Month: October 2008

  • AB40470~Autumn-Road-Panel-Posters

    God Is My Salvation
    ~ Helen Grace Lescheid

    “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid” (Isaiah 12:2).

    Do you ever feel like you can’t face another day of challenges? Perhaps it’s time to take a day off and to spend it in quiet refection walking through nature or reading a good book by the fireplace. But what do you do when none of this helps to lift you out of the doldrums? May I suggest something that has helped me to get out of the fog–literally and emotionally?

    One night as I was coming home along the highway, the fog was as thick as pea soup. I could not see the road in front of me. I could barely glimpse the dim reflectors marking the lanes of the busy highway. How was I going to find my way home? It was by focusing on these “bright spots” in the fog. I inched forward from one reflector to the next. What a relief when, an hour-and-a-half later, I reached the warmth and light of home!

    By using the same mind-focusing principle, I’ve learned to let Scripture guide me instead of my moods. I take a portion of Scripture like Isaiah 12—a favorite – and personalize it. Then I say it out loud.

    Today I will give thanks to you, O LORD!

    When I feel afraid I will remember, Surely God is my salvation. I will trust, and will not be afraid.

    When I am weak, The LORD God is my strength and my might; He has become my salvation.

    When my resources are gone, I will draw water from the wells of salvation.

    I’ve discovered there’s power in speaking the Word of God out loud. As I recite God’s life-giving words throughout the day, my mood lifts and I receive courage to move forward one step at a time.

    ~ Lord Jesus, thank you that I don’t have to navigate this day alone. With Your help I will face every challenge and conquer it. For great is the Holy One of Israel who lives among us.

    * I hope that encouraged you, as it did me … there are just some days we need more encouragement than on others!  I’ve personalized scripture before … this devotional reminded me again, of how vital the Word of God is in, and to, our lives!  How often I let my moods guide me, instead of the Scriptures!  So today, I’m going to do just that … let the Scripture guide my moods! 

     Mom & Dad  

    Blinkie I Love My Hubby Blocks  Today is special for me and my hubby … {That’s us up there about a month before we got married on October 29, 1982 … my, oh my, how we’ve changed!}  It is our 26th Wedding Anniversary! Happy Anniversary, Sweetie .. I love you!  And yes, we’ve had our ups and downs like many couples, but we have that ‘Heavenly Glue’ that holds it all together!  Marriage is a commitment … not a contract.  Contracts are made to be broken … commitment goes so much deeper than that!  With the Lord between us, holding us together, we can make it through anything … and because of Him, we have made it through many bumps on some pretty rough roads!  The journey isn’t over yet, and we’re looking forward to some smooth highways ahead … but when we do come to those bumps, we’ll lean on the One, who we know will get us over them in ONE piece … together! 

    As for our plans today … well, I woke up to an absolutely beautiful day … the sun is shining through those golden leaves that are still clinging to the limbs … above, a clear blue sky … the weather, crisp, and cool!  My favorite kind of day, and I feel so very blessed!  We’ll be going to dinner tonight … not sure where yet, but I know it will be yummy.  We’ll probably drive around in the country to take in the beautiful colors that have finally arrived here!  And we’ll come home and look at our wedding photos … reflecting on the past, looking to the future.  This will all happen after my trip to the chiropractor … the show this past weekend did a number on my back, so this morning I started my stretching again!  I do feel better after that … just need to stay consistant with it now!  You really notice the difference when you keep up with an exercise program … and you notice it when you don’t! 

    My computer is still in the ‘shop’ … ‘Cory, the computer guy’, has yet to call me to let me know how it’s coming along … he did say he had a busy week, and just may not have gotten to it yet … I’d rather it be that, than a more serious problem!  ‘Tiny’, the little laptop here, seems to be working better today … it loads at a snail’s pace, so it takes me awhile to get around, but know that I’m working at doing just that!  I’m really so thankful for this ‘little guy’ … even though it’s slow, it enables me to get around and check in on you!  I can’t upload any photos though  … and today, I so wanted to share some ‘before’, and ‘afters’ … I am thankful that I didn’t delete the one I used here above, way back when I started here on Xanga!  I will upload more, when I get the desktop back, even though they’ll be off schedule, and maybe a bit out of season!  Please do say a prayer that Cory can save everything, and get our computer back up and running in tip-top shape!  FAITH!  

    In the meantime, you all be blessed this beautiful autumn day … let the Scriptures guide your moods … know that He is your strength for whatever it is you might be going through right now … and please know that you’re in my thoughts and prayers!  ‘Tiny’, and I will be by to see you soon … even though it will be slow going … so, please do be patient with me!

     Sunflower With love, hugs, & always … many prayers,
                                                                 ~ Deborah <><

    P.S.  I do apologize if the lettering is to small … it’s hard to tell on Tiny here, what the size actually is! 

     

  • Deb Strain Faith

    Faith … the word of the day! If only I had a photo of this teeny-tiny laptop I’m using right now! I think you would all smile with me! I will have to take one and show you, once I’m able to, that is!  FAITH!  Well, I found out that the hard drive in my computer is in the process of ‘failing’  … and I’m  concerned that I could have lost some very important things that were on it … mainly my photographs, along with things from our business, Bible studies, e-mail, my graphics … well, you know all that we can store in this little ‘box’!  FAITH!  I was told there are about 39 errors on it, and now we are waiting for the repairs to be done.  I’m really ignorant when it comes to all of this, and I know I should have made a ‘back-up’ disk  and didn’t really know how, but you can bet, I’m going to learn now … anyway, I feel we found an expert in the field, who is a friend of a friend at church.  FAITH!  We didn’t use ‘Deborah’, the computer gal who we had originally talked to, because she told me it could cost up to $3000 to retrieve my things if they were lost!   Well, needless to say, I about fell off my chair, so I got on the phone to do some other checking around … and, please say a prayer that ‘Cory the computer guy’, can fix it!!  (Wonder if he knows ‘Joe the plumber’?! Lol!!)  Anyway, I’d really appreciate all of your prayers on this!  FAITH!  Pray that he can retrieve it all, and that it doesn’t cost a fortune to do it!  FAITH!  This little computer laptop is ‘cute’, but very awkward to use … and it’s seriously slow in loading pages, and sometimes doesn’t,   … but all that aside, I am thankful that I have it for when I can’t get to my sisters to use hers!  My sweet son paid $75.00 for this about 3 years ago, and I’m glad he did!  I will get a picture for you!

    Just to let you know, Elizabeth seems to be doing better … we haven’t seen her in a little while, because of our busy-ness, but we’ll be going there soon.  Your prayers for her are still very much appreciated!  And speaking of busy-ness … we are all packed and ready to head out to the show early in the morning (Friday).  It’s going to be a very long 3 day weekend, and I hope to get back on here to check on things sometime before Monday.  It’s going to be raining here all weekend from what I hear, and cool, so I pulled out the sweaters I love to wear when it’s cold.  I hear there is SNOW out west … are any of you getting it?  Here they say we may get snow showers on Monday! Our leaves are finally turning, and falling fast, and with the rain this weekend, I imagine we’ll lose even more.  We have to enjoy the season while we have it, don’t we?! 

    Well, I do pray you’re all doing well … and I want to thank you so much for your thoughts and sweet comments on my last post about this … I really do miss checking in on you all!  Don’t give up on me … please, Smilie Praying 2  and pray that I get my computer back soon!  FAITH!  Cory knows we use it for business, and he said he’d get us up and running as quick as he could!  In the meantime, it’s just me and ’Tiny’ here, and we’ll see you soon!  Enjoy your Friday, and weekend … just know that I’ll be thinking of you all, and holding you in my prayers, and I’ll get around to you as soon as I can! 

    Blessings and hugs!
    ~ Deborah <><

    How precious it is, LORD, to realize that you are thinking about me constantly!  I can’t even count how many times a day your thoughts turn towards me.  And when I waken in the morning, you are still thinking of me!  Psalm 139:17-18 {LB}

     

  •  

    Pic Old Fashioned Little Girl Sittin and Thinkin



    Yes, it has been awhile, but I have good reason … my computer is at the ‘doctors’!  It decided to take a vacation … without me!  I really feel strange being without it … and, I don’t like being cut off from everyone!  So, I’m here at my sisters to catch you all up on our happenings over the past week, or so.  Hope you’re all enjoying the fall weather where you are!

    Well, on Friday, we were able to go to a Sarah Palin rally … that was very encouraging!  Saturday, we were at a conference at church all day, and that was encouraging, as well.  Sunday, we went to the last day of  the Covered Bridge Festival … an annual fall tradition for us.  It was a beautiful day, but the leaves just weren’t in the ‘fall’ mode yet … they’re starting to change, but many look dull this year in our neck of the woods.  Hopefully, they’ll be a few more colorful ones for photos soon.  I’ll have more photos to share when I get up and running online again.  

    I’m catching up on many things around the house, since I’m without the computer.  I’m also getting ready for a big 3 day show this coming weekend. It’s also my husband’s birthday on Saturday, then our anniversary this next week, so, again, another busy week ahead for us.  I just want you all to know that I miss you very much, but as soon as I get my computer back, I’ll be around to visit and catch up with you!  Please say a prayer, that Deborah (the computer lady) will have wisdom to know what the problem is!  I’ll try to get back over here to my sisters, and check in again before the weekend, but in the meantime, you all have a blessed week, and weekend, and please, don’t forget about me! 

    Sunflower Hugs,
                      ~ Deborah <><   


  • Autumn Forever-Autumn-Posters



    I’ve been thinking about you all … how is your week going?  I know I’ve been absent quite a bit lately, with all our busy-ness this time of year with our shows … among all the other things that seem to be keeping us hoppin’ these days … but, I haven’t forgotten about any of you, and I hope you can bear with me for the next couple of months!  Yes … the next couple of months!  I’m going to do my best to get around to you here very soon … so, hang in there!  I do miss you all!  I’ve also been having some computer troubles the past few days … things running very s-l-o-w-l-y … and music/videos not playing right.  I need an expert, because I’m no computer whiz!  It’s all Greek to me … I did find an ad for a computer repair company called ‘GiP’, which stands for …. ready for this … ‘Geek In Pink’!   Yep, but I haven’t checked it out yet … I’m hoping they make housecalls!  They are right here in town! 

    Well, we had a full, and wonderful weekend.  Saturday we went to a friend’s daughter’s wedding, and it was very sweet.  I didn’t get as many photos as I would have liked … but I’ll share a few soon.  It was a beautiful day, so, after the wedding we went to the little tourist town, just a few blocks away, and enjoyed a walk, and dinner while there.  Sunday we had a great day, with our early morning Bible study class, then after church we had a pitch-in with the ‘bestest’ food!  We all got our fill, that’s for sure!  After that, we went to my sister, and brother-in-law’s, house and spent some time talking and playing cards. 

    Monday and Tuesday were catch-up days here at home with laundry and cleaning … nothing too exciting!  Later tonight, I’m going to a Bible study class at church that is called
    ‘First Place 4 Health’ … anyone ever heard of that one?  I wasn’t there for the first session, but this one is called ‘Moving Forward Together’, and that’s a link to their home website.  It encourages us to develop a deeper relationship with the Lord, and with other women in the church, and is a total-wellness program … teaching us how to achieve physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual wellness. (…and lose weight along the way … yay!!  I need all the encouragement I can get in that area … thinking of taking a ‘before’ photo before I start!) Many of the ladies I’ve talked to have been so blessed by this study, and they encouraged me to come this time.  I’m looking forward to it!  If anyone has ever heard of this, or have ever gone through it, let me know your thoughts. 

    This Friday night, and all day Saturday, is the DOVE Midwest Leaders Gathering that’s held every year, and it just so happens that our church is hosting it this year.  Then of course, again, church on Sunday.  It’ll be another full weekend!  The weather here was cool for awhile but has warmed up for a bit the past few days … they say much cooler weather is coming once this front passes, but it’s bringing rain, unfortunately.  We lose the leaves to quick when that happens!  I’m hoping to get some fall photos before this next week is over … I hope you’re all enjoying your fall weather where you are … so, what’s it like in your neck of the woods?  I love this time of year, but, it passes all too quickly for me!

    Well, I think that’s about all for now … I pray that you’ll have a great week and weekend … I’ll try to get back here soon to update, but, between now and then, I’ll be around to visit and catch up with you.  I’ll leave you with a devotion I read recently … it’s wonderful the blessings we receive when we seek Him with our whole heart!  Seek Him only today, and be blessed!  

    Tag heart Hugs,
        ~ Deborah <><

    05falltags1

     
    “The Name Of The Lord is To Be Praised”

    “God does not hold resentment or bitterness in his heart when I fail to tell him of my love for him but his heart aches for that intimacy with me.  He does not need my love to complete him; he is complete within himself.  However, he longs for all my heart, all my mind – all my undivided devotion to be his as he draws near to me.”

    Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. ~ James 4:8

    From Spurgeon’s ‘Faith’s Check Book’.
    The nearer we come to God, the more graciously will He reveal Himself to us. When the prodigal comes to his father, his father runs to meet him. When the wandering dove returns to the ark, Noah puts out his hand to pull her in unto him, When the tender wife seeks her husband’s society, he comes to her on wings of love. Come then, dear friend, let us draw nigh to God who so graciously awaits us, yea, comes to meet us.

    Did you ever notice that passage in Isaiah 58:9?  There the Lord seems to put Himself at the disposal of His people, saying to them, “Here I am.”  As much as to say — “What have you to say to me?  What can I do for you?  I am waiting to bless you.”  How can we hesitate to draw near?  God is nigh to forgive, to bless, to comfort, to help, to quicken, to deliver.  Let it be the main point with us to get near to God.  This done, all is done.  If we draw near to others, they may before long grow weary of us and leave us; but if we seek the Lord alone, no change will come over His mind, but He will continue to come nearer and yet nearer to us by fuller and more joyful fellowship.

    And ye shall seek me, and find [me], when ye shall search for me with all your heart. ~ Jeremiah 29:13

    ~ Reflection ~
    God promises to be found when sought after with our whole hearts. 
    How wonderful then, that it is He who places that longing within us. 
    It is He who gives our hearts of stone to be hearts of flesh. 
    Glory to God that He is merciful to draw us near! 
    Praise to the Lord that He first loved us! 
    Live now, as righteous, taking heart in the gospel joy of the Lord!


    Fall leaf 1 

  •  
    Fur Elise ~ For Elizabeth rs IMG_9345 copy

        
    Thank you all for your kind thoughts and sweet comments to my little entry on ’Pulse’ … hey, that really works when you don’t have much time, or energy to post!  I’ve got to remember to check it so I don’t miss any of yours!  First of all, I am asking for prayers again, for our sweet Miss Elizabeth.  On Wednesday, her weekly treatment showed that the blood virus has returned., and she now has to visit the hospital twice a day for the next two weeks for treatments, then after that, once daily treatments for two more weeks until the virus is gone.  Your prayers are so appreciated!  I am, thankfully,  feeling much better … so much so, that I even had enough energy to clean house yesterday, and boy, did it ever need it!  We’ve been so busy lately, that it’s been sorely neglected!  Now, to catch you up since my last post … Thursday, and Friday, of last week, went by quickly, we were anxious when Saturday finally arrived for Miss Elizabeth at the ‘Fur Elise’ FUNdraiser!  Thank you all for your prayers … it was a beautiful day, and Miss Elizabeth was there the whole day I might add, with her beautiful smile!  She seemed to be feeling so much better then … she wore a ‘No Hugs’ sign on her back, so as to avoid any possible bacteria, or germs.  They did say that this blood virus was not caused by her being there at all.  She enjoyed the day very much!  Everyone did!  There were booths with food, a variety of musical groups for entertainment, and time of worship.  There were children’s games and activities, a silent auction for different items including a trip to two different museums!  They also had an old fashioned cake walk, which my husband kept doing, and finally won … twice — he had his eye on the apple pie, and a plum bundt cake that both looked delicious!  There was also a drawing for different items, and our number was drawn for dinner coupons at a Mexican restaurant … my hubby’s favorite!  There was balloon art, face painting, sack races, and a table where children could sit and draw a greeting card, which the Mayor of the town personally judged … but I do believe all the children got a little something for their efforts!  The drawings will be transformed into Christmas cards and sold locally, in November, with proceeds to benefit the fund.  There was also a community blood drive., and Fur Elise t-shirts, in green and pink, for sale to benefit the fund.  Elizabeth’s little brother, Jonathan, was in charge of selling the huge, beautiful mums … which didn’t last long!  There were so many beautiful fall colors … it was hard to choose, but we bought one I’ll call a ‘cinnamon red’. 
    This park was beautiful … ‘Ceraland’, and we never knew it exsisted until now … we’ll definitely be going back!  

    There was an ampitheater, a putt-putt golf course, lots of paved walk ways for bikes, skateboards, and rollerblades … we just enjoyed walking!  There was a large lake where people camped in their pop-ups, tents, or RV’s.  Although there were quite a few people there, they had hoped for more, but the Lord did indeed bless this family!  I took a few pictures, and then, I had started to get a migraine … which I do not get often at all, but this one, unfortunately, came with a vegeance, so I ate a hamburger thinking it was because I hadn’t eaten that day.  It didn’t help … I even took some ibuprophen, in fact it got worse, and then I began getting nauseous … not a very good way to end up for the day!  My hubby said he was taking me home  … I didn’t want to go, but I wasn’t about to protest at the time!  Well, we get into the car and when he went to start it, the lights began flickering on the dash, and then it died!  If you recall, we were having some car trouble a couple of weeks ago, and they couldn’t find out what was causing the problem at the time, because it started for them!  Well, it was running fine, until Saturday, and we were pretty far out in the country at this park … not much around but farms … so, we prayed, and after a little while it finally kept running for us, and we started on our way home and got farther into the town of Columbus, about 5 miles away, then it quit on us again, and would not start!  You know the routine … we then called AAA, and we waited, and waited … he finally got there, and drove us, with our car in tow, to the mechanics, where we waited again for a friend to come get us and bring us home … all the while my head was pounding, and my stomach … well, enough said!  Not sure if it was the migraine causing that, or a bug of some sort!  When we finally got home I dropped into bed, praying that I would feel better so I could make it to an early class that I did not want to miss at church the next morning.  When I woke, I did feel a little better, so I did make it.  After church, it was such a beautiful day, that we decided to go for a walk on the canal downtown.  While there, we went to the IMAX Theatre, to see ‘The Grand Canyon – Colorado River Adventure’ … in 3D!!  Try doing that with a bit of a leftover migraine!  My eyes were closed from time to time on that one!  It was a good weekend, other than not feeling well, and I think I over did it on Sunday.  Still didn’t feel too well the first few days of the week, but, as I said, I felt good enough to clean the house by Wednesday, and that always makes you feel better!  Oh, the car was repaired right away on Monday … now don’t laugh … it was only a corroded battery cable all this time, and not an electrical problem, as we had originally thought!  We are very thankful for that, but wondered why the first mechanic we had taken it to had not figured that out … the car started for them, and kept running, but still they charged us $60.00!  Well, one consolation right now … my husband said he saw gas for $2.99 this morning!  I never thought we’d see gas that cheap again!  Anyway, I will leave you with a few pictures of this past weekend … but, like I said, not many at all were taken so I’ll post the ones I did get before I had to leave!  And, be sure to check out
    iliveinmycamera, but it may be too late to vote for a favorite now.  I did post in this weeks contest … called, ‘Love in Black & White’.  I’ll be catching up around here, and hoping to give my site more of a ‘fall-like’ feel within the next few days!  We are going to be busy this weekend, though, starting tonight … but I’ll fill you in with all that later … along with more photos!  Besides, this is probably taking far too much of your time here now, as it is!  So, you all be blessed, and have a wonderful day!  Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    Fur Elise Southern Indiana Pipes & Drums rs IMG_9353
    This is the Southern Indiana Pipes & Drums group …
    they were a hit!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9351 ES 2
    Miss Elizabeth enjoying the music … the two people just over both her
    shoulders are her grandparents … good people.


    Fur Elise rs IMG_9334
    A lesson in bagpipes … definitely not an easy thing to do!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9437 RS
    Matt … the cameraman! 


    FUR ELISE IMG_9366 RS
    This is the Pastor from Elizabeth’s family’s church, along with his family.
    Very good gospel music!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9331 RS
    Miss Elizabeth with her ‘No Hugs’ sign there on her back, 
    and talking with another stringed instrument group … they all sounded so good!
     

    FUR ELISE IMG_9418 RS
    This was another group called ‘Living By Faith’ … excellent!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9436 RS
    This is the a school church band that came to bless Elizabeth that day.

    FUR ELISE IMG_9371 RS
    Miss Elizabeth with her aunts … she has three there … they were all enjoying
    the music!  Oh, and do you see my husband on the left side in the shodow? 
    He enjoyed the music, too!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9367 RS
    The Pastor’s son … part time camera man … part time mandolin player!
    Very good at all three!


    Fur Elise - Face Painting rs IMG_9393
    Face painting … an Indianapolis Colts fan, to be sure!!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9404 RS
    The beautiful Mums!  It was a beautiful sunny day!  Too bad I couldn’t
    stay and enjoy the rest of it!!  There is talk of more fund raisers, though!


    Fur Elise - Lauren RS IMG_9400
    Little Miss Lauren … this is what she does when she sees a camera!
    Then she runs up to see it on the screen on back ,
    and says … “ooooooh!”  She’s too cute!!
    Her mommy is also a photographer, and an excellent scrapbooker!


    FUR ELISE Marcia & Lauren IMG_9391 RS
    This is my friend Marcia, with Little Miss Lauren. 
    A sweet moment.


    FUR ELISE Sack Races IMG_9396 RS
    Yes … and no … there were sack races, but we opted out of that one!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9451 RS
    Have you ever heard anyone talk after inhaling helium? 
    Well, a lot of us did that day!!  And the Munchkins came to mind!!
    Josh & Terry were singing, and giving helium speeches!
    Isn’t that dangerous??!!  Inhaling helium??!! 


    FUR ELISE IMG_9389 rs
    Josh wrote a little book called ‘The Red Balloon’
    I bought one, but I have yet to read it … I’ll let you know when I do!


    FUR ELISE Red Balloon Brigade IMG_9380 RS
    The Red Balloon Brigade!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9376 rs
    Lots of good food and drinks to go around!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9377 rs
    They also had hamburgers,
    which I notice wasn’t on the sign here.


    FUR ELISE IMG_9382 RS
    Didn’t get this little guy’s name …
    he was just sitting there, by himself, in a sort of hazy daze …
    … hmmm, wonder if it was too much pop … 


    FUR ELISE IMG_9375 RS 
    Wonder where he could have gotten that at?!!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9428 RS
    Nothin’ but smiles!  Little Miss Lauren. 


    FUR ELISE IMG_9434 RS
    No fear here!  This was the friendliest dog,
    and this little guy seemed to take right to him … and vice-versa!


    FUR ELISE IMG_9442 RS
    This is the Major of Columbus on the left, with Hannah and Elizabeth … 
    passing out those rewards for the Christmas card drawings.


    FUR ELISE IMG_9341 RS
    The beautiful lake @ Ceraland,


    FUR ELISE IMG_9406 RS
    That nice paved walkway I mentioned …
    … a beautiful day for a stroll – er!
    These are close relatives of Miss Elizabeth. 
    Good friends!


    Fur Elise rs IMG_9342
    Elizabeth was enjoying some quiet time by the lake away from the crowd.


    Marcia and Me @ Fur Elise IMG_9416 rs
    And finally, this is my dear friend Marcia, whom I told you has breast cancer. 
    I wanted a photo of us together that day, and my husband took this. 
    Please keep her, as well as our Miss Elizabeth, in your prayers! 
    Thank you all so much, and do have a beautiful and blessed day in Him!
    <><

    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,
    “plans to prosper you and not to harm you,
    plans to give you hope and a future.”
     Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

  • A Word For Wednesday

      

    Janet kruskamp harvest kitchen frame



    SETTING HIM BEFORE US
    ~Joy In The Journey ~

    “I have set the LORD always before me;
    Because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved”.
    Psalm 16:8

    That is my verse today.  I have it sitting up against my computer in front of me, where I can glance at it often and remember where my focus ought to be.  I find it gives me such strength to keep this kind of a reminder in front of me while I work- strength to meet the stresses, demands and keep Him ever before me.  It helps me to remember to keep the balance between work and life, and makes my moments exceedingly precious as I read and pray and contemplate Him, and who He is.

    It makes me feel so small, so insignificant, when I see Him, His life, and the sacrifice that He made for Love … love to someone like me who often wounds, and who often fails and does not listen to His gentle voice calling to my heart.  Love to those who will never love Him, love strong enough to die for those who hated Him.  And to think … He will give me that kind of love, too, if I let Him.  I keep thinking about Hind’s Feet on High Places and the seed of Love that the Shepherd planted in Much Afraid’s heart.  Oh, how I long to see that flower blooming in my own heart, yet … how wise it is of God to make it so that we cannot see for ourselves the flower, only it slowly changes our lives until we are not the same.

    Time and time again, I pray that God will make me beautiful at heart.  It matters little what outward beauty I could have … if I can just be beautiful at heart, beautiful in His eyes, oh, how happy I would be.  But the struggle is always there - self wants to crush beauty, and sometimes it is hard to let go of opinions, ideas, dreams, to let harsh and cutting words be spoken, and remain silent, to feel misunderstood, yet offer no defense.  There is much work to be done in my heart.

    Yet it is so beautiful to see that He does work, He does change us. This past year has taught me in ways that I never knew how the days of my life, the struggles I faced, were preparations for this moment.  And I am thankful – for every tear, for every struggle, for every victory.  It gives me so much more courage to face the ones that lay ahead, and know that by His grace, through His strength, I shall conquer.

    ~ I did not write this, but I most certainly could have, right down to the very last word.  Maybe others of you could have, as well.  Yes, there is much work to be done in my heart, but I know I can rest in the Hands of the One that will do that work and change me … for Him! 
     

    Bar Autumn Apple 4

    Catching Up …

    I pray you’ve all had a wonderful week so far …  I do believe Fall has finally arrived here … {well, not here on my site, yet, but I’m working on it!}  It’s about 53* here now, and not to get much past 60* for the day today!  I love ‘sweater weather’ … I’d better find those and freshen them up for the season!  Well, our car didn’t give us any trouble at all … started every time, and our weekend was profitable, although not as much as last year, but with all the things going on with the government, and the economy, I’m very grateful for what the Lord blessed us with this year.  The weather was beautiful, as promised, and we had a great time.  Elizabeth’s mother, and sister, came and spent the day with us on Saturday.  It was fun having them there, and the extra help was welcomed!  My friend, Marcia, the one I shared with you who has breast cancer, came to visit on Sunday.  It was so good to see her … she is feeling well, but I know she’d appreciate all of our prayers … she’s asking that we pray for wisdom as to the course of her treatment, and also, pray as to how she can comfort and encourage her family during this trying time for them.  In all of this, she says that the most difficult thing for her is to see them suffer in any way.  When the festival ended, we packed up, and still, with a little bit of energy left, we went to see the movie, ‘Fireproof’.  Two thumbs up here … we highly recommend it … but do take lots of kleenex!  

    I have an update on our Miss Elizabeth … her liver counts are not good at this point, so if you could please continue to pray for her concerning that.  Also, we’re asking for prayers for the upcoming fundraiser, ‘Fur Elise’ {which means ‘For Elizabeth’}, this Saturday to help with the cost of her bone marrow transplant, and treatments.  It’s going to be a beautiful day in the park, with music, games, food, an auction, and much more.  It has been listed and announced on a local radio station’s
    web site, and also the actual web site, that her brother, Tim, set up for her.  If you get a chance, stop in to her web site, and click on ‘My Story’, by Elizabeth.  Please pray that God abundantly blesses this coming Saturday, this event, and this precious young lady, and her family!  They have been a blessing time and time again, to so many people, never once asking for anything in return!  I just want to thank you all, so much, for your prayers along the way for them … I’ll keep you posted on how she’s doing, and let you know how Saturday goes!  I’ll also be taking pictures, and I’ll be sure to share them, as well!  I have so many photos I want to share of this past summer now … (sigh) … well, I’ll get around to that soon!   I want to thank you for your comments on my last post … I’ll be around to visit and catch up as the week goes along … for today, I have soap to tend to for our next show … this is a busy time of year for us, so please don’t give up on me!  I really do miss you all! 

    fall_aplepie   
    Hugs,
                                              ~ Deborah <><

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads