August 8, 2007

  •   
    state fair movie 3state fair movie 4State fair movie 2


    state fair logo 2007

    Well, can anyone guess what time of year it is?  That’s right, it’s STATE FAIR TIME here in Indiana.  It starts this morning, with a balloon race, and runs for 12 days!  We do have a grand State Fair!  Yep, there’s more than corn in Indiana … although this year they are calling the fair, the ‘Year of Corn’ … and so, in honor of the ‘Year of Corn’, here is one of my favorite ‘corn’ recipes … the guys love it when I make it, and I take it to most of our pitch-ins because it’s always requested!
     

    First Harvest Corn 2   6-22-07 resized



    JIFFY CORN CASSEROLE

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 package Jiffy corn bread mix
  • 1 can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 can creamed corn
  • 1 cup sour cream

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and lightly grease a 9×9 inch baking dish.

    In a medium bowl, blend together melted butter, eggs,
    corn bread mix, whole and creamed corn and sour cream.
    Spoon mixture into prepared dish.

    Bake for 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the top is golden brown. 

    This really is delicious!  I ran across this recipe a few years back. 
    A bit like a cross between corn souffle and a slightly sweet corn pudding! 
    It will fluff up as it bakes!  I know you’ll love it!  Everyone always wants the recipe!  
    Hey, I ought to enter it into the Heart Beat cookbook! 
    I usually double the ingredients and and bake it in a 9×13 inch baking dish
    in almost the same amount of cooking time. 
    If you give it a try, let me know how you like it!

               hen[1] farm pony[1] farm sheep[1] farm pig[1] farm calf[1] farm bunny[1]

    The fair has changed quite a bit since I was younger, but we still go to see the farm animals, horses, and they also have a really fun Pioneer Village where you’ll find hard at work, quilt makers, basket weavers, wood whittlers, broom makers, and other demonstrations with old farm equipment.  This year we have a new special event…the fiddle contest!  It’s on Saturday, and open to all fiddle styles!  Too fun!  

    They have the Hammered Dulcimer Society that plays every year, and a great group of guys called the ‘Delta Mountain Boys’….yee-haw!!  I have to admit, I do like to watch the square dancers!  Last year they had ‘wall dancers’ … they are suspended from the top of the building and they do all of these ‘dances’ on the walls while attached to these wires…that was different! 

    Also new is Homeschool Day!  Boy, I sure wish they’d had that when we were homeschooling Ian!  We still took him every year and he learned a lot at the fair … we went with other homeschool families, as well … State Fair Field trip day!  We really enjoyed the 4-H exhibits … I still do!  I have a friend who always entered her decorated cakes, and won quite often!  There are antiques, art and photo entries in the Home and Family Arts Building … my absolute favorite, and where I spend the most time is looking at the hundreds of photo entries … I’m going to try entering next year.  By then I should really know how to use this camera! 

                                             FAIR pic[1]           FAIR quilt[1]           food[1]

     
    This year they’re having what is know as “Marriage on the Midway”.  You were to go and vote on-line for the couple that you’d like to see get married there once you’ve read their ‘story’.  Deadline was last night … I didn’t vote … figured they’d get married anyway!  We also have clown and tractor parades, and then midway with all the rides!  Lew went on a ride a couple of years ago and got sick … hasn’t gone on one since!  Ian isn’t here to go on them with me, so I’ll probably pass this year … I’m going to be taking pictures to share with you all anyway! 

    state fair cookbook

    We do enjoy walking, but when we get plum tuckered out, we hop on one of the ’tractor trams’ that travel the whole way around the fair.  Then last but certainly not least, we have the ‘fair’ food!  I love the Milk Barn, where I’ll get a grilled swiss cheese on rye, and a tall, cool, bubbly, glass of milk!  Can’t turn down that juicy, sweet, buttery corn on the cob either, and of course, my hubby’s all time favorite … the infamous ‘Elephant Ear’!  The sites, the sounds, the smells … it’s State Fair time in Indiana!  

    pepto[1]
    …ya think this’ll come in handy after all that ‘fair’ food?!!


    So, do you have a ‘State Fair memory’ … or what special things do you like to do when you go!  I know it’s going to be hot this year, and my DH is working hard this week, so I’m praying he’ll be up to it sometime before it ends!  He’d be disappointed if he missed it … especially that ‘Elephant Ear’!!  Have a wonderful Wednesday, share a memory, and stay cool!

    Tiny Tag Sunflower Button 2  Blessings and hugs!
    ~ Deborah <><

                                  

    state fair movie

    state fair logo IN_2007_fair_logo

     

Comments (14)

  • Hi there, I found your blog and think it is just lovely! I especially like your laundry room banner at the top. My favorite colors!

    The state fair is a great memory of my childhood. I was involved in 4-H and we went every year for “judging contests”. It was fun. Then of course the all day pass to ride the rides and then the horse exhibits! What fun!

  • Oh, I want to come to the fair.  It sounds wonderful.  I love the Jiffy corn casserole recipe. :yes:  I used to make it a lot but now that we all eat at different times (oh the joys of working kids) it doesn’t get made often.  I used to make it with chicken bake, mashed potaotes, and the corn casserole.  Mmmmm, might just have to make it soon.  BTW, love your background.  Wish I had time to play around with mine. :sunny:

    Debbie  :wave:

  • :sunny:  Ahhh state fairs…actually we go to our county fair….we love to share a funnel cake….yummy….

    I also love looking at all the animals….I am a city girl now but would love to live in a vast forest…..

    Amy loves to ride the rides…..I go on a few…..wow….when I was younger I used to ride them allll…..the faster the better…my old brain cannot handle them anymore….LOL

    I copied your recipe….gotta try it…sounds yummy….thanks for sharing

    Have a blessed day….:wave:

  • He was a big bird. And he was friendly. Thank you for your sweet comments.

  • Oh, forgot to tell you….that is my son and daughter-in-law, Brandon and Rachael, in the picture. They got married November 18 last year. She is the vet tech that has been taking care of Tigger while he is sick. We have A LOT of animals, and she spends a lot of time caring for them.

  • Hi, Deborah….thank you for the comment, and the prayers! I really appreciate it. :yes:

    I will come back and read your entry after I get home tonight. I am headed out in a little while, to our business meeting. I’ve been working on Treasurer’s reports all afternoon.

    Sounds like our husbands are a lot alike, with the exception that Steve doesn’t like doing all this stuff. We do it ourselves because it is so much cheaper.

  • :wave:Hello!!

    I don’t really have memories of the fair. I know I’ve been but must not have been often enough to have a memory LOL!!!  I do love elephant ears though!  MMMmmmmm we had one of those went we went to the amusement park last month.  :heartbeat:  The graphics in this post are adorable. :love:  Thanks for posting that recipe.  I think I’ve had that before and it was yummy but I’ve never gotten the recipe.  Now I have it =]  I am going to make it to take to my mom’s later this month when my aunt is up visiting from GA.  I bet everyone loves it!  :yes:  ryc:  I just upgrade to the premium online and pay with paypal.   

    Blessings,

    Theresa

    btw I like the last couple posts too!  the ones I missed =]  Now I’m all caught up!  lol

  • I sat on a dunking booth once at the White County Fair in Arkansas. That was a soaking experience.

  • John & I have been talking about going ALONE this year, for the first time ever!  The kids always want to ride & obviously, w/ 7 of them & prices the way they are…. well, 2 admission tickets are a WHOLE lot cheaper.  He got to see the hot air balloons on his way into work this morning.  Said it was really cool!  Have a great day!  ~Lori

  • :wave:Hi Deborah:wave:

    That State Fair sounds like A LOT of fun!  I love State Fairs!!:yes: My favorite part is the ANIMALS!!!  i’m an animal lover:love: heehee BIGTIME!

    :lol: LOL about the pepto bismol:lol: i would say :yes: it will for sure come in handy!!

    i love your site & all the cute icons & stuff!! that pepto bismal icon is cool:coolman: i have never seen one of those

    i posted a few pics of my kids Puerto Rica trip…yea i finally took time to do it:giggle:

    Have a Great Wednesday

    {{{BIG HUGS TO YA}}}

    Jeanette:wink:

  • Our county fair is coming in September. My husband loves to go and visit all the exhibits, etc.  To me, they’re the same year after year, so I haven’t been for quite some time. Our daughter, Anju, goes with her dad and they have a grand ole time. They always bring home the delicious cinnamon rolls. Your post is so beautiful with the pictures. I hope you have a fun time when you go.  :heartbeat: ~Carolyn

  • yes, state fair is interesting place! Its been a long time since we’ve been there. We eat  that corn reciepe too, and it is really good, nice change too!

    Have a great day!

  • When we were kids we always used to go to the Chemung County Fair. It was great! So much to see and do! My uncle used to get us in free to some of the grandstand shows because he was a big wig for the county. I saw Frankie Vale and the Four Seasons at the fair! WOW! Am I old! I remember eating fried dough, cotton candy and all that other great stuff. I don’t know what an elephant ear is, though. I know what it is literally, but I am assuming Lew does not enjoy chomping an actually elephant’s ear! LOL! We always like to go see the animals. My Dad used to have show rabbits. It was always a week we kids looked forward to.

  • :sunny:Never been! But I always love the classic movie!………….Hope you have a Wonderful day!…..In Christ’s love…..Monic

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads