January 30, 2009

  •  

    Snow_Route RT

    Smilie Snowman SmallYes!!  We have snow!  Lots of snow!  12 inches of snow, in fact!  And, I’m lovin’ every single inch of it!  I know some of you will think I’ve gone off my rocker, but I really do enjoy the cold crisp winters, the way the sky looks when the sun sets at night, and the way it sounds after the snow has fallen … quiet and still!  We’ve been virtually snowed in the past couple of days … our driveway, which is somewhat long, was totally covered until yesterday, when a friend showed up with his plow, and snowblower!  This man’s name is John Freeze … seriously!!  And, Mr. Freeze did a wonderful job!  After that, my hubby went out for a little bit to do some errands, which have had to be put off because of the snow, but the roads were fine then … icing up last night was a concern, as it’s going to get back down into the teens!  We may try to get down to restock the antique mall today, but we’ll wait and see. They’re talking more snow, not sure when!  If we do go, I’ll try to get some photos of what we have now. This is the most snow we’ve had here in about 10 years!  We do want to build a snowman, too!  I know there are huge numbers of power outages!  We have friends, with family in Kentucky, who are staying in a shelter right now.  Another man from church is taking a generator down to some of his family members in Kentucky!  Many people may be without power until next week!  I pray you’re all doing well … if you are on the ‘snow route’, what are your snow totals, and temperatures where you are?!  We were prepared with enough food for the week … some people didn’t believe it would happen … but, like I said, I was hopeful!  
     
    Not much going on here, other than sleeping in late, doing a bit of ‘winter cleaning’, cooking together, and just keeping each other company.  We are working on purging books, and organizing.  It’ll feel good to get that accomplished!  I spoke to Ian … he has been sick, but is starting to feel better, so, if you could remember to pray for him, I know he would appreciate it!  I don’t like being so far from him when things like this are happening … you know a mother’s heart when it comes to our children being sick … no matter how old they are!  I am thankful that this is only the second time he’s been sick since he’s been in California!  He told me that two of his friends from here are wanting to go out to visit him soon.  I’m glad … we have to be deciding on when we’ll be going ourselves!  He really wants us to come out!  He also mentioned more earthquakes in the area … not large ones, but still, a prayer concern!  Has anyone heard about the volcano in Alaska?!  Things are becoming very active out west!   
     
    And my computer is acting strange, again … so I may be taking it in for more repairs.  Say a prayer that nothing happens before I get a chance to do that!  We have had some great entertainment over the past few days … our ‘kitties’ are getting along … well, sort of!  They do wrestle alot, but yesterday, they pretty much ignored one other!  I think Mr. Mooshie has an attitude toward Miss Pookie! (…don’t ya just love those names … lol!)  Anyway, she is a ‘lap’ cat … and he is not!  Well, not on my lap anyway!!  He never has been one to sit in our laps, but recently, he’s been changing it up a bit, and sitting in my husband’s lap during his morning devotions.  That’s okay … my feelings aren’t too hurt, now that I have Pookie, who always wants to sit in mine!  They both sat in the window, if only for a few minutes together, watching the birds, and squirrels at the feeder.  Pookie stayed longer … like I said, I think he has an attitude!  They both love my rag rugs … constantly messing them up and trying to get under them!  They are such a joy to watch, but they really are total opposites … she is so tiny, petite, and dainty, with a coat of ‘freckled’ fur, I like to call it … and he’s big, thick, and muscular, all one color, with a coat that shines in just the right light … she has bright golden eyes … his are almost lime green … she eats her food leisurely … he gobbles his down!  They’ll be fine together … they have to be … I love them both!  We’ve had Moosh for about 6 years now … and I’m so thankful that she came to live on our porch, at the end of September.  She doesn’t seem to have grown a bit, either!  I can’t wait to see them curl up together in a chair, or on the bed!  I’ll get that on film when it happens!  Speaking of which … I caught them looking somewhat civil … and, they had some thoughts of their own!  She doesn’t look too small here, but in person you really can tell the difference … and, definitely when you pick them up … she’s as light as a feather, he weighs a ton … I really think I need to fatten her up!  Well, what are your plans for the weekend?  The annual home show is open, and we may go to that.  We always enjoy going to look around, and get some new, and fresh ideas.  Well, whatever you may do, have a blessed weekend, and stay warm, everyone!  

    Smilie Cat Hugs …
                 ~ Deborah <><
     

    IMG_3625 Talk bubbles rs

    The End Cat
    …. or is it just the beginning!!

Comments (14)

  • That is what I need to do… purge books!

    Say, that is the first time I think I have seen “pookie”… those sure are pretty cats!
    Love, Bee

  • Evening blessings to you dear, as I write. Hope this note finds you well…and warm!   It’s a few minutes before ten and I am already exhausted.  Just wanted to say a quick hello and how glad I am for you that you got some of that precious snow you’ve been hoping for.  Yay!  Praise the Lord!  We got about four inches but it wasn’t a pretty snow, unfortunately, because it sleeted heavily on top and turned all yucky and hard.  Very icy and quite dangerous.  But that’s okay.  I am glad to be inside, warm, and with plenty to keep busy and plenty to eat too!  :yes: Tonight was fish again, with sweet peas cooked in creamy garlic sauce and a rice pilaf.  Love rice, and grains.  Tomorrow looks like a busy day but it will be fun all the same.  Big breakfast with some friends (I am cooking) and then several batches of cookies, more zucchini breads, and a kettle of soup.  There may be a slight chance of some babysitting in there too, but I am not sure of that yet.  Will just have to wait and see tomorrow.  I am flexible though…whatever works for them, works for me.  If I’m needed, I will make myself available. 

    Well, you folks take care and have a good weekend yourselves!  Will keep Ian in prayer – hopefully he fully recovers soon and can get back to the work he is called to out there.  I know how much you miss him – my folks are only several states away, but nonetheless, they’re “away” and boy do the miles hurt at times!  But God is with each of us.  He is not only our Saviour, but also our Friend.  Our Comforter.  And strength…oh my and so much more!  May His goodness envelope you this weekend and hold you close ~ may you feel His divine love and presence.  There’s truly nothing like the feeling of God being with us.  What’s not to like about being a child of God?:yes:

    Hugs and prayers coming your way, Deborah.  From my computer to yours (oh and I hope you get all fixed up there…will be praying for your cyberspace to also make a complete recovery!)  God be with you and yours…Cookie   

  • :wave: We still have some of the white stuff out there. I don’t mind it. Glad that your kitties decided to get along! I usually have a tiny chihuahua on my lap while I am trying to balance Bible and coffee!

  • Your kitties made me smile! :)

    It snowed here as well but only a few inches. It certainly is cold though!

    and

    You are cordially invited to participate in the February Country Giveaway and Kitchen Magnet Friendship Exchange.

    Love,
    Gina

  • I love the snow to as I’m an Indiana girl. My heart will always be in Indiana no matter where I go to live. We do get moved around to different churches from time to time.
    I do love the church we are at right now. Hopefully we will be able to stay here for a long while. We are building a new church building as the old one burnt and this new one is going to be beautiful when it is done, so I am hopeing we get to stay and enjoy it some after we get it done. I hope there is not a serious problem with your computer. We get so use to them that we really miss them if something goes wrong with them. I am glad you are all feeling better. Your kitties are cute. Have a great day.
    Blessings,  Charlene

  • Ian’s name got seperated! Xanga is being weird!

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweet Friend! I slept in this morning myself! Pray for me, I have a sinus cold and I am suppose to sing Sunday!:eek:…….Love the pics of the Kitties! I am trying to talk Hubby in letting me get a puppy for my B-Day/Valentines gift. One of the guys I work with has Min-Pin pups forsale!….I told Hubby that I always wanted a small dog. We will see. He just doesn’t like the responsibility of an animal and he feels the cat is all he wants. But I think Sher Khan and I both could use the extra company, right?lol…..And not to mention they are really Cute dogs, too. ……….Pray I an gets better and that you and Lew will be able to go out to visit him!……..((((Hugs)))) Have a Fantastic Day! ………In Christ’s Love……Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat:

  • Love the kitties.  They are so adorable.  My mom used to have her antiques and antique jewelry in an Antique Mall for years.  She really enjoyed it and I used to go with her when we did shows too.  We had a ball together..boy, I do miss her alot today.  I just love reading your posts and can’t wait for the next one.  I pray you have a blessed weekend and stay warm :sunny: 

  • Oh I see why, The letters are all in yellow. Sorry. I hope you can read it.

  • I have try to comment twice now and it won’t let me. I sorry.

    Kelly

  • Hey there, just stopped by to see how you have been. I see that you got hit with the same storm we did. But we got 4 inches of snow and then 4 inches of ice and another 6 inches of snow on top of that. The police had the roads closed, and if you got would catch you on the roads you would be fined $200. I’m glad that you got all that snow, because I remember when you were begging for snow last year and hardly even got any. God bless

    Kelly

  • Hey there, just stoping by to see how you have been. I see that you got hit hard by that snow storm, we got hit to. But we got about 4 inches and then it turned in to freezing rain, then the next morning we got about 5 more inches on top of that. They had all are roads closed, and if they caught you on the roads they fined you $200. I’m so glad you got all that snow because I can remember when you were begging for snow last year, and hardly even got any. God bless

    Kelly

  • :wave:Blessings Deborah! Glad your enjoying the snow, its always so pretty when it snow. But I’m glad we don’t get it. Nice to have it once or twice but that would be enough for me. It does sound like the cats are making improvement with each other. Have a great weekend!

  • Hello, Friend! Are you up late again? :) I am a tiny bit jealous of your snow as we haven’t had any to speak of this Winter. I never thought I would say I miss it, but I do. 12 inches! WOW! What a blessing to have a friend like Mr. Freeze! :lol: Things are well here. I have my kids coming tonight for Bible study. My group is growing to the point where I don’t have enough chairs. I am thinking I am going to have to borrow some folding chairs from the church. I love it! I have to bake something yummy for coffee time.

    I made lots and lots of lasagna this week and took a big pan over to our neighbors who just had a new baby. She is so sweet and tiny. I got to hold her for a while. I am always amazed by their itty bitty fingernails! :wink:

    Our poor car is not doing well at all. We have a friend seeing if he can find what is leaking and fix it. If he can’t take care of its woes, it will not pass inspection. Not good as we have just bought our airplane tickets to travel to the States in March. $$$! We do need a car, and God has promised to supply our needs, so I have to trust Him on this. He must have a plan. For now, hubby is riding his bike, and we are bumming rides. The bus is also an option, but even the hike to the bus stop is quite a walk for me. But, God knows.

    We have been doing a lot of counseling lately, and it is very time consuming. I love to see people growing and coming into the light of God’s truth and love, though. It is well worth the time invested when people GET IT! :yes:

    I think I should have written you in message form! We do tend to be wordy, don’t we, dear friend? :laugh:

    Loved the pictures of your kitties.

    Blessings on your weekend. Stay safe and warm.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads