Month: March 2008


  • Design-Elements- linda thompson art com

     
    Finding Power in Weakness
    ~Lysa TerKeurst~

    “My grace is sufficient for you,
    for my power is made perfect in weakness.”
    II Corinthians 12:9 {NIV}

     br_line1  www kgc nu

    Jesus is the author of compassion and kindness. When facing the pain, agony, shame, and horror of the cross he couldn’t walk away – because He saw YOU.  As Max Lucado says in his book The Final Week of Jesus, He saw us “right there in a middle of a world which isn’t fair … He saw you betrayed by those you love. He saw you with a body which gets sick and a heart that grows weak. He saw you in your own Garden of Gethsemane – and he didn’t want you to be alone … He would rather go to hell for you than to heaven without you.”

    What an amazing act of kindness, and what an incredible example to follow of what we should do when we feel vulnerable and weak.  Many of us say we have nothing to give when dark and lonely times come our way, but Jesus taught us to look past loneliness into the richness of helping others.

    We say we having nothing to give, and God says, “You’re right, but I have something to give through you.”  Remember the encouragement given to us in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

    Maybe that is why the world hates weakness so much.  If it is in our weakness that the power of God can flow most freely, then it’s no wonder the world would want to cork up this power’s flow.  Everything about our society screams out against being weak, yet weakness resides in us all.  No matter how beautiful, rich, powerful, and significant someone may seem, weakness is still there.

    Behind the thin bodies and glamorous clothing of the rich and famous, weakness is there.  Weakness knows no bounds.  At every level of society, in every race, men and women alike have weaknesses.  And be assured that along with weakness, loneliness calls their names.  Sorrows and insecurities still haunt them.  All the while God gently calls them to let Him make their weaknesses and loneliness count for something good.  Many choose not to listen.

    To walk the path that the Lord delights in, we must be willing to let God use the circumstances of our lives to reach out to others.  Let’s compare our hurts to stones littering our paths.  We have a choice to do one of three things with these stones.  We can use them to beat ourselves up, making our scars run deeper than they should.  We can throw our stones at others, wounding them and making them also feel our pain.  Or, we can use these stones to build bridges for others to walk across from their own darkness and pain into His healing light.  This third option is seldom chosen, yet it’s exactly what God delights in.

    Dear Lord, help me take an honest assessment of my weaknesses and places where I feel vulnerable right now.  Show me Lord, who I could touch today so Your power could flow through my weakness.  Help me to not be so self-consumed with my troubles but rather be a bridge to help another person find Your power. 
    In Jesus Name, Amen.

    Something to think about …
     
    Who is in your sphere of influence today that might need a touch of some sort from you? 
    Ask Jesus to give you the wisdom and words to know how to reach this person.

    Reflections …
    Have I been paralyzed by some type of weakness in my life? 
    Is it possible for Jesus to use this for good?

    br_line1  www kgc nu

    I wanted to share the devotional above with you as you start out in this new week.  It really spoke to my heart … we all deal with weaknesses to some extent, and I hope this will help you, as it did me.  I trust you all had a blessed weekend.  Ours started out sunny on Saturday, and ended up gray and cloudy, so hubby and I just had a lazy day.  Well, we worked on a few things around here, but for the most part, it was a day of rest.  Sunday we woke to cloudy skies, and headed for church … we also had a pitch-in, and then our Dave Ramsey course, so we stayed at the church most of the day.  It rained pretty hard while we were in church, so, any day now, we’ll see those spring flowers blooming, and we could sure use some color around here … speaking of which, this week over at iliveinmycamera, there is a new photo contest that just started today, and the theme … FLOWERS!  There are some very beautiful entries, and so many that they just may have to do this over a two week period …  so, go see all the colors of Spring, and vote for your favorite!  You won’t be sorry … it’s a regular Flower Show over there!  I hope the sun is shining for you today, and that Spring is finally beginning to arrive!  I’m still waiting, but I know it’s on the way … there are robins in my yard! 


    flower cart


    I wanted to share something I found on that trip to the antique mall last weekend  … I may just have to go back and buy it.  It is an old book called ‘Golden Links in the Chain that Connects Mother Home and Heaven’ … I found a reproduction of it, with a few changes to the title, but first a picture of the original copy … has anyone seen this before?  As much as I love books, and always look at them, I’ve never come across this one … well, not until now!


    Golden Links Mother Home and Heaven rs


    The commemorative copy is below … but first the description:

    This thoughtful collection brings the best of timeless prose and poetry into your home.
    This classic volume inspires, instructs, and imparts encouragement to readers of all ages.
    Let these eternal truths and enduring gems of wisdom fill your heart and mind.

    This beautiful reproduction and commemorative volume includes:

    · dozens of 19th century steel engravings.

    · selections from more than 200 of the most enduring Christian writers of the past 400 years.

    · timeless, Christ-centered nuggets of truth, beauty, and faith from the precious annals of great Christian literature.

    · scores of devotional thoughts for daily reading and quiet time.

    · quotable wisdom for speakers, preachers, teachers, fathers and mothers.

    This sounds like a lovely book … it would be a wonderful gift for Mother’s Day, don’t you think!  
    I know I could sure use some quotable wisdom!  Enjoy your Monday!  Be blessed!  ~ Deborah <><

    goldenthoughts200

    br_line1  www kgc nu



  • SCRIPTURE Cause me to hear

    Trust Him when dark doubts assail thee,
    Trust Him when thy strength is small,
    Trust Him when to simply trust Him
    Seems the hardest thing of all.
    Trust Him, He is ever faithful,
    Trust Him, for his will is best,
    Trust Him, for the heart of Jesus
    Is the only place of rest.

    ~ Anonymous ~


    The soul that waits upon the Lord is the soul that is entirely surrendered to Him, and that trusts Him perfectly.
    Therefore we might name our wings the wings of Surrender and of Trust.
    If we will only surrender ourselves utterly to the Lord, and will trust Him perfectly,
    we shall find our souls “mounting up with wings as eagles” to the “heavenly places” in Christ Jesus,
    where earthly annoyances or sorrows have no power to disturb us.

    ~ Hannah Whitall Smith ~



    Be Blessed on this Lord’s Day!
    Ever Trusting in Him,
    ~ Deborah <><


    Pic Sheep on a Hill  



  • give thanks

       

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose MORE THAN GRATITUDE
               
    ~  Gail Rodgers ~

    Becky had often heard the little saying, “Have an attitude of gratitude,” and for the most part she did.  She could count her blessings and generally found a thankful spirit.

    Yet she could find no thankfulness in this difficult circumstance!  Her “attitude of gratitude” could find nothing for which to be thankful for.  If she were not careful, her heart could slip into despair and even bitterness.

    She didn’t feel like reading her Bible, but she picked it up and flipped through it.  Her eyes fell on a familiar verse she had highlighted with red …

    “…in everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” { 1 Thessalonians 5:18 }.

    It seemed to hit her with new clarity.  It said, “in everything” not, “for everything.”  She pondered the thought.  If she could not be thankful FOR this particular circumstance, what did it mean to be thankful IN it?

    When we ask sincere questions, with hearts hungry to understand God’s ways, the Holy Spirit shows us the answer.

    Thoughts tumbled in her mind.  She could be thankful for God’s faithfulness to her.  As she recalled times past when life seemed out of control, she recalled God’s steadying hand upon her and how His strength had carried her in difficult times { Matthew 11:28 }.

    She could be thankful that God promised to work things out for good … yes; she had seen His hand bring good out of the most troubling things { Romans 8:28 }.

    With fresh realization her heart grew a bit lighter as she saw what God meant … be thankful IN her circumstance because she knew God was bigger than any problem, and He would be faithful to help her, His child.

    Tiny Tag Dk Pink Rose Dear Father God …
    I am truly thankful for my blessings.  Yet it is quite another thing to be thankful in the hard times and with the unanswered questions of life.  Thank You for understanding that it is not easy for me.  Thank You for showing me that when I can’t be thankful for the hard stuff, You remind me just to be thankful IN it.  For it is in that where Your character of faithfulness will be proven over and over to me.  Thank You for the confidence that You will see me through.  Help me to lean hard on Your strength, wisdom and care.  Thank You that You will build a track record in my life through Your faithfulness. You enable me to be thankful in hard times because You are my God and You can be trusted with my life, even in the hard stuff!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

    Sig Tag Cause Me to hear thy lovingkindness in the AM

    Bar Rose


    Hope you all have a great Friday!  It’s raining here … again, but I will be thankful IN all things!  I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a few days … it’s been a semi-lazy week for me.  Have you ever had one of those?  We have some studying to catch up on before Sunday, for our financial class.  We may also get together with my great nieces and nephews and head to the Children’s Museum … we used to take Ian and I’ve really missed that.  I’m anxious to see how many of the exhibits they’ve changed since we were there last.  My DH may have to work a bit on Saturday, too, so things are still up in the air for the weekend.  Other than that … things are pretty quiet here on the home front right now … and I do pray they stay that way!  So, any special plans on the horizon for you this weekend?  I’ll be around to catch up with you today and through the weekend.  Have a blessed day y’all! 

    Tiny Tag White Rose Hugs,
           ~ Deborah <><  

    Pic Rose Old

  •       
    RS Plate Give us this day

    Happy Monday! (I had part of this typed, then didn’t get the rest done until late, so I didn’t get a chance to get this on for Monday, so you’ll be reading this on Tuesday … I suppose, now I should say, Happy Tuesday!)  Well, I trust you, and yours, were blessed this ‘Resurrection’ weekend!  I’ve been reading a few of your posts off my subscription pages, and I want to get around here soon to you, and comment!  We are catching up here at home, since we’ve been gone most of the weekend.  Today my husband’s van decided to take a vacation!  The brakes decided to go ‘south’ for the day … so, south it went, to the garage where she is being fixed … we also got word that it won’t be done until Tuesday morning!  Wonder what that will cost us?!  Lew’s been home with me most of the day working on coins, old bills, and supplies to put in at the antique mall.  It started out as a sunny day, but the clouds have covered that otherwise beautiful blue sky.  Impending rain, again!  Hope your day has been bright and sunny where you are!

    I’ll share a little of what we did this weekend … we started out Saturday and went to the antique mall so I could restock my desperately dwindling supply of soap and candles, while my hubby worked on his coins and coin supplies.  I got done in good time, so after stocking the shelves and straightening, I got out my trusty camera and decided to take some photos of ‘this n’ that’ … and believe you me, in an antique mall, there’s a lot of ‘this n’ that’, and I love it!  After we walked around and looked at things for a little while, my dear sweet husband took me out to eat at an Italian restaurant here in town called, Carino’s.  The Italian salad, hot fresh bread with herb oil for dipping, Rosemary Chicken over angel hair pasta with spinach and roma tomatoes, and fresh sauted garlic green beans, all were simply de-lish!  Saturday was a good day. 

    cm_wm_partlysunny1 Resurrection Sunday’ dawned partly cloudy, and cool, but it was a beautiful day.  We had planned on going to church, and then to a friend’s house for dinner, but we got a call late Saturday night that totally changed our schedule for Sunday … now, we were to meet all of the family down at my SIL’s house late Sunday morning, to have an early dinner with Mom Betty and Dad, so, Lew and I had a wonderful and blessed time having our devotions together at home early that morning.  After that, we headed south.  It was good to all be together again.  Our niece is due in June with her first child, a baby girl, and she is glowing, her husband is beside himself … he’s going to be a great dad!  I didn’t get many photos there, but next Saturday, there’s a baby shower at their church for her … I’ll get some then.  Mom and Dad looked like their new home is agreeing with them … they seem to be thriving there, although they sure enjoyed being ‘sprung’ for a few hours to have dinner at their daughter’s house with us all!  We had lasagne, caesar salad, buttery garlic bread, and a choice of two yummy desserts … apple crisp, or brownie sundaes!  I chose the apple crisp with ice cream melting all over that sweet crunchy topping … others, I know, had some of each!!  And Mom did join those sweet little Red Hat ladies … she’s really having fun making, and getting to know, new friends … now we just have to find her a nice red hat … as it is a requirement!  My hubby said that she would probably want to pick it out herself, so we’re hoping to take her soon, unless one of her daughters beats us to it!! 

    After a wonderful time there, we headed back up north, to my
    sister’s ’full’ house for the rest of the day.  My niece had just moved in with her 2 children, and my other niece was there with her 3 little ones, one of which we had yet to meet, Baby Savannah … yes, indeed, it was a full house, but we enjoyed every single minute of it!  Adorable children, and, of course, I snapped a few photos!  All in all, it was a wonderful day, although, I have to say, from a mom’s heart, that it would have been even better if my son had been here to enjoy all of the family fun with us!  Well, that’s about it for me now … hope you all have a wonderful evening … and a terrific Tuesday! 

    Tag heartHugs,
          ~ Deborah <><

    camera tiny black There’s a new photo contest going on for the week … it’s all about ‘clouds’ …cm_wm_hiddensun1
            so, if you love clouds, check out iliveinmycamera, and vote for your favorite!   


    Here are some photos from the weekend … I took so many at the antique mall, that I’ll have to share those at another time.  I did take the one at the top of this post … it was a wooden, hand painted tray.  I came close to buying that tray … but I didn’t … I bought something else, and I’ll show you later … for now, here’s a bit of our weekend … 

    RS Cinnamon Apple Nut Bread 1

    I did finally bake some bread on Friday … Cinnamon Nut Apple Bread …
    complete with before and after photos, of course …
    reminiscent of that pumpkin pie!
    Does anyone else enjoy taking pictures of food like I do?

    RS Cinnamon Apple Nut Bread Topping

    Couldn’t forget the buttery, brown sugary, crunchy topping before baking it …
    … now, for a hot buttery slice with a nice cup of tea!

    RS Cinnamon Apple Nut Bread Done

    This was my sister-in-law’s famous lasagna … it’s always yummy! 

    RS Lasagna

    This is their dog, Toby …
    Mom Betty and Toby get along quite well!

    RS Mom Betty and Toby

    Another photo of Toby’s cute face ~
    this dog has such a sweet ‘heart’, and is so attentive to everyone!
    He has the ‘whitest’ fur I’ve ever seen … so fluffy and soft.
    Frankly, I wanted to take him home with me,
    but, of course, ’the Moosh’ would have none of that!

    RS Toby 2

    This is my niece, and her husband …
     Josh & Lindsey … due in June!
    (This photo was taken about 3 months ago)
    People are starting to look younger to me these days!!!

    RS Josh & Lindsey

    Mom Betty and Dad … on their way back home. 

    RS Mom Betty and Dad

    We saw this on the way to my sister’s house …
    quite fitting for the day, don’t you think?!

    RS He died for you! 1

    We spent the rest of the day with my sister and her family …
    these are the little ones … all 6 of my great nieces and nephews!

    Little Savannah … doesn’t she look like an angel!
    Actually, she looks like a doll!
    She loved to ‘pose’ for pictures!

    RS Savannah 2

    And I just couldn’t resist sharing ‘Savannah’s Little Shoe’ with you …

    RS Savannah's Shoe 3-23-08

    This is Savannah’s brother … Tayseaen
    (pronounced: Tay-shawn) …
    He wasn’t interested in ‘posing’ …
    he was otherwise preoccupied! 

    RS Tayseaen

    And, the big sister, Sierra …
    who, like her baby sister, loves to pose!

    RS Sierra 2

    And yet, another great niece … Casandra …
    we call her Cissy, or Cassie for short.

    CASSIE RT 2

     And Cassie’s big brother, Braxton … the Thinker! 

    RS Braxton - the 'thinker'

    I have one more sweet little great nephew … Zayne. 
    They weren’t able to be here for Easter …
    but I just so happen to have a photo of him!

    RS Zane

    Now you’d think,
    with all of those great nieces and nephews running around,
    that I wouldn’t have time to miss Ian … well, not too much!! 
    My sister will be moving in a couple of months,
    and only about 2 blocks away from us. 
    It’ll be so good to be closer to them …
    more game nights!  Right, sis?!!

    chinaline

    Well, thank you for letting me share a little more of my family with you!
    I hope you all have a terrific Tuesday … oh, I just remembered … one more thing!
    It’s none other than ’Tasty Twinkie Tuesday’ …
    and that means a Twinkie recipe to try!
    Okay … did anyone try the one from last week?
    If not, well, you have another chance …
    here’s this week’s edition of
    ‘Tasty Twinkie Tuesday’!

    This one would be fun to make with children, too!
    I know all 6 of my great nephews and nieces will love these!

    twinkie vintage trim 

    “Twinkie Pancakes”
    (sorry … no photo available)

    6 Twinkies
    4 cups prepared pancake batter
    Butter or margarine
    Your choice of syrup

    Slice each Twinkie crosswise into 8 thin slices.
    Prepare your griddle, or skillet, with nonstick vegetable oil spray,
    or brush lightly with vegetable oil.  Heat over medium heat.
    Pour 1/4-cup measures of pancake batter onto hot griddle, spacing them apart.
    Arrange 3 Twinkie slices in each pancake. 
    Cook until pancakes begin to bubble and are golden brown on the underside. 
    Carefully turn the pancakes and cook the second side. 
    Serve immediately with butter and syrup!
    Enjoy!  


    PCCRAFTER COM SM coffeebreakprod

    Alan Redpath had two daughters who loved to swarm him when he came home at night.
    As he came in the door one evening, his little girls ran to meet him.
    One grabbed his leg and hugged him with all her might.
    He snatched the other daughter up in his arms.
    The one squeezing his leg said, “Now, I’ve got all of Daddy.”
    The daughter in his arms replied, “Yes, but Daddy has got all of me!”
    Perhaps the question we need to continually ask is, “Does God have all of me?”

    ~ Alan Redpath ~

    Be blessed, and have a beautiful day in Him!
    Pic Bible Rose Tea


  • In the shadow of the cross there is life!

    The cross is the victory, the resurrection is the triumph…
    The resurrection is the public display of the victory, the triumph of the crucified One.
     
    ~ Eric Sauer ~


    bbdaffodline3


    The blood of Jesus Christ has great power!
    There is perhaps not a phrase in the Bible that is so full of secret truth as is “The blood of Jesus.”
    It is the secret of His incarnation, when Jesus took on flesh and blood;
    the secret of His obedience unto death, when He gave His life at the cross of Calvary;
    the secret of His love that went beyond all understanding when He bought us with His blood;
    the secret of the enemy and the secret of our eternal salvation.
    ~ Corrie Ten Boom ~


    bbdaffodline3


    Thanks be to my Lord Jesus Christ
    For all the benefits which Thou hast given me;
    For all the pains and insults Thou hast borne for me.
    O most merciful Redeemer, Friend and Brother,
    May I know Thee more clearly;
    Love Thee more dearly;
    And follow Thee more nearly.
    Amen.


    bbdaffodline3


    Be blessed, everyone … 
    … have a most worshipful and joyful Resurrection Sunday!

    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

  •  
    Copper-Tulips-II-Print-C12249023

    Our Lord has written the promise of the Resurrection,
    not in books alone, but in every leaf in Spring-time. 
    ~ Martin Luther ~

    More Random Ramblings …

    First, I want to thank you all for your comments and advice on the situation with our neighbor’s dogs.  A miracle happened on the first day of Spring … what joy!  To begin with, the day dawned bright and sunny, and I heard birds instead of barking dogs!  There was only one dog in the yard, and I hardly heard a peep out of him all day!  He was just lying in the yard so quiet, intently watching the birds and the resident squirrel on our feeder!  They must have noticed the quiet as well, and decided to venture back for a bite of breakfast, lunch, and dinner!  Moosh even spent most of the day perched in the window!  Maybe someone already complained, and we don’t have to do a thing!  That would certainly be an answer to prayer!  Well, yesterday was a repeat of Thursday, only a bit more cloudy, and for the most part, quiet!  We’ll see what the next few days bring, but I gave your suggestions to my husband and he’s going to decide how to approach this, that is, if we are to be the ones to do it, or, if we even need to at this point! 

    *I do want to say here, that I am very sorry if I offended anyone who may own Pit Bulls … I do realize they aren’t all ferocious … I should have mentioned this before, but, I did have a friend who owned one once, and he was as gentle as could be, even with their little children!  I suppose it’s all in how they are raised.

    I also spoke to Ian on Thursday night!  He sounded tired … he’s been extremely busy preparing video and editing programs for Easter weekend at the church … it was so good to finally hear his voice.  He is needing to get his wisdom teeth out … he mentioned there were a few dentists in the church there, and he may be able to get it done at a reasonable cost.  It’s not cheap having that surgery these days!  I used to work for an oral surgeon, and back then, it was a fourth of the cost of what it is now to have it done.  He’s hoping to come home mid-May to film a wedding … we won’t know for sure until later, but if he does, he may have those ‘wisdom’ teeth out here … then ol’ mom can make him some homemade soup, etc., and just pamper him a little bit, that is, if he’ll let me!  
      
    Yesterday, I spent finishing up the labeling on my soap, and today, we are headed down to spend most of the day at the antique mall, restocking.  So how are you spending your weekend?  After church on Sunday, we have a dinner invitation from some friends.  They invited us along with a couple of other families, and, from there we’ll be visiting with Mom Betty and Dad for the rest of the afternoon/evening.  We’ll have to wait to see if Mom is up to it, though … she wasn’t sounding too good yesterday on the phone.  I pray she doesn’t get that flu that’s been going around there!  There is some good news … the condo they lived in up north is being sold … they have a buyer … that was fast, wasn’t it!  Well, my sister-in-law is buying it!!  It will stay in the family, and everyone is elated about that!  So are Mom and Dad!  She is single, and now living in a 3 room apartment … it is adorable, but, it has a very tiny kitchen and bath.  She’s lived there for years, so they came up with this plan, and it’s working out perfectly for her!  She will be able to spread out now … the condo has 2 large bedrooms, and 2 full size bathrooms, large livingroom, separate diningroom, and large kitchen!  It’s only about a mile from where she lives now, so once the small amount of remodeling is done, it won’t take long to move her!  She is very excited about it all, and we are happy for her!  The Lord has just smoothed the way for them in so many ways with their move, and in all of the details … He is good! 

    The busy weekend is here, and I will try, but I may not get back to catch up with you all until Sunday night, or Monday, so I pray that each and everyone of you have a wonderful Saturday, and a most blessed Resurrection Day! 

    Tiny Tag Rose White Hugs,
           ~ Deborah <>< 

    bbdaffodline3

  • Bar Light Pink Roses   


    freegraphics immanuelministries net banner 2


    TWENTY TRUTHS TO REMEMBER
    Author Unknown

     
    1.  Faith is the ability to not panic.

      2.  If you worry, you didn’t pray.  If you pray, don’t worry.

      3.  As a child of God, prayer is kind of like calling home every day.

      4.  Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.

      5.  When we get tangled up in our problems, be still…
    God wants us to be still so He can untangle the knot.

      6.  Do the math.  Count your blessings.

      7.  God wants spiritual fruit, not religious nuts.

      8.  Dear God:  I have a problem.  It’s me.

      9.  Silence is often misinterpreted, but never misquoted.

    10.  Laugh every day, it’s like inner jogging.

    11.  The most important things in your home are the people.

    12.  Growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional.

    13.  There is no key to happiness.  The door is always open.

    14.  A grudge is a heavy thing to carry.

    15.  He who dies with the most toys is still dead.

    16.  We do not remember days, but moments.
           Life moves too fast, so enjoy your precious moments.

    17.  Nothing is real to you until you experience it, otherwise it’s just hearsay.

    18.  It’s all right to sit on your pity pot every now and again.
           Just be sure to flush when you are done.

    19.  Surviving and living your life successfully requires courage.
           The goals and dreams you’re seeking require courage and risk-taking. 
           Learn from the turtle — it only makes progress when it sticks out its neck.

    20.  Be more concerned with your character than your reputation. 
           Your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are.

           
    Do any of these stand out to you?

    Bar Light Pink Roses

    Well, today is the first day of Spring … yes, it’s finally here … hark, I can hear those collective cheers from you, now!  We’ve been dealing with rain, rain, and more rain!  It seems to have stopped now, but we’ve had two straight days here in our area, and it’s been relentless!  We have had flooding all over the place here, even in places that don’t normally get flooded.  As I’ve said a few times today in commenting … we have a pond in our backyard, minus the fish!  I would have preferred snow, but our grass does look greener!  Green … a nice spring color, especially after the brownish/gray hues that we’ve been looking at for so long … I sort of feel like Dorothy when she woke up in the Land of Oz, or was it called ‘Munchkin Land’!  I haven’t seen that movie in awhile … a very long while!  It was one of my favorites as a very young girl.  I always wanted to ’represent the Lollipop Guild’!!  :o )


    lollipop_guild
    Don’t ya just love these guys?!

    Moving on to a little more serious subject … we have a problem here with our next door neighbors, and maybe you could give me advice, or make some suggestions!  They moved in about 7 months ago, and we don’t know whether they bought the house, or are renting it.  Now keep in mind, this is a nice area, with a couple of sweet little family yard dogs sprinkled about … well, our new neighbors have recently acquired two very large dogs … brand name – ’Pit Bulls’!!  They leave them out in their backyard, each tied to a large old tree, yards away from each other, and they even left them in the pouring rain, continuously barking all day long!  I can’t figure out how they even have any vocal cords left at this point!  I don’t think they like each other very well, either … here’s why … when we came home from the antique show Sunday night, it was dark, and fairly late, we could barely see 3 people standing in their backyard, and these two dogs sounded like they were eating each other alive!  It really frightened me!  The fences in the yards around here are not very high, and, if they got loose, they could jump them without any trouble!  Well, that was the only night I’ve heard that ‘fighting’ going on, and I pray it will be the last! 

    The people directly behind them have an adorable Sheltie named George, who looks absolutely petrified … he doesn’t run around in his yard like he normally does … just sits up next to his doghouse, or their garage!  Also, since they’ve been in the yard next door, I have seen nary a bird, or squirrel, at our feeder, or even in our yard this week!!  My cat has also been stressed, and doesn’t like sitting in the window as often now!  They certainly do not fit in this neighborhood, and someone is bound to complain! I’ve really had to pray hard regarding my attitude about this! I am thankful that they take them in at night, so the barking doesn’t keep us awake! We are praying … really praying, NOW, for a house, so we can move!  We are not too happy about this, but we don’t want to make enemies out of our neighbors either, especially since they own those ‘lethal weapons’!  We’re hoping George’s owners will call someone to complain so we won’t have to!  I don’t think they’re the kind of people who would put up with that for very long … they have young boys at home, who also play out in their backyard.  There are some other things that have happened that we are concerned about, so, if you were in our position, what would you do, short of moving?  I’m not being a very nice neighbor, am I?!  My husband did go and talk to them, once, about the welding he does that is really pulling on our electricity, and he didn’t seem too concerned, but they didn’t have the dogs then, either.  I’m just thankful I don’t have any little ones that would play out in the yard … they wouldn’t be able to as long as those dogs are next door!!  I hope you don’t think I’m complaining too much … we just need to get some advice on how to deal with this situation!  

    Well, all of that aside, I hope you’re all having a blessed week!  My earache is gone now, and I so appreciated your prayers!  I’m hoping to get to the antique mall to restock soap today, or tomorrow.  I want to make some changes down there in the booth, and that might keep me busy both days. 

    camera blue flashAnd finally, for you shutterbugs out there, go check out the photo contest and be sure to vote for your favorite set of ‘steps’ over @ iliveinmycamera … and also there are some pretty cute ‘faces’ to comment on over @ BetsaflyGallery!  Have a beautiful First Day of Spring!  So how are you going to spend yours?

    Receive every day as a resurrection from death, as a new enjoyment of life; meet every rising sun with such sentiments of God’s goodness, as if you had seen it, and all things, new-created upon your account: and under the sense of so great a blessing, let your joyful heart praise and magnify so good and glorious a Creator.  ~William Law

    Blessings,
    ~ Deborah <><

    Bar Light Pink Roses

  • Worshipful Wednesday ~

     

    worshiping



    El-Elyon:  The Most High God
    ~ Gail Rodgers

    “…The God who gives life to the dead and calls things that are not as though they were”  {Romans 4:17}.

    The mountains melt like wax before Him;
    The heavens declare His glory;
    Angels do His bidding.  {Ps. 97:5; Ps. 19:1; Ps. 103:20}

    My Father in Heaven,

    This is an awesome name of Yours, El-Elyon, the Most High God.  You are the God who reigns. 
    You are the God who gives life to the dead and calls things that are not as though they were!

    Angels do your bidding; mountains melt like wax before You.
    You are the King over all things in my life today.  Nothing is too hard for You.

    Wow!  What a thought!  Today I pray that You will call into being the things in our lives that You want to put there.
    Where there is weariness, call strength into being … where there is discouragement call hope into being.
    Where there is a drying up, call life into being.

    You know me better than I know myself, Lord.
    Call into being what You know I need today.

    Thank you that You send Your angels to do Your bidding and that Your word promises they camp around those who fear You.
    Let me see the campfires today as Your angels are sent to camp around me.

    May I feel Your presence and holiness in a profound way today.
    May I draw strength and confidence from the promise of Your word that You will “call things that are not as though they were”.
    Thank you Lord.

    I pray this in the name of Jesus, amen!


    ElElyon

    ‘El Elyon’
    ~ Hebrew for ‘God Most High’ ~

    You sit enthroned above the circle of the earth
    Spreading out the heavens like a veil
    You hold the universe so firmly in Your hand
    Reaching out in love to all the world

    El Elyon Most High God
    Holy is Your name
    El Elyon Most High God
    Holy is Your name

    No one can know the secrets hidden in Your heart
    Mysteries beyond the reach of man
    No one else commands the sun to rise and then to fall
    All creation heeds the great I AM

    Elohim El Shaddai
    Yeshua Adonai
    Let the glory of Your name be magnified
    Lord Most High

    Song by Paul Wilbur
    CD ‘The Watchman’

    Thinking today about how big God is and how small, weak and flawed I am.
    And how our Creator, for reasons known only to Him, desires to redeem and restore fallen man.
    How can we not worship and bow in thankfulness to El Elyon ~ God Most High!


  • Random Ramblings …

     

    Photo SOAP 3 babies in washtub

     
    Wow, it looks like it’s been almost a week since I last posted!  I was pretty busy last Thursday – Sunday with the show we just did.  I’ve been on here a little, and visiting some, but not as much as I would have liked … I know I’ve missed so much … you do, even if it’s one day that you’re not on!  Anyway, I hope you’ve all had a blessed weekend, and a Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Me … well, I’ve been dealing with an earache for the past 2 days, and some tiredness, so, I’m just taking a day, or two, of rest after a semi-busy weekend at our local antique/craft show.  It wasn’t as busy as we had hoped … things seem to be down everywhere … the gas prices here were close to $4.00 per gallon in some areas … people were looking and ‘sniffing’, but not buying as much.  This is a small sampling of the soap that I sold this weekend … I do advertise ‘Free Sniffs’, so that does get a few more to stop in!  :o )


    Soap 3-16-08 rs


    A highlight of the weekend:  We were able to meet some very sweet people who where set up behind us selling period pieces of glassware.  They are from Missouri … a Christian homeschooling family, and their oldest son was with them, which made me a little sad … it reminded me of how Ian would come with us.  Zachary was a very nice young man, and I know if Ian had been able to meet him, they would have become fast friends … they had a lot in common … they even share the same birthday month, only 2 days apart.  I really liked some of the pieces they sold … especially one particular pitcher that I was just a wee bit tempted to buy … the blue on white is the one they had …

    2 old pitchers

    … but, I refrained from buying it … much too expensive … Dave Ramsey would have been proud … and besides, do I really need more ‘stuff’ at this time in my life?!  Not really!  I already have a couple of nice pitchers now, and I’m content with those!  All in all it was a fun weekend, especially when you have someone like-minded to talk to when times were slow.  I was thankful that the Lord placed us together like that!  We exchanged e-mail addresses, and she may also become part of our Xanga family here … I told her about all of you … so if she does join up, and becomes a ‘Xanga Recruit’,  I’ll have to introduce you to her.  That’s one reason I love doing these shows … meeting all the sweet people! 

    After it all ended, I packed 3 smaller boxes of soap that I need to restock down at the antique mall … I’ll be busy pricing and tagging all of it this week.  We also have a new scent to add to our brochure, which I sorely need to update … (Ian put a different print program on my computer, and it doesn’t read any of my graphics, brochures, business cards, etc., from all that I worked on before … so I’ve been copying an original brochure that I, thankfully, had saved back in order to be able to mail, or pass them out at the shows.  I either need to find out why it’s not reading it … or just start all over and make a brand new one … if I choose the latter, I don’t think I’m going to make it with as many of the graphics that I did the first time!  Even though it takes a lot of time, I enjoyed doing it.  Anyway … back to that new scent of soap …
    Raspberry Lemonade
    … doesn’t that sound yummy?  It is!  I love the label on this one, too … a dear friend of mine does such a wonderful job making both the soap and candles for me …


    SOAP Raspberry Lemonade Soap & Candle RS

    Moving on …
    a few other things were going on while we were at the show this weekend …
    our cat always misses us when we’re gone, but this weekend,
    a new, very cute, tiny visitor came calling … 

     

    New little resident 3


    He also decided to do a bit of Bible studying while we were away …
    he’s always been drawn to the Word of God!
    He just sits attentively, looking right at Lew, 
    and listens when he reads it to me!


    Mooshie and Bible Study 2 rs


    A ‘lone’ cat sure can get hungry …
    looks like he decided to sneak a healthy snack of grapes, and green tea …
    can’t blame the little guy, though … 
    maybe he gets tired of the same old cat food every day …
    I suppose I would, too! 


    Mooshie and the Snack rs


    My husband had a nice surprise after the show this weekend … his favorite magazine came in …
    the pages of it are filled with warm and colorful reminders of our soon coming Spring …
    this really is a great magazine ~ Birds and Blooms … 
    it’s a nice issue this month, and never any ads! 


    Lew's birds & blooms rs


    And I don’t have to tell you what the pages of this other one are filled with! 
    This was one of my cheap purchases from the show this weekend
    {remember, I collect cookbooks,
    and I’d never come across a ‘Twinkie’ cookbook before … 
    … well, I just couldn’t contain myself!} 
    I had no idea that you could make so many things with Twinkies!!!


    me and twinkie

     
    Yes, indeed … there are some very interesting recipes in this little book … ever heard of Twinkie ‘Sushi’, or ’Pigs’ In-A- Twinkie?  How about Twinkie ‘Lasagna’, or a Twinkie ‘Burrito’?  Hmmm!  So what do you think … should we start a ‘Twinkie’ tradition, and declare a Tasty Twinkie Tuesday, today … well, at least until the recipes run out?!  There has to be only so many tasty recipes for Twinkies … right?!  I’ll post the first recipe below, and if you decide to give it a try  sometime this week, let me know how it is … this one does sound yummy though, and I think you would enjoy most of them!  I think this one would be a nice dessert for Easter.  If you have any tremendous tasting Twinkie recipes that you’ve got hidden away, by all means, please share! 

    Twinkie Pudding Cake
    1 box of Twinkies
    3 to 4 bananas
    1 lg. can crushed pineapple
    1 pkg. vanilla pudding
    1 (12 oz.) container of Cool Whip

    Slice Twinkies lengthwise and line bottom of 13 x 9 inch sprayed pan.
    Slice bananas over Twinkies, followed by pineapple with juice.
    Prepare pudding as directed on package and layer over bananas and pineapple.
    Spread Cool Whip on top. Refrigerate …. and enjoy!

    Well, that is just some random ’ramblings’, and fun things happening from my part of the world this past weekend!  So what did you do to fill the time on yours?  I’ll be answering your messages, and then I’ll be around to catch up with you all very soon. 

    **There are a couple of notes on ‘photos’ for the week …
    Smilie Camera over at
    BetsaflyGallery, you’ll see the second week of some great ‘Faces’ that are posted … and also there’s a new contest up and running over on iliveinmycamera.  Take that ‘step’ and go vote for your favorite ‘set’ now … you have until Thursday! 

    Hope you all have a totally, terrific … {can I say it?} … ’Twinkie’ Tuesday!

    Tiny Tag White Rose Blessings,
             ~ Deborah
    <><

    Pic St

    Yes, this is a day late … it came yesterday in an e-mail from Breaking Christian News.  We found it interesting … so, if you don’t already know this, I’d like to share a bit about ….

    Patrick, the Great Missionary to Ireland
    ~ Aimee Herd {March 17, 2008}

    “…there the Lord opened the sense of my unbelief that I might at last remember my sins and be converted with all my heart to the Lord my God …who comforted me as would a father his son.” –St. Patrick

    Having lived in the New York City area, and now in the Pacific NW, I know that while St. Patrick’s Day is an extremely popular holiday, many don’t know of Patrick’s history, and the fact that what really should be celebrated is the extraordinary way that God used him to evangelize a mostly pagan Ireland.

    An article in WorldNetDaily follows Patrick’s life from the time he was born in Britain between A.D. 387 and A.D. 415 to his death on March 17th, A.D. 461.

    As a teen, Patrick was captured and served a Druid master in Ireland. He wrote in his Confession, “…after I came to Ireland, every day I had to tend sheep. The love of God and His fear came to me more and more. …In a single day, I would say as many as a hundred prayers, and almost as many in the night, and this even when I was staying in the woods and on the mountains; and I used to get up for prayer before daylight, through snow, through frost, through rain.”

    Eventually Patrick escaped, but later in life, he wrote of a dream he had that called him back to Ireland with the Gospel.

    “In the depth of the night, I saw a man named Victoricus coming as if from Ireland, with innumerable letters, and he gave me one, and while I was reading I thought I heard the voice of those near the western sea call out: ‘Please, holy boy, come and walk among us again.’ Their cry pierced my very heart, and I could read no more, and so I awoke.”

    The WND report states that “Patrick returned to Ireland, confronted the Druids, converted chieftains and used the three-leaf clover (shamrock) to teach the Trinity.”

    Although he faced life-threatening circumstances, Patrick wrote that “the Lord delivered me. …Daily I expect murder, fraud, or captivity, or whatever it may be; but I fear none of these things because of the promises of Heaven.”

    He reportedly baptized 120,000 and founded 300 churches, and that is certainly reason to celebrate the hand of God working through a British man we know simply as St. Patrick.

    Source:  William Federer — WorldNetDaily

    It is the consciousness of the threefold joy of the Lord, His joy in ransoming us, His joy in dwelling within us as our Saviour and Power for fruitbearing and His joy in possessing us, as His Bride and His delight; it is the consciousness of this joy which is our real strength. Our joy in Him may be a fluctuating thing: His joy in us knows no change.
    ~ James Hudson Taylor


    bbdaffodline3

  •   

    window peace rc


    The Secret Place
    ~ Gail Rodgers

    It was a beautiful spot.  Nestled along the edge of the river it was a little haven of quiet from her busy days.  She would wander down after supper and sit in the shadow of the trees, listening to the lapping of the water.  Her secret place.  Her spot to sort out the day’s happenings.

    God has a secret place too.  It also is in the ‘shadow’.  A place to sort out the day’s happenings with His perspective and with His wisdom.  It is the secret place of His presence. 

    Psalm 91:1 says … 
    “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.”

    God’s secret place is not hard to find.  His promise is for rest there right under the shadow of God Himself.  It is a place to cry your heart out, or sing your praises out; a place to ask the things you do not understand, or to pray with weeping for needs He puts on your heart.  It is a safe place.  A place to release your spirit from the tight hold of controlled emotions; a place to let His calm envelope you and His strength fortify you.  It is truly a place of rest.  A place where, once you have found it, you want to return over and over.  It is the well of spiritual refreshment for a thirsty heart.

    How do you get there?  How do you find this place of rest for your soul? 

    Psalm 91:2  … “I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

    You can only arrive at this place of refuge when you have put your trust in God.  Oh, not only trust in His grace to save you, but trust in Him completely and absolutely.  Trust in Him for the details of your life even when the pieces of the puzzle don’t seem to match up.  “My God in whom I trust!”  Personal, confident trust.

    If you doubt God’s goodness toward you and believe He is somehow out to default you or simply doesn’t care about you … you will never find the secret place.  The secret place can only be accessed through trust in a very personal God who shelters you under His wing and is your refuge from the storm.

    When you’re in the midst of the storm and you are hanging on for dear life … run to God with full trust in His loving ability to be your refuge.  Find a quiet corner and get on your knees or go for a walk, sit in the tub … it matters not where you are physically … just find a place to release your spirit and allow God into not only the cares of your world, but into the emotions of it as well.  Sit in His presence, be sheltered, and fortified, and leave with a peace that the world does not understand {John 14:27}.  Leave with a rested soul.

    quiet-time

    Dear Lord, I pray that You help each one of us find the ‘secret place’ of Your presence this day, where we can abide in You and find rest.  Help us to come to You with all the day’s cares, and fully trust in your ability to be our strong high tower, our place of refuge.  Help us to come to your spiritual well for our thirsty hearts, knowing that only You can satisfy!  Thank you, Lord, for it is only in You that we can truly trust!  In Jesus Name I pray ~ Amen 


    Frame Gray scroll


    Hope you all had a great weekend, and are enjoying your week so far. 
    I’ll be around soon to visit … I’ve been busy preparing for a 3 day show we have coming up.
    I’ll also have a bit more to share from this past weekend, as well.
    Enjoy your Wednesday … we will be near 60*, and I think I’m ready for Spring now!
    Still hope to have more snow, but at this point I think I’m going to just have to
    wait for next winter!  We had a cardinal sharing in with the squirrel at the bird feeder yesterday.
    My cat was in his spot, enjoying them as well!

    crd_r[1]

    Have a blessed day, abiding in Him!
    ~ Deborah <><


    Squirrel 3-08 rs     Cardinal 3-11-08

    Mooshie bird watchin 3-08 rs


    Frame Gray scroll

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads