March 31, 2008


  • Design-Elements- linda thompson art com

     
    Finding Power in Weakness
    ~Lysa TerKeurst~

    “My grace is sufficient for you,
    for my power is made perfect in weakness.”
    II Corinthians 12:9 {NIV}

     br_line1  www kgc nu

    Jesus is the author of compassion and kindness. When facing the pain, agony, shame, and horror of the cross he couldn’t walk away – because He saw YOU.  As Max Lucado says in his book The Final Week of Jesus, He saw us “right there in a middle of a world which isn’t fair … He saw you betrayed by those you love. He saw you with a body which gets sick and a heart that grows weak. He saw you in your own Garden of Gethsemane – and he didn’t want you to be alone … He would rather go to hell for you than to heaven without you.”

    What an amazing act of kindness, and what an incredible example to follow of what we should do when we feel vulnerable and weak.  Many of us say we have nothing to give when dark and lonely times come our way, but Jesus taught us to look past loneliness into the richness of helping others.

    We say we having nothing to give, and God says, “You’re right, but I have something to give through you.”  Remember the encouragement given to us in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

    Maybe that is why the world hates weakness so much.  If it is in our weakness that the power of God can flow most freely, then it’s no wonder the world would want to cork up this power’s flow.  Everything about our society screams out against being weak, yet weakness resides in us all.  No matter how beautiful, rich, powerful, and significant someone may seem, weakness is still there.

    Behind the thin bodies and glamorous clothing of the rich and famous, weakness is there.  Weakness knows no bounds.  At every level of society, in every race, men and women alike have weaknesses.  And be assured that along with weakness, loneliness calls their names.  Sorrows and insecurities still haunt them.  All the while God gently calls them to let Him make their weaknesses and loneliness count for something good.  Many choose not to listen.

    To walk the path that the Lord delights in, we must be willing to let God use the circumstances of our lives to reach out to others.  Let’s compare our hurts to stones littering our paths.  We have a choice to do one of three things with these stones.  We can use them to beat ourselves up, making our scars run deeper than they should.  We can throw our stones at others, wounding them and making them also feel our pain.  Or, we can use these stones to build bridges for others to walk across from their own darkness and pain into His healing light.  This third option is seldom chosen, yet it’s exactly what God delights in.

    Dear Lord, help me take an honest assessment of my weaknesses and places where I feel vulnerable right now.  Show me Lord, who I could touch today so Your power could flow through my weakness.  Help me to not be so self-consumed with my troubles but rather be a bridge to help another person find Your power. 
    In Jesus Name, Amen.

    Something to think about …
     
    Who is in your sphere of influence today that might need a touch of some sort from you? 
    Ask Jesus to give you the wisdom and words to know how to reach this person.

    Reflections …
    Have I been paralyzed by some type of weakness in my life? 
    Is it possible for Jesus to use this for good?

    br_line1  www kgc nu

    I wanted to share the devotional above with you as you start out in this new week.  It really spoke to my heart … we all deal with weaknesses to some extent, and I hope this will help you, as it did me.  I trust you all had a blessed weekend.  Ours started out sunny on Saturday, and ended up gray and cloudy, so hubby and I just had a lazy day.  Well, we worked on a few things around here, but for the most part, it was a day of rest.  Sunday we woke to cloudy skies, and headed for church … we also had a pitch-in, and then our Dave Ramsey course, so we stayed at the church most of the day.  It rained pretty hard while we were in church, so, any day now, we’ll see those spring flowers blooming, and we could sure use some color around here … speaking of which, this week over at iliveinmycamera, there is a new photo contest that just started today, and the theme … FLOWERS!  There are some very beautiful entries, and so many that they just may have to do this over a two week period …  so, go see all the colors of Spring, and vote for your favorite!  You won’t be sorry … it’s a regular Flower Show over there!  I hope the sun is shining for you today, and that Spring is finally beginning to arrive!  I’m still waiting, but I know it’s on the way … there are robins in my yard! 


    flower cart


    I wanted to share something I found on that trip to the antique mall last weekend  … I may just have to go back and buy it.  It is an old book called ‘Golden Links in the Chain that Connects Mother Home and Heaven’ … I found a reproduction of it, with a few changes to the title, but first a picture of the original copy … has anyone seen this before?  As much as I love books, and always look at them, I’ve never come across this one … well, not until now!


    Golden Links Mother Home and Heaven rs


    The commemorative copy is below … but first the description:

    This thoughtful collection brings the best of timeless prose and poetry into your home.
    This classic volume inspires, instructs, and imparts encouragement to readers of all ages.
    Let these eternal truths and enduring gems of wisdom fill your heart and mind.

    This beautiful reproduction and commemorative volume includes:

    · dozens of 19th century steel engravings.

    · selections from more than 200 of the most enduring Christian writers of the past 400 years.

    · timeless, Christ-centered nuggets of truth, beauty, and faith from the precious annals of great Christian literature.

    · scores of devotional thoughts for daily reading and quiet time.

    · quotable wisdom for speakers, preachers, teachers, fathers and mothers.

    This sounds like a lovely book … it would be a wonderful gift for Mother’s Day, don’t you think!  
    I know I could sure use some quotable wisdom!  Enjoy your Monday!  Be blessed!  ~ Deborah <><

    goldenthoughts200

    br_line1  www kgc nu

Comments (12)

  • Great post!  That looks like a gem of  a book.  I was wondering if it was reprinted Thoughts of Mother, Home and Heaven!  Wow!  I bet it’s worth alot of $$.  Just curious, what are they asking for it???

  • I saw you were on-line- so i wanted to stop by and say hello!! how are you doing? i’ve been thinking about you!!

  • Good devotional!

    I always find something lovely and new when I come to your place… it is like my favorite antique/craft store.
    Love, Bee

  • :sunny:Loved this devotional. That book looks very interesting I love the first one the way it’s decorated looks very antique. So reading some of your comments I see you got to see Ian on Webcam wow what fun and I know you loved that. Hope all is well with you & Lewis.

    HuGs…..:heartbeat:Linda

  • Hope you are having a good day. I am tring to stop by everyone’s place briefly before driving the rest of the way home. I still have at least three hours, but it is a beautiful day in the south. Spring is coming! Hang in there.

  • :love: Very Beautiful Post today!!:love:

    Your right I would like that book for Mothers Day!! all my stuff is packed right now and I only have a couple books out and one book I wish I had kept out was my Stormy Omartin Book abouit Praying Mothers.

    I Love Max Lucado Books, I got one for Christmas and I read it everyday

  • Good afternoon :wave:

    That book looks neat.  Hope you have a blessed day!

    btw you could try selling your hs books on ebay.  I always check there first before I purchase anything. 

    :sunny:

  • Wonderful devo my friend…..I am so glad I am weak…..He shows Himself so much more then to me……

    Enjoy your week….:love:

  • Thanks, that was the site. :sunny:

    I feel like singing rain, rain go away, come agian someother day.

  • :sunny:Good Morning Sweetie! So very happy you got to se Ian on Web cam! That is truly a gift from God! Philip does that, too, when we talk on MSN. And it makes me feel he is in the next room instead of in Germany!……………Looks like a good book! Hope you have a Marvelous Heart Beat Monday!…………….And just know that if you can just save $20.00 a month for Heart Beat you will be surprised how much you will have. Since November I was putting away $40.oo a week from my allowance, when I could and it paid for my Hotel, before I took in a roomie and she paid half back! Than I was Blessed because the extra money my DH gave me, I didn’t even spend $40.oo out of it. It doesn’t cost as much as what people think if it is arranged correctly. You can always fly here to K.C. if it is cheap and we could drive it together!!Just a thought….Ha! Love You and Have a Great Day!……………In Christ’s Love…….Monic:heartbeat::love::heartbeat::wave:

  • I love the thoughts you shared!  My husband and I were just talking about how pumped up we feel on Saturday and Sunday by being around eachother, hearing a message from God, bible studies, being around the body of Christ . . and then we go to work on Monday and sometimes we find it hard to let our light shine.  its like our passion for the lost to be saved fades.  We were just encouraging eachother last night about how to change our attitudes and keep the passion going throughout the work week and allowing God to be shown through us and being made perfect and so able in our weakness . . . thank you for sharing your thoughts!  I hope your week has started out well! Love, Elisha

  • Good morning, Deborah! Well, it is afternoon here. My poor guy is still so sick. He stayed home from church yesterday and from the office today. Currently, he is in bed. I’m holding off on lunch waiting for him to wake up. He has a terrible cough and he says his chest feels “heavy.” I am thinking the doctor’s tomorrow, yeah?   I loved that devotional! How refreshing to see our weaknesses as opportunities to grow and show God’s love and power flowing through us. Hey! I like that! Grow. Show. Flow!   It’s a foggy, quiet day here, but not too cold, so that is nice. Blessings on your week, friend.  :wave:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads