May 29, 2007

  • Animated Good Day Greeting   


    I hope you’ve all had a wonderful blessed weekend!  My husband got home from the show today, and didn’t do as well as he had hoped, but that’s okay, we both have a show coming up this weekend and it should be a more profitable one!  Ian and Tim are both hard at work, but they did have a wonderful Memorial Day there at the “ranch”!  I should be getting all those pictures sometime this week, providing they remember to mail them, so I’ll be posting those soon!  You all have a great day, and be ever so blessed!  I’ll leave you with a little something to ponder …

    Can you truly thank God for the storms that you’ve walked through in your life?   

    Hugs,
    Deborah <>< Tiny Tag Flower 


    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose RESTING ~

    When the circumstances of my life are the way I like them, I can easily rest in God.  But that kind of resting is really resting in circumstances, not resting in God.  The hard thing is to rest when the circumstances are anything but the way I’d like them to be.  It’s like trying to sleep in the middle of a hurricane.  Not that I’ve ever done that before, but that’s what it’s like! 

    Come to think about it … Jesus slept in a boat in the middle of a storm.  It was on the Sea of Galilee.  Matthew says that Jesus “got into the boat and his disciples followed him.  Without warning, a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat.  But Jesus was sleeping”  {Matthew 8:23-24}.  I’ve often wondered, “How could He?”  Yes, I know He was exhausted from speaking to the huge crowds and attending to their needs.  But sleep in a storm?! 

    I think the only reason Jesus could sleep was that He knew without a doubt that they were not going to sink.  The disciples who were with Him were afraid because they didn’t yet understand that the God who created the very water their boat sailed in was in the boat with them.  They were just beginning to understand His full power.

    Peter was one of the disciples in the boat that day.  I think he learned a lesson, for years later, when Peter was arrested by Kin Herod and put in prison, the night before his trial, Peter slept.  No doubt Herod intended to put him to death the next day, because the Bible tells us that he had just had James, the brother of John, killed with a sword, and when he saw that this pleased the people, he arrested Peter.  Here is Peter in a prison cell the night before his trial.  He’s betwen two soldiers, bound with two chains, with sentries standing guard at the entrance … and Peter was sleeping!  {Acts 12:1-6}

    The only way you can sleep in a storm is by realizing that God is “in the midst” of the storm with you! 

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Isaiah said:

    “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast,
    because he trusts in You.”  {Isaiah 26:3}

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose The psalmist wrote:

    “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone,
    O LORD, make me dwell in safety.  {Psalm 4:8}

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Where can we find rest when we don’t like what we see?

    “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
    my hope comes from Him.”  {Psalm 62:5}

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose We can be confident, and find rest in this very thing … 
    That He who sees the end from the beginning knows just exactly what He is doing.

    Dear LORD,
    Can I truly say “thank you” for every storm that I have walked through? … As I look back through the pages of my life, and every storm that blew in, I find that within each one You were always right there with me, “in the midst”, and at total rest … and there in Your rest, I found my peace and strength.  No, I was never promised a life of smooth sailing … no one is, but You did promise me your Presence, and in the midst of your Presence, strength, peace, hope, love, and Your comfort through every trial in my life, as I trust and rest in You … So, can I truly say thank you for every storm that I have walked through in my life?  … I have to say yes!  For every storm I have walked through, I have walked through with You!  Thank you, LORD, for stretching me and growing me up in grace!   In Jesus Name ~ Amen


    Bar Blue Flower Vine

    Calming_the_Storm005

    When God is in the Boat
    Based on the New Testament passage in
    Mark 4: 35 – 41


    Upon a sea called Galilee, a boat was found one night,
    Filled with the twelve disciples and their Savior Jesus Christ.

    This boat had sailed into a storm and waves began to roll,
    Fear struck the men hand-picked by God and terror filled their souls.

    And as the rain and wind grew strong, the Lord was fast asleep,
    For He was in control of what seemed like a mighty need.

    For His disciples only saw the crashing of the waves,
    They only felt the stormy blast, but not one drop of faith.

    Then as the storm sent violent winds, they went to find the Lord,
    For when the storm is at its worst, you need to trust Him more.

    They woke the Lord and then He found disciples gripped in fear,
    Why must they worry, storms don’t last when Jesus Christ is near.

    For near He was, they soon would know that faith in God is real,
    The waves may toss and winds may blow till Christ says “Peace, be still”.

    And “Peace, be still” is all it takes to calm the storms of life,
    To move a cloud that hides the sun and change to day from night.

    The Lord desires to calm your storm when you are at the end,
    Of what seems like a dead-end road; He’ll clear the skies again.

    So when your boat is tossed by waves and rain begins to fall,
    You will not drown if you will pray; the Lord will hear your call.

    For it is in the hard times when we learn to trust in God,
    And understand Psalm 23, that He’s our Staff and Rod.

    And it is in the midst of storms, we see what God can do,
    Our flesh may see a sky of grey, but faith sees skies of blue.

    My friend, it’s on a battered ship when waves are growing rough,
    That we can feel a perfect peace and presence of His love.

    But faith must be our guest on board when all else seems to fail,
    For God won’t navigate off course this ship of life I sail.

    So never let what you may see determine where you’ll go,
    You know your ship will never sink when God is in the boat.

    Poem by:
    Norma W. Beaird

    Bar Blue Flower Vine

Comments (22)

  • :wave:

    Hope you have a GREAT show this weekend!

    :sunny:

  • Hi, Deborah.. I enjoyed this post about resting during the
    storm.
    By the way.. hope you get some time to rest..

    :sunny: Have a great day! :sunny:

    Becca:wave:

  • :sunny:Hello Deborah I hope all goes well with the sell and that
    you all prosper…thanks so much for your recent comment and I
    did update as much as I could remember…so much going on hope
    I didn’t forget anything. Thanks for the continued prayers and now
    I would ask that you pray that God will change Bob’s heart so that
    he would be more concerned for his health…he is sooo stubborn
    and I know that God knows that…please Lord look beyond his
    faults and change his way of thinking…Amen!

    HuGs,

    Linda:heartbeat:

  • Hi my sweet friend Deborah !. Thanks for “ the Resting “ am so touched with these story. May God bless you and family and ministry as well.  Such a long….long…. time that I havenĀ“t get intouch with you and any one else. Thanks be to God , finaly that my PC its working again.  Hope you have a blessing weekend. Love you in Christ,. Tip

  • Hello sweet sweet friend!  I’m so sorry I haven’t been around but thank you so much for your sweet messages, thoughts and prayers.  Life has been a stormy busy sea lately and I so appreciate your post and your music here….and your friendship.  How are you surviving without your guys?  Do you hear from them often?  You have had to let go so many times it seems lately and just trust……you are awesome sister!   Much love to you today…Susan

  • Could you email me MR smiths phone number. My email is douglas22lr@hotmail.com

    Also if you need any help with setting up id be more than glad to help out.

    Semper Vigilans

    C/TSgt Ruark

  • Jesus is my ROCK and my LIGHTHOUSE in the storms of life……..

  • Ill se ya Friday at 2:00 (ill be there as soon as it opens).

  • Good reminder :yes:

    I just saw your May 28th post and love it!

    If the guys are gonna be anywhere close on their way back, we’d love to see them!

  • Thanks for your comments! It is also true that as I look back over my life, the times of greatest growth are when there have been storms in my life!

  • I’m so glad you stopped by. I feel like I’ve met some of the most wonderful people lately, and you are definitely one of the nicest. :o )

    Thanks so much for your encouraging words. I’ve been a writer ever since I can remember, and my photography really took off within the past couple of years. Music is deeply ingrained in my heart as well, which I guess just makes me a hopeless artist. *grin*

    I’m so glad our paths have crossed. Please do feel free to come back to my site to read any time, and if it’s okay with you, I look forward to reading more of yours as well.

    Hugs,
    Blue

  • Great post.  :sunny:  Yes, God does get us through each and every storm that we face and I now know that I will never have to walk alone again, Praise the Lord…  God is good…  I hope you have a blessed week ~ Melissa ~

  • stopping by to say “hi!”  but I’m up way too late, so I’ll try to get around again soon.  Thanks for coming by my site!

    Blessings,

    Renee

  • :wave:ryc: I have a friend who’s hubby is the Sargent Major over the 3rd Division in the U.S. Marines and she is always e-mailing things like this……..So this is one I thought I would share with everyone!……….I don’t know about the artist, though, who did make the statue……Have a Great evening!……….In Christ’s love…….Monic:spinning:

  • Hm.I needed this today. But then I’m guessing God knew that…

    Love,
    Blue

  • Thank you for stopping by and the nice comment you left.  I do try to cherish each moment with my kids because I know I won’t have them with me forever.  Unfortunately I sometimes forget.  Thanks for the reminder.

  • I am sitting at your site listening to the music as I just happened to have the volume on for once, it’s beautiful music!  What do you show?

  • Your post reminded me of this great song! Storms come and go, but we have an anchor that holds us steadfast!
    ******************************
    Praise You in This Storm
    words by Mark Hall/music by Mark Hall and Bernie Herms

    I was sure by now, that You would have reached down
    and wiped our tears away, stepped in and saved the day.
    But once again, I say amen and it’s still raining
    as the thunder rolls
    I barely hear You whisper through the rain, “I’m with you”
    and as Your mercy falls I raise my hands and praise
    the God who gives and takes away.

    Chorus:
    And I’ll praise you in this storm and I will lift my hands
    for You are who You are no matter where I am
    and every tear I’ve cried You hold in your hand
    You never left my side and though my heart is torn
    I will praise You in this storm

    I remember when I stumbled in the wind
    You heard my cry to Youand raised me up again
    my strength is almost gone how can I carry on if I can’t find You
    and as the thunder rolls I barely hear You whisper through the rain
    “I’m with you”and as Your mercy falls
    I raise my hands and praise
    the God who gives and takes away

    Chorus

    I lift my eyes unto the hills where does my help come from?
    My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth
    I lift my eyes unto the hills where does my help come from?
    My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth

  • I’ve heard: “Sometimes He calms the raging storm; sometimes He lets the storm rage and calms His child.”  Thank you for this wonderful post!  (You always have the best posts…)

  • Hello, I am thinking about going to Nashville this weekend~what is the name of and what store are your items sold?

  • :sunny:Good Morning!……….I find that through all circumstances  good and bad , it brings me closer to God than before………Hope you have a Terrific Day!……….In Christ’s love……..Monic:heartbeat::wave:

  • good reminder swtie! :yes:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads