September 25, 2007

  •    
    dsphoto downtown canal rs

    ~ Hidden Treasures ~
    By Lucy A. Cain

    I will give you the treasures of darkness, riches stored in secret places,
    so that you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel,
    who summons you by name
    .” {Isaiah 45:3 NIV}

    “Let’s go!”  The captain of the small boat grinned ear to ear as he stood with one foot in the boat, and one foot on the dock.  My stomach was churning with both uncertainty and excitement as our mission team headed out to a tiny island several miles away.

    I don’t swim.  I am afraid of water over my head!  I thought about staying behind and faking a stomach ache or something, which wouldn’t have been a lie, but I gathered my courage and went with everyone else on that boat.  The team leader hired a local Belizean to take us to the island for a day excursion as our “reward” for a hard week of work in the heat.  The sun was shining brightly and no threat of a storm was visible.  I checked….

    The wind blew in our faces as we headed out to sea.  We stopped at a little tiny island where a coast guard station was positioned and got off to explore the pretty shoreline and visit the little museum.

    On to our destination!  The captain of the boat had his son with him that day.  He was about 10, and a complete joy to be with!  You could tell he thoroughly enjoyed being with his dad on the boat.  Once to the island, we all set up in different little sections of shade under gently swaying palm trees.  It was a perfect day, and a perfect place!  I remember standing in the center of the island, doing some exploring, and thinking how remarkable it was to stand there and see shoreline in all directions!  

    That’s how small the island was.  There might have been two other couples on the island besides our mission team.  The captain of the boat fished with his son, hoping to take some home for their supper.  It was cute to watch from my little “lookout” in the middle of the island.  He came back to get us and took us out to the reefs to snorkel.  Since I don’t swim, snorkeling was not high on my list of to do’s!  The water was choppy over the reefs.  I tried it one time, but my life jacket kept making me feel like I was choking!

    But, it was enough for me to understand why people love to snorkel the reefs of Belize.  The colorful fish under the water’s surface were breathtaking!  Sun-bright yellow, brilliant blue, shocking orange…you never knew what you would see when you dipped your eyes beneath the surface!  Those hidden treasures, only for “under water” eyes to behold. Only for eyes who dared to jump into the depths.

    I thought about God’s treasures that day.  If I had chosen to stay behind because I was out of my comfort zone, I never would have been blessed by what I experienced!

    Oh, don’t you see we’re the same?  God wants us to jump into the unknown with Him.  He wants to surprise us with so many hidden treasures that our minds can’t comprehend them.  He desires to bless us with a journey like none we’ve encountered!  He wants to bestow on us the gift of hidden treasures, experiences to be encountered only when we leap out of our comfort zones and into the depth of His love.

    When you follow Christ, you will behold more wonders than you ever expect to!  You will stand back in awe of your God.  You will wonder what else there is out there for you … from Him.   You will shake your head in amazement, and lift your hands in praise!  You will be so glad you didn’t “stay behind”.  

    Like the captain that held out his hand for me to get in the boat with him, God holds out His mighty hand.  He’s waiting on you to take it.  He’s waiting for you to make a commitment to following Him, and allowing Him to take you to a whole new place.  It’s a life full of adventure!  A life full of blessing!  And a life full of hidden treasures … treasures intended only for those who take the dive into the springs of Living Water.  What a perfect place to be!

    So what are we waiting for!
    Dive in!  
    Diving Girl
    He’s waiting!
    Have a beautiful day, y’all!
    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

    Check out some really cute pets over at
    http://www.xanga.com/BetsaflyGallery

    flowerbar beautiful

Comments (12)

  • :sunny:  Hey girl…this is so very good.  It reminds me of our dogs under the table while we eat…..they are just happy with the crumbs…………we should never be happy with the crumbs…….you are so right……dive right in……:love:

  • I always enjoy your post, God has always been there for me and i am so glad that we have him to go to  and can ask him what he would want us to do  that we can be a better witness for him have a great day and GOD BLESS ,

                                                                           SANDY

  • Buster goes back to the Vet tomorrow. We will see then. I think he seems better.

  • Lovely story. God has so much in store for us… more than we realize with our finite minds.

  • :wave:Hey Deborah:)

    i have yet to upload an email to send that pet pic in…just haven’t taken the time to do it…maybe i will now…

    Have a WONDERFUL Tuesday:sunny:

    {{{HUGS TO YOU}}}

    :love:Jeanette:love:

  • :heartbeat:O btw here is a link for the triples to do it yourself…http://dreamworkdesigns.com/tutorial.php

    Enjoy…….:love:

  • :sunny:Hi Deb,

    You know so many are afraid to take that leap of faith, this sometimes includes me, I have never been adventurous the unknown is a bit scary. I am sure that I would be ok, but what if? I am pretty much grounded. Once Bob and I planned a cruise I paid the deposit and after a few days I begged for it back, I couldn’t do it…on the ocean out in the middle of nowhere. All I could think about was the Titanic…lols..us going down and me not that great of a swimmer. And the thought of drowning has always been a fear of mine. Oh ye of little faith. But I also think of “wrong place at the wrong time!” I know that the best thing is to be prayed up I guess and my fears are still there not because I don’t believe but the human side is very tricky isn’t it?

    I know your excited about your festival, I love festivals we have several fall festivals around here. I need to look them up. I plan on doing the yard sale so I will be searching through a lot of stuff and hopefully mom will come by tomorrow and go through her stuff. I want to be one to go to every body elses and let someone else be in charge of ours…lols..as if I need more things, Bod says when you bring something new in then take something out, it does make since but I love all of the stuff…but that’s just it isn’t it its just stuff. I need to learn to let go.

    I understand emotional days, where all I want to do is cry. Sometimes when i’m by myself I want to watch sad movies so I can have a really good cry. I believe its just the perimenapausal with me but still I do enjoy a good cry. Yes, that was Allison Krause I love her voice and when I saw this video I had never heard this song before and the video was so touching to me as well. I am glad you enjoyed it.

    I know your missing Ian it’s hard when you only have one child, I know. I am so glad that Vanessa lives so close. I don’t get to see her everyday but if I want to hear her voice I just call her at work, or at home, or on her cell which I often cannot get her on…ugh! I get Alyssa usually on the weekends as Chips mom sees her everyday. Becuase they live so close and she gets off the school bus there and Vanessa picks her up. That is one of the things we gave up when we moved to another county…. But thats ok, I will get her when I can. These days will end when she becomes a teenager and decides she doesn’t want to come to NaNa’s & Papaw’s anymore, until then I will lavish her!

    I hope you have a good Tuesday as I am she babbling on here…sorry…I was just in a talkative mood…lols.:heartbeat:

    HuGs…:love:

    Linda:):wave:

  •                                          

    As My sister always says…”Thats good stuff baby!!” I Love your pet picture….how cute.:love:   

                   S*Q*U*E*E*Z*E              

  • Good stuff here!

    I use to have a solid grey kitty named I Don’t Know. My neice called her Don’t know and that is what she was stuck with. Don’t Know had 5 grey kittens in my spare closet. Imagine that!

  • I feel like I had to jump “into the deep” when we moved here! I loved my job, my church, my home, my life, and the idea of giving it all up to go ????? WOW! It was hard. But, now I am so glad I did! God knew it would be perfect and that I would be able to grow and use the gifts He gave me in exciting new places.  I have seen God’s provision for us in ways I never could have when I was safe and comfortable. :yes:  He is amazing!

  • :yes:AMEN!! to that post~God has things in store for us but many times we take :spinning:the other path. We need to do things when we know what it is HE wants us to do; even if we are afraid and trust him:wink:

  • :sunny:Amen! I love the Adventures of Christ! And you never know what the surprise is going to be!…………..(((((Hugs))))))……………Have an Awesome day!………In Christ’s Love…..Monic:heartbeat::wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads