November 2, 2007



  • Havekost porch leaves RS  


    Okay, a quick update of our Eve of All Saint’s gathering Wednesday night … (now honestly,
    do I ever do anything ‘quick’ on here?! Lol!!)  That morning I had baked up 3 loaves of pumpkin bread …
    one plain, another with pecans & raisins, and one with pecans & chocolate chips. 
    I also simmered spiced apple cider to take along as well … that’s always a hit this time of year,
    and we had nothing but the orange slices to bring home!  When we got there around 6:00pm,
    we had a surprise waiting for us … a small anniversary celebration! 
    We had a chocolate cake with raspberry cream icing (yum), beautiful cards,
    a gift card for dinner at Applebees, and they sang to us!  We felt loved, and we were so blessed! 

    After that we got to eat all that wonderful food … the white chili that I’ve never had, was awesome,
    (I’m getting the recipe sent so I can share it with you!), and I have a request … 
    if any of you have a recipe that you use to make it, and wouldn’t mind sharing it,
    could you send it by way of a message?  I know there are different versions of it,
    and I’ve already gotten a recipe from SunnySusan … the ingredients are a bit different from the one
    we had the other night, which my hubby absolutely loved … and not ever having made it before,
    I need all the help I can get!  Besides, it’ll be fun trying the different versions of it! 
    Our dinner also consisted of a regular ’red’ chili with spaghetti, fresh cut vegies and dip,
    a jello salad (Amy is known for the most delicious jello salads), the best homemade cornbread
    I’ve ever had, (also getting that recipe to share, as well), iced brownies,
    Rice Krispies Treats, the pumpkin bread, and the anniversary cake!  We ate until we couldn’t eat another bite! 
    After that, we all gathered to watch the annual movie … this year it was ”The Ultimate Gift”…
    which we enjoyed.  Have any of you ever seen that movie?  Well, we had such a wonderful time …
    it was good to be with all the children again!  I know Ian missed being there as well! 
    And, he was missed!  We ended the evening a bit late, but hey, that’s normal for us! 
    I have a few pictures below … and I wish I had taken more, but there was just so much going on!

     I spent the day getting food prepared, clothes ready, and soap packed for our show starting later today,
    (Friday) and I’m just about ready to call it a night and get a little bit of sleep!  I would have been in bed an hour ago, except I accidentally hit the backspace button on here and everything I had typed disappeared!  I wanted to cry!  But, no, I pressed on!!   Anyway, Lewis has to work a bit later this morning before we can get to the show,
    so we’ll have to work quick to set up before it opens.  I’ll try to check in later tonight …
    that is, if I’m not too tired … it’s a long day (even longer when you haven’t had a lot of sleep) 
    and we won’t be able to leave until 8:00 tonight.  By the time we get home I’m usually ready
    to drop into bed!  Well, I pray that you all have a faith-filled Friday …
    and take a little time to listen
    and to hear what God is speaking to your hearts today … and be blessed in Him!

    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><
      

    There is hardly ever a complete silence in our soul. God is whispering to us well-nigh incessantly.
    Whenever the sounds of the world die out in the soul, or sink low,
    then we hear these whisperings of God.
    He is always whispering to us, only we do not always hear,
    because of the noise, hurry, and distraction which life causes as it rushes on.

    ~ Frederick W. Faber
      

    Fall Leaf Collage II

    Okay … in order as things happened … sorta!


    Havekost Anniversary 2 RS
    Thank you for 25 beautiful years … I love you, Sweetie!


    Havekost Mary Jo & Brittany RS
    Mary Jo & daughter, Britanny …
    Mary Jo made the ‘White Chili’!  Thank you, M J!


    And some were eating RS
    ….and then, of course some ate that white chili, and all the other good food,
    while there were those of us (older folk) who talked … and talked!!


    Havekost chillin out RS
    … after the movie, most left, but, of course, we are always the last to leave! 
    Don’t they looked relaxed?!!  The ‘girls’ kept busy in the kitchen talking!


    Ping Pong RS
    … and some played Ping Pong!  It was raining a for a bit, so no bonfire, but we still had a great time inside! 
    They’ve just added this addition onto their home … it is a room for teens from the church
    to gather to worship and share the Word!  They have such a heart for the youth! 
    They have a very large 2 story farm house they’ve remodeled.  They do this sort of thing for a living …
    buying properties, fixing them up, and renting them!  The whole family is involved …
    my guys have helped on some of their properties as well, along with many of their other friends! 


    Havekost Worship RS 
    ~ Instruments of Worship ~
    “Praise ye the Lord: for it is good to sing praises unto our God;
    for it is pleasant; and praise is comely.” 
    Psalms 147:1
     

    Havekost Worship 2 RS
    … and we had a time of worship … these are Scott & Amy’s children, and it is always wonderful to hear them play! 
    The girl on the bongos is Jesyka, Mary Jo’s other daughter.  See little Mercy ‘Sweet’, third from the left?! 
    She joins right in praising the Lord with the rest of them!  She is the youngest of Scott and Amy’s children. 


    Mercy Sweet RS
    ~ Little Mercy ‘Sweet’ ~ 


    Havekost Gloria & Hope RS
    …and 2 more of Scott & Amy’s children … Gloria & Hope … precious girls!


    Havekost Worship Josiah & Jesyka RS
    This is Josiah, another one of Scott & Amy’s … with Jesyka …
    they were amazing and played so well together!


    Havekost spiced apple cider remains RS
    …okay, silly, I know, but this is all I had left to take home of the spiced apple cider!
    Nice autumn colors, don’t cha’ think?!!


    Havekost Family 10-31-07 RS
    And these are our dear sweet friends, Amy & Scott, along with their precious children, 
    minus one, who is away at college.  He is missed as much as Ian is … they are also good friends!  
    They have a total of 7 children … I was off by one in my last post …
    but after that many you tend to loose count … right Amy?!!  :o )
    This family is a so much fun to be with!


    Havekost 3 cross sunset 2 RS  
    This was a beautiful sunset Wednesday night after the rain …
    and a perfect ending to a most blessed evening with each other and good friends …


    Havekost Anniversary RS
    … right, Honey!! 

      
    Wreath Heart Fall Leaves

Comments (15)

  • looks like you had a really great time!

  • Great Pic’s!!! Wish I was there!

    Love ya! :wink:

    Iano

  • The pics are great- especially the ones of you and your hubby :) Sounds like you guys had a wonderful time. Yes, we watched the Ultimate gift probably a month ago or so. I loved it! Hope you are all well now, I am finally back to normal, thank the Lord! Didn’t you say that you homeschooled Ian? I decided to take CJ, my 6th grader out of middle school to homeschool him. We are using an online christian program. If you have any advice let me know

    Hope you are having a great weekend!

  • WOW!!  GREAT pictures.  I’m thinking some pumpkin/raisin/spice bread sounds GREAT!  And of course your home looks just like your site….beautiful!!  Happy anniversary…you just glow of happiness.  When i grow up I want to be just like YOU!!!  Have a great weekend!  jamie

  • Just a quick note to say i will be thinking about and praying that you have a great weekend selling your soap, we will be leaving at 4:15 am and be gone  a little over a week. i really enjoyed  these picture’s  there is such a great feeling of love in all of them, good friends are a blessing  from god and special to us. The cake look’s yummy and when you get that white chilie recipe would you sent it to me it also sounds good( thanks) will i better try and get some sleep have to get up by 3:00 so i will check in when i get back

                               GOD BLESS,

                                 SANDY

  • I’m glad you had such a fun time with friends, they look great.  So nice of them to give you a cake!  Hope your show goes really well this weekend.  Don’t think I can make it but I’d like to!  Probably going to the game on Sun. too.  Sell lots of soap1

  • This is what it is all about…. Family and friends… worshiping…. celebrating what God gives us! Making memories for the next generation! Good stuff here.

    Have a great weekend.

  • happy 25 th anniversary love shelly.

  • Good afternoon. I’m glad to see you had a good time. Hope your show goes well this weekend. I’m loving my herb candle. Say hey to everyone for me…love ya!

  • It looks like you had a wonderful time.  I’m interested in seeing the white chili recipe.

    Have a great weekend and sell lots of soap.  :)

  • :sunny:Looks like all had a great time….how wonderful to have such friends….have a great weekend and sell lots of soap

  • hahaha you can tell it’s still early…LOL:lol:

    I said have a blessed day Friday  :lol:

    i meant “HAVE A BLESSED FRIDAY”  heehee:wink:

  • Hi Deborah:wave:

    wow what a nice anniversary surprise!!!:love:  i LOVE Applebees!!:yes:

    LOVE the pics & your update…those kids worshipping just warms the heart…just loved seeing that!!!!!!!!

    I told hubby about what you do on eve of all saint’s day and he was like WOW:eek: that is neat!  i told him it’s been your tradition to do that…and he just loved it!

    i hate when that happens when you accidently erase what you wrote!:(  & when you do a whole post and something’s wrong with xanga and you press submit and poof its gone!:whocares: 

    Have a BLESSED Day Friday My Friend!!:wink:

    :love:{{{HUGS}}}:love:

    Jeanette

  • :sunny:Love the Pics! Looks all so inviting!………Glad you had a Wonderful time!Hope you have a Fantastic Friday and have a Wonderful weekend and sell lots of Bubbles!……………….((((((Hugs))))))))………….In Christ’s Love……………Monic:heartbeat:

  • :sunny:  Good stuff! Sell lots of soap! :sunny:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads