! way to hot for me.. lol!- Yeah- i haven’t gotten to talk to Ian in awhile :( actually we txted for awhile sunday- then he txted me- the other night!!- anyhoo. hopefully i’ll talk to you soon!!
    :hugs:

  • :heartbeat: I love both of your postings today…very meaningful! Thank you for coming by, Deborah. I just came in after being out in the garage for most of the day. Needless to say….I am tired! I haven’t been around to visit my Xanga friends….so, my site is suffering. I was so happy to see your name…..otherwise, it’s only Mike that stops by. I have 3 black trash bags of stuffed animals to give to the Salvation Army on Monday…plus other things. What a job, but I do enjoy doing it. Yesterday I found a perfectly good Winnie the Pooh watch still in its leather case in with a bunch of other empty boxes! I was so surprised. It must be my daughter’s.  Now….if I would only find $$$$ …now, that would be Finder’s Keeper’s….. (Your music is so soothing it’s putting me to sleep.)  Well….I’m off to take a shower. G’nite. :heartbeat: :heartbeat: ~Carolyn :heartbeat:  :sleepy:

  • :) This is really good! I pray that My son can see Jesus in my eyes and soon he will se the truth of God. Hey can I have that picture of that sign….Its awesome and I would like to use it for the contest one day.  if so just email it to me…LOL

    godsrockinme@hotmail.com

  • How touching!  I loved the first story and your thoughts and breakdown of scripture! Thank you so much for sharing! God is so awesome to love us despite our iniquities!

  • Goodness, Deborah! Are you STILL up? :rolleyes: The sun is shining brightly here and it is 7:40 AM. :sunny:  You need to get to bed or you will never have the energy to mow your yard today!  :sleepy:

  • I just wanted to stop in and say.. HELLO!!!
    I MISS YOU!!!
    :hugs:

    :heartbeat: Mandy!

  • Deborah,

    That was very touching. Thank you!

  • My sheep hear my voice…. John 10

    Have a good day!

  • Beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  • I love starting my morning reading your blog….it always refreshes me.  Thanks so much for your kind words and I pray you have a blessed day in Christ.  Jill

  • I love that “Straying Lamb” story. So touching! Thank you.

    I am doing better. Thank you for asking :) and yes, I have heard of Jason Upton. Arielle listens to him sometimes too :)

    Be blessed today!!!!

  • I love that the “Lord is My Shepherd.”  It’s beautiful.  Those of us who have grown up memorizing and studying the Bible might think those are “simple” verses, but God brought those verses to my mind during some of the most difficult parts of my life, and they certainly aren’t “simple.”  There are some very deep Biblical truths in there. 

  • Aww, that Straying Lamb poem is so poignant ~ it really touched me.

  • (Sigh)I must admit that I too have had to have my leg broken too many times. I guess that I tended to be more hard headed then most. Still in the end, I would always end up going to Him and I too am very thankful to Him for it all. :heartbeat:

    I hope that you a “GREAT” Wednesday! Take care and may the Son shine on you today! :sunny:

    ((hugs)) Tonya

  • The Lord has needed to “break my leg” more often than I like to admit. It is a painful lesson, but sometimes a necessary one. Now, looking back, I can say thank you to Him. I guess some of us are just more willful or slower to learn. :rolleyes:   Hope you are having a blessed day, my friend. I am happy with more sunshine!  :sunny: Tonight is Bible School and prayer, and I love that about Wednesdays! Blessings to you and your hubby!

  • :sunny:Good Morning! Hope you have a Wonderful Wednesday!………….In Christ’s Love………Monic:heartbeat::love::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads