Day: October 1, 2008

  • A Word For Wednesday

      

    Janet kruskamp harvest kitchen frame



    SETTING HIM BEFORE US
    ~Joy In The Journey ~

    “I have set the LORD always before me;
    Because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved”.
    Psalm 16:8

    That is my verse today.  I have it sitting up against my computer in front of me, where I can glance at it often and remember where my focus ought to be.  I find it gives me such strength to keep this kind of a reminder in front of me while I work- strength to meet the stresses, demands and keep Him ever before me.  It helps me to remember to keep the balance between work and life, and makes my moments exceedingly precious as I read and pray and contemplate Him, and who He is.

    It makes me feel so small, so insignificant, when I see Him, His life, and the sacrifice that He made for Love … love to someone like me who often wounds, and who often fails and does not listen to His gentle voice calling to my heart.  Love to those who will never love Him, love strong enough to die for those who hated Him.  And to think … He will give me that kind of love, too, if I let Him.  I keep thinking about Hind’s Feet on High Places and the seed of Love that the Shepherd planted in Much Afraid’s heart.  Oh, how I long to see that flower blooming in my own heart, yet … how wise it is of God to make it so that we cannot see for ourselves the flower, only it slowly changes our lives until we are not the same.

    Time and time again, I pray that God will make me beautiful at heart.  It matters little what outward beauty I could have … if I can just be beautiful at heart, beautiful in His eyes, oh, how happy I would be.  But the struggle is always there - self wants to crush beauty, and sometimes it is hard to let go of opinions, ideas, dreams, to let harsh and cutting words be spoken, and remain silent, to feel misunderstood, yet offer no defense.  There is much work to be done in my heart.

    Yet it is so beautiful to see that He does work, He does change us. This past year has taught me in ways that I never knew how the days of my life, the struggles I faced, were preparations for this moment.  And I am thankful – for every tear, for every struggle, for every victory.  It gives me so much more courage to face the ones that lay ahead, and know that by His grace, through His strength, I shall conquer.

    ~ I did not write this, but I most certainly could have, right down to the very last word.  Maybe others of you could have, as well.  Yes, there is much work to be done in my heart, but I know I can rest in the Hands of the One that will do that work and change me … for Him! 
     

    Bar Autumn Apple 4

    Catching Up …

    I pray you’ve all had a wonderful week so far …  I do believe Fall has finally arrived here … {well, not here on my site, yet, but I’m working on it!}  It’s about 53* here now, and not to get much past 60* for the day today!  I love ‘sweater weather’ … I’d better find those and freshen them up for the season!  Well, our car didn’t give us any trouble at all … started every time, and our weekend was profitable, although not as much as last year, but with all the things going on with the government, and the economy, I’m very grateful for what the Lord blessed us with this year.  The weather was beautiful, as promised, and we had a great time.  Elizabeth’s mother, and sister, came and spent the day with us on Saturday.  It was fun having them there, and the extra help was welcomed!  My friend, Marcia, the one I shared with you who has breast cancer, came to visit on Sunday.  It was so good to see her … she is feeling well, but I know she’d appreciate all of our prayers … she’s asking that we pray for wisdom as to the course of her treatment, and also, pray as to how she can comfort and encourage her family during this trying time for them.  In all of this, she says that the most difficult thing for her is to see them suffer in any way.  When the festival ended, we packed up, and still, with a little bit of energy left, we went to see the movie, ‘Fireproof’.  Two thumbs up here … we highly recommend it … but do take lots of kleenex!  

    I have an update on our Miss Elizabeth … her liver counts are not good at this point, so if you could please continue to pray for her concerning that.  Also, we’re asking for prayers for the upcoming fundraiser, ‘Fur Elise’ {which means ‘For Elizabeth’}, this Saturday to help with the cost of her bone marrow transplant, and treatments.  It’s going to be a beautiful day in the park, with music, games, food, an auction, and much more.  It has been listed and announced on a local radio station’s
    web site, and also the actual web site, that her brother, Tim, set up for her.  If you get a chance, stop in to her web site, and click on ‘My Story’, by Elizabeth.  Please pray that God abundantly blesses this coming Saturday, this event, and this precious young lady, and her family!  They have been a blessing time and time again, to so many people, never once asking for anything in return!  I just want to thank you all, so much, for your prayers along the way for them … I’ll keep you posted on how she’s doing, and let you know how Saturday goes!  I’ll also be taking pictures, and I’ll be sure to share them, as well!  I have so many photos I want to share of this past summer now … (sigh) … well, I’ll get around to that soon!   I want to thank you for your comments on my last post … I’ll be around to visit and catch up as the week goes along … for today, I have soap to tend to for our next show … this is a busy time of year for us, so please don’t give up on me!  I really do miss you all! 

    fall_aplepie   
    Hugs,
                                              ~ Deborah <><

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads