Day: August 22, 2008


  • beach Snug-Harbor-Posters


    MORE THAN GRATITUDE
    ~ Gayle Rodgers

    Becky had often heard the little saying, “Have an attitude of gratitude,” and for the most part she did.  She could count her blessings and generally found a thankful spirit.

    Yet she could find no thankfulness in this difficult circumstance!  Her “attitude of gratitude” could find nothing for which to be thankful for.  If she were not careful, her heart could slip into despair and even bitterness.

    She didn’t feel like reading her Bible, but she picked it up and flipped through it. Her eyes fell on a familiar verse she had highlighted with red…

    “…in everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18).

    It seemed to hit her with new clarity. It said, “in everything” not, “for everything.” She pondered the thought.  If she could not be thankful FOR this particular circumstance, what did it mean to be thankful IN it?

    When we ask sincere questions, with hearts hungry to understand God’s ways, the Holy Spirit shows us the answer.

    Thoughts tumbled in her mind.  She could be thankful for God’s faithfulness to her.  As she recalled times past when life seemed out of control, she recalled God’s steadying hand upon her and how His strength had carried her in difficult times (Matthew 11:28).

    She could be thankful that God promised to work things out for good … yes; she had seen His hand bring good out of the most troubling things (Romans 8:28).

    With fresh realization her heart grew a bit lighter as she saw what God meant … be thankful IN her circumstance because she knew God was bigger than any problem and He would be faithful to help her, His child.

    ~ Father God,
    I am truly thankful for my blessings.  Yet it is quite another thing to be thankful in the hard times and with the unanswered questions of life.  Thank You for understanding that it is not easy for me.  Thank You for showing me that when I can’t be thankful for the hard stuff, You remind me just to be thankful IN it.  For it is in that where Your character of faithfulness will be proven over and over to me.  Thank You for the confidence that You will see me through.  Help me to lean hard on Your strength, wisdom and care.  Thank You that You will build a track record in my life through Your faithfulness.  You enable me to be thankful in hard times because You are my God and You can be trusted with my life, even in the hard stuff!  In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.




    CHANGE ME O LORD

    Dear Lord change not Thy will in my life,
    Or trial and sorrows to be;
    Renew my faith and make me strong,
    Change not Thy will, change me.

    Though teardrops fall when trouble comes,
    Like storms on a rolling sea;
    Let Thy beacon guide my ship to port,
    Change not the storm, change me.

    When Thy Holy Word I don’t understand
    And Thy glory I cannot see;
    Teach my eyes, give me sight and wisdom,
    Change not Thy Word, change me.

    If the fruit Thou hast given me to eat,
    Taste bitter and sour, I plea;
    Let not my will but Thine be done,
    Change not the fruit, change me.

    If sometime I murmur and grumble, dear Lord,
    About the cross I carry for Thee;
    Keep it firm on my shoulders, but hold my hand,
    Change not the cross, change me.

    If You change Thy ways to please me, dear Lord,
    I would soon grow cold and turn from Thee;
    That You may hear my prayers, dear Lord,
    Change not Thy ways, change me.

    There’s a valley that I must cross,
    Someday Thy face to see;
    Lest I forget what power is Thine,
    Change not the valley, change me.
    Author Unknown ~

    adirondak chari with water and lemons

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads