Month: April 2008

  • A-Hint-of-Romance-Print-C12835284



    Catching up …
    A busy weekend for us.  Saturday we went over to help my sister’s family finish moving in … then headed down to Brown County to enjoy the rest of the afternoon.  It was a beautiful Spring day, and, as ‘Baby Bear’ would say, the temperatures were ‘just right!’  We didn’t get there until near closing, but the drive was beautiful, and there were a few stores that stayed open longer.  It’s a quaint little tourist town, about 45 minutes away, where we like to go when we have a free day.  With gas prices the way they are, though, those trips might be fewer and farther between!  So how much is gas in your area … it’s $ 3.65 here right now.

    Sunday we went to church … here’s just a little bit of what the assistant Pastor shared with us from some of my hastily written notes … I left out a lot, for the sake of time, but he threw out a question to get us started …

    How have you ’tasted’ the Lord’s kindness in your life recently? 

    Our tongue has 10,000 tastebuds on it … each taste bud has 50 to 150 receptor cells, and each will judge the 4 different tastes of sweet, sour, salty, and bitter, and here’s a neat tidbit … they also regenerate every day!  His mercies are new every morning!  Now, if our body has that amazing capacity for tasting food, how much more should our ‘spiritual tastebuds’ need to be aware of His kindnesses to us each day of our life.  You know how you look forward to eating your favorite food?  I Peter 2:2 – we
    should desire the Word as we desire the taste for good food.  The Word should be our main course … not an appetizer!  We need to be nourished in the pure milk of the Word, that which we know to be true and unadulterated … no added presevatives, or fillers … the pure Word.  Are we spiritually dehydrated … His Word is the water we need!  If we ourselves aren’t nourished, and filled, how can we nourish others?  

    He is the only One Who can truly satisfy us!

    Psalm 34: 8  ~ 
    “O taste and see that the Lord is good!”  

    I Peter 2: 3  ~ 
    “Like newborn babies you should crave (thirst for, earnestly desire)
    the pure (unadulterated) spiritual milk,
    that by it you may be nurtured and grow unto [completed] salvation,
    since you have [already] tasted the goodness and kindness of the Lord.

    Now, speaking of tasting, and nourishment … after church we went to a great little restaurant, with 7 others, for a wonderful meal that tasted o’ so good!  :o )  No ‘appetizer’ here … just the ‘main course’ of Hawaiian Chicken with rice pilaf, salad, a tall glass of water with lemon, along with free desert of Tiramisu … which is a delicious Italian dessert!  We had a great time of fellowship, and one new friend there, I found out, was a photographer, so we had lots to talk about!  After that we headed back to church for our Dave Ramsey course … this one was about investing in mutual funds, etc. … something we’ve never done, and are just learning all about the wisest way to go … when we’re rich enough that is! Lol!!  You can take any amount of money and invest it, but, I’ve always thought it better to invest in the Kingdom of God … the returns are far greater!!  Now,, if any of you out there are mutual fund investors, {which is really the only way to go, according to DR}, then any thoughts would be welcome.  It was interesting to learn about it, though. 

    After all that ‘information overload’, we headed over to a little ‘homegrown’ plant business to pick a pot of flowers for my sister … I wanted to bless her and brighten her day, {she has come over to ‘sneak’ and plant flowers in my 2 barrels for the past 3 summers} … she loves flowers, and they had some mighty pretty ones … I was tempted to get some for me, but today was for her.  If you all remember her, please say a prayer for
    Pattie, and maybe stop in over at her bloghome … moving has been a little rougher on her this time, and she could use some encouragement.  She hasn’t been on here much lately, but I know it would bless her once she’s back on again soon.  Their new apartment is adorable, and has a lot of character … it has a Tuscany style look to it.  I’m glad they’ll be living closer to us!  Walking distance now!  Yesterday, wasn’t too eventful … Monday’s are usually my ‘lazy’ day after a long weekend.  It’s gradually gotten colder, and is now 37* … just 2 days ago we were in the 70′s!  It’s gradually going to warm back up as the week goes on … we had pea size hail today, too.  Almost looked like snow!  Wouldn’t that be nice!  Well, for me, anyway!  Hope you all have a blessed Tuesday.  I’m going to be around to visit you soon, and catch up … now, I’m going to throw it out at you, so if you’d like to share ….

    How have you ’tasted’ the Lord’s kindness in your life recently? 

    Animated 2 lovebirds Hugs,
                  ~ Deborah <><
     

    bbdaffodline3

       Only He Satisfies

    My people shall be satisfied with My goodness,
    saith the LORD.  
    Jeremiah 31:14b

    With lovingkindness to His own,
      With mercies full and free,
    The blessed Saviour satisfies,
      He satisfieth me.

    He satisfies the longing soul,
      His hungry sheep are fed,
    To pastures green He leadeth them,
      By waters still they’re led.

    With marrow and with fatness, and
      With honey from the Rock,
    The Shepherd ever satisfies,
      And careth for His flock.

    My people shall be satisfied,
      Tis God who speaks the Word,
    My goodness and My mercies will
      Be with them, saith the Lord.

    For riches cannot satisfy,
      Nor gold nor silver can,
    ‘Tis only Jesus satisfies,
      And fills the heart of man.

    He satisfies continually,
      Each moment of the day,
    His love can fill your longing soul,
      And care for you alway.

    Oh yes! My Saviour satisfies,
      As nothing else can do;
    The Chiefest of ten thousand, He
      Can satisfy you too.

    The altogether lovely One,
      O won’t you taste and see?
    For Jesus ever satisfies,
      He satisfieth me.

       ~ Author unknown ~

    O taste and see that the LORD is good:
    blessed is the man that trusteth in Him.  
    Psalm 34:8



  • BRUSH

    ~ THE BRUSH ~

    Beth was sitting at an airport terminal waiting to board a plane.  She was sitting there with several other people whom she did not know who were also waiting.
     
    As she waited, she pulled out her Bible and started to read.  All of a sudden, she felt as if the people sitting there around her were looking at her.  She looked up but realized that they were looking just over her head, in the direction right behind her.
     
    She turned to see what everyone was looking at and when she did, she saw a flight attendant pushing a wheelchair with the ugliest old man sitting in it.  It was the ugliest man she ever saw.  He had this long white hair that was all tangled and such a mess.

    His face was really wrinkled, and he didn’t look friendly at all.  She didn’t know why, but she felt drawn to the man and thought at first that God wanted her to witness to him.  In her mind she said she was thinking, “Oh God, please not now, not here.”
     
    No matter what she did, she couldn’t get the man off her mind, and all of a sudden she knew what God wanted her to do. She was supposed to brush this man’s hair.

    She went and knelt down in front of the old man and said, “Sir may I have the honor of brushing your hair for you?”  He said, “What?”  She thought , “Oh great, he’s hard of hearing.”
     
    Again, a little louder she said, “Sir, May I have the honor of brushing your hair for you?”  He answered, “If you are going to talk to me, you are going to have to speak up; I am practically deaf.”
     
    So this time, she was almost yelling, “Sir, May I please have the honor of brushing your hair for you?”  By now, everyone was watching to see what his response would be.
     
    The old man just looked at her confused and said, “Well, I guess if you really want too.”  She said, “I don’t even have a brush, but I thought I would ask anyway.”  He said, “Look in the bag hanging on the back of my chair, there is a brush in there.”
     
    So she got the brush out and started brushing his hair. (She has a little girl with long hair, so she has lots of practice getting tangles out and knew how to be gentle with him.)  She worked for a long time, until every last tangle was out.
     
    Just as she was finishing up, she heard the old man crying.  She went and put her hands on his knees, kneeling in front of him again looking directly into his eyes and said, “Sir, do you know Jesus?” He answered, “Yes, of course I know Jesus. You see, my bride told me she couldn’t marry me unless I knew Jesus, so I learned all about Jesus, and asked Him to come into my heart many years ago, before I married my bride.”

    He continued, “You know, I am on my way home to go and see my wife.  I have been in the hospital for a long time and had to have a special surgery in this town far from my home.  My wife couldn’t come with me because she is so frail herself.
     
    He said, “I was so worried about how terrible my hair looked, and I didn’t want her to see me looking so awful, but I couldn’t brush my hair all by myself.”
     
    Tears were rolling down his cheeks as he thanked Beth for brushing his hair.  He thanked her over and over again.  She was crying, people all around witnessing this were crying, and as they were all boarding the plane, the flight attendant who was also crying, stopped her and asked, “Why did you do that?”
     
    And right there was the opportunity, the door that had been opened to share with someone else the love of God.

    “We don’t always understand God’s ways, but be ready, He may use us to meet the need of someone else like He met the need of this old man, and in a moment, also calling out to a lost soul who needed to know His love.”
     
    ~  Author Unknown ~ but I believe it is from Beth Moore


    WALKING IN YOUR LIGHT

    Lord, keep me walking in Your light,
    following Your truth, obeying Your Word,
    not worrying about what I do or what I am
    or where I’m going, but desiring only
    Your perfect will for my life.

    Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God;
    let Your good Spirit lead me into a level country
    and into the land of uprightness.
    ~ Psalm 143:10 Amplified


     

  • Furry Friends



     


    Yes … I know, this is just too adorable for words, but …
    what do you think they’re saying to one another?
    Go on … be creative,
    give it your best shot, and have some fun with it!
    Hope you all have a blessed weekend!

     Animated Sun little Hugs,
    ~ Deborah
    <><
     
      Bar scroll peach

    I BELONG TO YOU

    Bless me Lord,
    with the peace that comes from knowing
    I don’t have to struggle to reach You,
    I don’t have to succeed to please You,
    I don’t have to do anything
    but belong to You and accept
    the love and peace You come to bring.

    It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.
    Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves
    be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.
    ~ Galatians 5: 1 ~

    cardinal_look_sm_clr  

  •  
    godsway

    A STRAYING LAMB

    The Shepherd loved His little lamb,
    And gave it His tender care…
    And followed it with His loving eyes
    As it wandered here and there.

    And as He sat by His grazing flock
    Who so meekly His voice obeyed,
    He pondered sadly His little lamb
    As again and again it strayed.

    The little lamb had a loving heart,
    And adored His Shepherd, true,
    But would turn aside and seek his own way
    As lambs will so often do.

    With His gentle voice the Shepherd called,
    To His loved and straying lamb,
    “Come back, little one, for you are not safe
    Unless you are where I am.”

    But still the lamb would soon forget
    And unthinkingly wander away,
    And not really noticing what he did,
    From the Shepherd’s side would stray.

    Until one day, the Shepherd kind
    Took His rod in His gentle hand,
    And what He then did seemed so cruel
    That the lamb could not understand.

    For with one sharp and well-aimed blow
    Down the rod so swiftly came
    That it broke the leg of the little lamb
    And left it crippled, and lame.

    Then the little lamb, with a cry of pain,
    Fell down upon his knees…
    And looked up at his Shepherd, as though to say,
    “Won’t you explain this, please?”

    Then he saw the love in the Shepherd’s eyes
    As the tears ran down His face,
    As He tenderly set the broken bone,
    And bound it back in it’s place.

    Now he was utterly helpless,
    He could not even stand!
    He must trust himself completely
    To his Shepherd’s loving hand.

    Then day by day, ’till the lamb was healed
    From the flock he was kept apart…
    And carried about in the Shepherd’s arms,
    And cradled near to His heart.

    And the Shepherd would whisper gentle words
    Into his now listening ear…
    Thus he heard sweet words of love
    That the other sheep could not hear.

    He felt the warmth of the Shepherd’s arms
    And the beat of His faithful heart…
    Until it came a blessing to seem,
    By his weakness to be set apart.

    Every need of the little lamb
    By his Shepherd so fully was met
    That through his brokenness he learned
    What he never again would forget.

    And as the broken bone was healed,
    And once more became whole and strong…
    Wherever the Shepherd’s path would lead,
    The lamb would follow along.

    Thus at the Shepherd’s side he walked
    So closely, day by day,
    For once a lamb has a broken leg
    It will never again go astray.

    For the cords of love had bound it so
    In its hour of weakness and need…
    That it had no desire to wander away,
    When once again it was freed.

    Could it be you are broken today,
    And you cannot understand
    The painful blow of the Shepherd’s rod
    Nor believe it came from His hand?

    He only seeks, by this painful thing,
    For a time to call you apart…
    To cradle you close in His loving arms,
    And draw you near to His heart.

    So look up into your Shepherd’s eyes,
    And earnestly seek His face…
    And prove in the hour of your weakness and need
    The sufficiency of His grace.

    For as you are borne in His loving arms,
    And carried there, day by day…
    He will bind you so close with the cords of His love
    That never again will you stray!

    ~ author unknown ~

    jesus_shepherd



    THE LORD, MY SHEPHERD
    ~ Gail Rodgers

    “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want. 
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
    He leads me beside quiet waters. 
    He restores my soul.”
    {Psalm 23: 1 – 3a}

    This disappointment was a hard one to bear.  Her hopes had been high.  She had always believed that God took an interest in the details of her life.  She even thought that He had orchestrated these particular details … yet today she felt her faith falter.  In this disappointment she wondered where God was.

    I was disappointed too.  “Father, how should I pray?  
    Give me Your perspective” … I prayed as my heart hurt for her.

    That still, small voice of His Spirit impressed my mind with the thought that I should pray these words of Scripture over her circumstances and expect God to work.  The familiar words of Psalm 23: 1 took on fresh meaning …

    “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.”
    Father, Thank you that You are the Good Shepherd and You see every tear. Carry my friend now, as a tender shepherd carries a wounded lamb. Comfort her in this time of questioning.  Draw her to come and find her needs met in You.

    “He makes me lie down in green pastures,”
    Father, provide restful places where her soul will be fed. Help her to sleep well at night. Nudge her to reach for Your word and speak to her heart by the power of Your Holy Spirit.

    “He leads me beside quiet waters”
    Calm and quiet her spirit, Lord. Bring her to a fresh belief that You do have her best interest at heart. Free her from any confusing thoughts of self – condemnation. Let her spirit drink deeply from Your living water.

    “He restores my soul.”
    Father God, Thank You that You alone are the One who can restore the broken and hurting places within a wounded soul. Help her run to You in her pain and not from You. Restore hope and peace within her. Pour out Your refreshing on her soul so that she may catch her breath and be strengthened to carry on.

    Thank you that You are called My Shepherd, the Shepherd of my soul, fully trustworthy, fully able to restore.  
    We praise the name of the Lord our God!


    Bar Purple cream rose divider

    Please cast your vote over at
    iliveinmycamera on the ‘Game Boards’!
    Also … for you birdlovers, stop over at 
    BetsaflyGallery!


  • VINTAGE

     
    Hope you’ve all had a blessed weekend … ours was busy, and I’ve really missed getting around to all of you.  To start on Thursday …  a highlight here … Ian called … he was shopping … needed mom’s help on a shirt he was buying!  He was needing clothes to wear, for filming a wedding on Saturday … all black with a silver tie.  It was fun to ‘go shopping with him’ again, even if it was by phone! 

    Friday … woke up to news of an earthquake in our area … didn’t feel a thing here … I was sleeping, and hubby just didn’t feel it … we heard that it gave some a pretty good jolt!  We went to our annual homeschool convention for the day … it’s a tradition now, you know!  We consider it a ‘downtown day date’.  We mainly go to encourage the ones that are just beginning, and to visit with friends we’ve made over the years … we also have friends who set up as vendors.  We’re considering doing that next year.  We always find a good book, or two, to read, as well.  Ian was here last year, and worked with the children’s conferences, it’s a program that they offer the children while their parents are at the convention … they do lots of fun activities … drama, crafts, etc., and the children always come away with a Biblical life lesson learned … we went in there this year, and visited Ian’s friends … he is missed!   We stayed until after closing, just talking to people … then walked around downtown to see the sites a little bit.  (Country roads take me home!)  Had a nice dinner on the way back home.  All in all, Friday was a good day.

    Saturday … went to my sister-in-laws for dinner with family … we also celebrated two birthdays … my father-in-law, O.P’s, and my sister-in-law, Jeannie’s.  Had our first cookout of the season, yum!  It was cloudy, and cool, and the walk we took, sure did us good!  Lots of pretty tulip trees in the area.  We also walked down to that house, some of you may remember, we were going to rent a couple of months ago … it’s still empty, and it’s been on my husband’s mind and heart lately … well, we are starting to do some Ebay business, and we have a friend who is selling some things for us now, who will soon help us set one up of our own.  It would easily make the extra funds+ needed to live in that house, from what they are telling us.  We’ll wait a month and see how those sales go, praying and leaving it in God’s hands, then we’ll see what He would have us do about that house.  His timing is always perfect!  Your prayers would be so appreciated!  We really do want to move!  Also, my brother-in-law, Roy, is headed back to Utah tomorrow morning … my hubby is taking him to the airport … Mom Betty and Pop have enjoyed having him here, and don’t want him to leave. 

    My in-laws cannot drive their car right now, so we are going to be ‘car-sitting’ for awhile.  We’ll be insuring it, until Mom Betty feels she can drive again … if, and when, that happens, it’ll go back to them.  We hope that it does!  They enjoy the freedom to come and go, as they want.  No one else in the family needs a car right now, so my dh volunteered us!  They told us we could drive it anytime, which is a blessing because Lew’s van has high mileage on it, and he’ll be able to use it for personal use, also, our car has lots of miles as well, and also needs some repairs.  Afterwards, we drove around in the country for a little while before heading home to study for our Dave Ramsey class after church on Sunday.  

    Sunday … a blessed time in church … then a quick bite out, and back to church for our class … took a trip to the antique mall to check on things, then finally home for a quiet evening before the work week began again.  

    Prayers Needed: *When I did get home, though, I had some very sad, and tragic, family news … my brother called and shared with us that my step-nephew committed suicide this past Thursday.  It is a sad, and very unfortunate story … I had not seen him for quite a few years, and do think of him from time to time.  We were all close when I was in my teens.  My brother is so saddened … the funeral is tomorrow evening, and we’ll be seeing some family members that we haven’t seen in a while … please pray that we have the right words of hope and comfort to share with these hurting hearts. 

    * Just before going to bed, we had another earthquake, Sunday night … I did feel that one … it was a low rumble, and minor here, thank goodness!  Hope it stays that way if these aftershocks continue!   

    Today {Monday} … hubby off to work … spent some of the day with his brother.  Me … laundry and clutter-control … I’m now thinking of Lew’s sister, Jeannie, and her husband, enjoying the tropical breezes of Hawaii today!  They flew out yesterday morning to stay with their daugher, and her husband who is stationed there.  They’re hoping to send me pictures that I’ll share.  They do need a vacation, especially Jeannie … she’s been working so hard getting things arranged for Mom Betty & O.P., and she’s done such a wonderful job, too!  If you would also, please, say a prayer for them, for a safe, and restful vacation.  

    It started out very foggy this morning … in the low 70′s … finally the sun was shining.  Hope the weather is nice where you are.  Well that’s my weekend in review … how was yours?  I’ll be starting my ’rounds’ on here soon, and catching up with you all this week.  Tomorrow will be busy though, and I’ll check in tomorrow night when we get home from the funeral … again, thank you for your prayers!

    Just a quick reminder about some photo news for the week … another contest just started today over at
    iliveinmycamera … please, do stop in and vote for your favorite ‘Game Board’ photo.  Also BetsaflyGallery has gone to the ‘Birds’, literally!   Drop in over there for some great photos of our ‘fine feathered friends’!  I pray you all have a very blessed Tuesday!

     Hugs,
                   ~ Deborah <><


    * In place of our exhaustion and spiritual fatigue, God will give us rest.  All He asks is that we come to Him … that we spend a while thinking about Him, meditating on Him, talking to Him, listening in silence, occupying ourselves with Him–totally and thoroughly lost in the hiding place of His presence.   ~ Charles (Chuck) Swindoll

    … and, I say Amen to that!!


  • Theres-Always-Tomorrow-Print-C10011535


    Simply …Hope

    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD,
    “plans to prosper you and not to harm you,
    plans to give you hope and a future.”
    ~ Jeremiah 29:11 ~


    “I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened
    in order that you may know the hope to which He has called you,
    the riches of His glorious inheritance in the saints,
    and His incomparably great power for us who believe.”
    ~ Ephesians 1:18-19 ~

    He who breathes into our hearts the heavenly hope,
    will not deceive or fail us when we press forward to its realization.
    ~ Anonymous ~ 


    Bar Small Vine


    I trust you’re all having a wonderful weekend … 
    {*did anyone feel the earthquake?}
    Lots of other things happening here,
    and I’ll be back tomorrow night, or Monday to post an update.
    I’ve really missed visiting with you,
    and I’ll be back very soon to catch up!
    I pray that on this Lord’s Day, you are all abundantly blessed!

    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

  •   
    A New Song x3

     

    A New Song!
    ~ Nancy O’Bosky

    Sing to the Lord a New Song!
    ~ Is. 42:10 and Ps. 33:3

    Wow … a new song! 

    Consider that thought for just a moment.

    How often does God hear from us the same woes, the same shame of the past, the same fear of the future?
    In the dawning of this new day, I pray you will come to the Lord with a new song and trust Him in places
    in your heart that you have never brought to Him.  What could your new song be to the Lord?

    crd_r[1] To trust Him when you are weak and can go no farther in your own strength?

    crd_r[1] To relinquish control of situations that you cannot change?

    crd_r[1] To give Him the reins and complete control in circumstances that come against you?

    crd_r[1] To honor Him with praise and worship instead of whining woes or living in the past? 
                    
    I pray that you will choose to live for Him in the present, in quietness and trust revering
                     Him and bring Him a new song in your life!



    Dear Lord, we come to you with a new song!  You are worthy of our praise! 
    Lord, we bring grateful hearts to You, fresh with the flavor of the grace You offered us on the cross
    to make a way for us to have relationship with You and to be free of the sin that binds our hearts …
    basking in the forgiveness of Jesus …
    Glory and praise be to You,
    Abba of all mercy,
    faithful and true, lover of our souls,
    unchanging and Mighty God. 
    Thank You for putting a new song in our hearts!
    This world is not our home, nor can it steer our course, but life is in You and in Your Word for us … 
    We sing to You, Lord, a new song!  May we sing it mightily and loudly in our lives!
    A song of joy, of trust, of drinking in Your grace and truth! 
    Help us to make music with our life in You so others may hear Your melody of love for them.
    ~ Amen ~


      bbdaffodline3bbdaffodline3  

     
    Praise Report:  My father-in-law was released from the hospital Tuesday morning, and is now back home with Mom Betty!   She is very happy about that … so are we!  Thank you all for your prayers for them both!  Also, my brother-in-law arrived here from Utah … and, his little brother, aka: my husband, went to pick him up Tuesday afternoon.  They went to see Mom and Dad, then from there to have dinner together.  The doctor highly recommended, actually ordered, that Dad use a walker, so he reluctantly took it with him.  Well, as they were going to dinner, he conveniently left it in their apartment, hoping no one would notice … but, Mom Betty did!  She made one of the ‘boys’ go back and get it for him … but not before she said, “he is a stubborn man, your father … he says he thinks he’s too young to use a walker … my goodness, the man is 86!”  They just smiled, got the walker for Dad, and went onto dinner … he really does need to use it as a precaution … he’s still weak, and they’ve since found out that he had been falling.  Tuesday night had also been the time for my husband’s jail ministry, but, he called, and they found someone to fill in for him … it’s not everyday that he gets to see his big brother, and all get together like they did, and they did have a great time.  It made Mom and Dad happy to have their sons with them there. 

    On a Personal Note:  A busy, and blessed Wednesday … Yesterday, we took a ride down to the chiropractor.  I go when I need to, and after the show this past weekend, I needed to!  Last week I had gone, and when he was checking my back, he found a ‘lump’ on my lower spine, so he wanted to ‘keep an eye on it’, and see me back this week.  I was a little concerned … a lump on my spine?!!  He thought it was probably fluid, and that’s why he wanted to see me so soon again.  Well, at my appointment yesterday, he said he didn’t think it was anything to be concerned with … the ‘lump’ is still there, hasn’t grown, or moved, doesn’t hurt, just feels bothersome, with a sensation like there’s something in there.  We have another chiropractor that I’m considering going to … he uses a different adjusting technique … (my husband likes his technique better) … and we also want a second opinion!  Your prayers are so appreciated! 

    After the appointment, we went to the antique mall to re-stock … found out our dear friend is leaving after 8 years of faithful service there.  She will be missed, but she’s going to work not far from there, at a Day Spa, for the same amount of money, and less hours.  She is very happy, and we are happy for her.  Hmmm, maybe I can get a discount at the Day Spa!!  Never been to one, but it sure would be nice to be ‘pampered’ for a day … hey, I’d even take an hour … anyone want to join me?!  She said they serve a meal along with the ‘pampering’!  Speaking of food … we left the antique mall, and went to a great new restaurant that had the best Mexican food I’ve ever tasted, really!  It had a nice atmosphere, great decor, with a fountain in the center of the room.  There’s just something about running water … it was so relaxing.  I’m sure we’ll be going back there again … they also had great coffee!  After dinner, we went to a little country store that was close by, and I found my favorite Yankee candle … Lavender Sage … had to buy that one … they were on clearance, and that particular scent is hard to find.  We headed back toward home, but took a detour through the country to watch the beautiful sunset (photos below) … it was a good day … a grand day … I was blessed!  I hope you all have a truly ‘thankful’ Thursday!

    Tiny Tag flower bird  Hugs,
                    ~ Deborah <><


    Sunsets Flowers Trees 4-08 024 rt rs


    Sunsets Flowers Trees 4-08 057 rt rs sig


    He does not need to transplant us into a different field, but right where we are,
    with just the circumstances that surround us, he makes his sun to shine and his dew to fall upon us,
    and transforms the very things that were before our greatest hindrances
    into the chiefest and most blessed means of our growth.

    No difficulties in your case can baffle him, no dwarfing of your growth in years that are past,
    no apparent dryness of your inward springs of life, no crookedness or deformity in any of your past development,
    can in the least mar the perfect work that he will accomplish,
    if you will only put yourselves absolutely into his hands and let him have his own way with you.

    ~ Hannah Whitall Smith ~

    bbdaffodline3


  • Not Just Popcorn Shop 4-9-08 rs

     
    Popcorn and Soap {?}  Well, it’s past Monday, and it’s been a few days since my last post, so I need to update here … hmmm, how many of us can say that?!  Thank you for all your comments on my last post … the show went very well on Saturday, but Sunday, just as Friday, was a fairly slow day.  It did allow time for us to walk around and talk with the other vendors and make new friends.  We always meet the nicest people.  That was the last show for that particular company until September, so we’ll have some ‘extra’ free time this summer in between our other shows.  It’ll give me time to work at my decluttering projects again … I’ve been slacking in that area lately, and we so need to get it done!  {Say a prayer for me, that I have the energy to think and plan and get it done … you know, the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak!!}  Also, it’ll give me time enough to get my soap inventory back up again … I have lots of the candles left … I don’t sell as many of those as I do the soap. 

    And, we now have a new scent … Sarsparilla - aka: Sassafras, and it really does smell wonderful!  What’s really interesting is we ran onto a little shop, not far from us, that makes, and flavors popcorn, and yes, you guessed it … they have Sassafras popcorn … one word for it … awesome!!  This little ‘mom & pop’ establishment, which started in 1989 with only four flavors, has now been in business for 19 years, and has managed to come up with 246 flavors of popcorn … you name it, they’ve probably got it!  Can you imagine Dill Pickle popcorn?  It’s great!  Really!   Or, how about Jalapeno, Strawberry Cheesecake, or Apple Cobbler popcorn … to which they’ve since added their vanilla flavor coating, and call that one Apple Pie a la mode!  Or, how about Chocolate Mocha Cappuccino, Chocolate Mint, Coffee, Coconut, Spearmint, or Cola popcorn!  We tried a sample of a new flavor called White Chocolate Raspberry, and that one is yummy.  Also, one called Wasabi, which was spicy, to hot, and not a favorite of mine.  Of course, we couldn’t sample them all, but we were invited back for a tour of the ‘kitchen’, and their popcorn popping process, which they are more than happy to give.  We’ll be going soon, and I’ll get pictures to share with you … it’s too bad I couldn’t send you all a sample of their popcorn, but I can share the web site with you.  Just click
    ‘Not Just Popcorn’, and you’ll see a little bit of history, and a couple of photos.  Not all flavors are listed, because they are so busy cranking out new ones, they just can’t keep up with that and the web site!  Two types of popcorn that they use, are grown here in Indiana right down the road from them … 200 acres of popcorn each year, to be exact!  This tiny little shop was featured on the Food Network back in 2001, and now ship all over the world.  Can you imagine, up to 500 pounds of popcorn per day … now popcorn doesn’t weigh that much … so I conclude that it is a lot of popcorn that those people pop!  Eveything is done by hand in small batches, just like the soap I sell, and I’m tempted to wholesale the Sassafras and sell it with the Sarsparilla Soap, and candle, in a gift basket.  Or, maybe the Apple Cobbler flavor with our Apple Jack soap and candle … the Lemon flavor with our Have A Nice Day soap, and candle … or, even the Black Raspberry flavor with our Black Raspberry Vanilla soap, and candle … and then there’s the Strawberry flavor with our Strawberry soap, and candle … or the Vanilla flavor with the Madagascar Vanilla soap and candle … and I could go on and do that with the list of the flavors they have, for almost every scent of soap/candle that we have, except maybe the Oooo Baby Soap … that smells like baby powder!  Nope, definitely not good for popcorn!  So what do you think??  Popcorn and soap … hmmm … yes, indeed, an interesting combination!

    Sarsparilla Soap and Candle 2 rt rs

    Family News:  My brother in law, Roy, should be in today from Utah.  My father-in-law is still in the hospital, and hopefully we’ll hear something today as to when he’ll be able to go home!  I so appreciate your prayers!  We’ll be spending some time with Dad and Roy, then on Saturday we’re having a family dinner, before my sister-in-law, and her husband, fly out to Hawaii to spend time with their daughter, and her husband.  He is in the Navy, and is stationed there.  They say it’s beautiful this time of year, well, probably any time of year … I’ve never been.  Both Steve and Jeannie are very excited!  They’ve never been there either, and will be gone for two and a half weeks, and they said we could use their house for a mini ‘get-away’ anytime while they’re gone!  We may just take them up on that.  It’s very close to the one we were going to move into … which may still happen … the owner still wants us in there, but sometimes the Lord just delays things in our lives … where many times we tend to rush His hand, but our Father knows best, and His timing is always perfect … He is never late!!  Anyway, it will be a nice change to spend some time at their home, out in the country, for a night or two.  Roy will be staying there for the first week after they leave, so we’ll stay sometime during the rest of the time they’re gone. 

    Weather and Farmer’s Markets:  I’m sure our weather isn’t anything like it is in Hawaii right now!  As I’ve said a few times in commenting, Spring hasn’t quite taken hold here yet … but it’s trying!  We’ve had cool temperatures the last 3 days, and tonight we have frost/freeze warnings out!  I’m glad I didn’t fill my planters yet!  I have four of them … I use 2 for herbs, and 2 for flowers, and as I’ve said earlier, we are’t planting a garden this year.  We get our herbs and flowers from the local farmer’s markets and it may be a little while before they get going for the season.  I really enjoy farmer’s markets … we have one up north that have such a variety to choose from, such as country eggs, honey and syrup, farm raised meats, and fish, all kinds of homemade foods such as baked goods, cheese, teas, cut flowers, herb flavored oils, dried and fresh herbs, and of course, fresh fruits and vegetables that the season delivers … and there’s even handcrafted soap (not the one I sell though, but we may try to get in this particular farmer’s market for the summer).  It doesn’t begin until the last Saturday of May, and runs every Saturday through the month of September this year.  There’s a much smaller one in our area, but it’s worth the drive north to experience that one!  Do any of you venture to your local farmer’s market?  If not, give it a go this year … you won’t regret it!

    On a sad note … I did some research on the ingredients in ’Twinkies’, and realizing just how unhealthy they are, I may be forgoing those recipes for now.  I don’t want to be the cause of someone’s hardened arteries!  If I do get any requests for them, I’d be glad to share them with you in a message.  So, no more ‘Twinkie Tuesdays’.  Hope your hearts aren’t too terribly broken up over this!  ;O)   

    Well, today I’ll be working on that laundry, and then my soap order, and I have to catalog coins for my husband’s new Ebay account.  We have a friend who is helping us with that.  I’m clueless as to how to start one!  I hope you all have a terrific and blessed Tuesday … minus the Twinkies! 

    Animated Sun little Hugs,
               ~ Deborah <><   


    One more thing … I saved the best for last!  I did hear from my dear sweet son this past Saturday night.  He sounded good, and was taking some time off of work, relaxing on the beach in Monterey Bay … just as the sun was setting.  I was so blessed that he called to share the moment with me.  I could picture it as he was describing it to me … I’d like to share it with you … another one of God’s beautiful masterpieces … a Pacific sunset … as seen through the eyes of my son

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 3 rt

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 6 rt

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 5

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-08 1 rt

    Monterey Bay Beach 4-12-07 4 rc



    Heaven is not here, it’s There
    If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next.
    God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom,
    where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for. 

    ~ Elisabeth Elliot ~
    ‘Keep a Quiet Heart’
     


     

  • A Burst of Spring! photo entry 3-30-08 sig rs



    I’m just stopping in here real quick to say hi … I hope you’re all having a great weekend.  Ours started today (Friday) … we are at a three day show … and it was one long, slow day.  We were honestly glad to call it a day, get home, kick off our shoes, and put up our feet!   We are hoping that it’ll be busier the rest of the weekend.  We’ve had a beautiful day here, with temps in the 70′s, so I can’t blame anyone for wanting to be inside for any length of time!  Now, tomorrow it’s going to be a different story … with temps in the 40′s, and a possibility of showers, then on Sunday, maybe even some snow flurries!  This time of year, you just never know!

    I would again, appreciate your prayers for my father-in-law, O.P..  They dealt with the pancreatitis well enough, but he is still in the hospital having physical therapy.  They have found out that he has been falling, so that is, very much, a concern.  We are hoping they will release him early this next week.  My brother-in-law is flying in from Utah at that time, too, and I know that will cheer him up.  It’ll cheer my hubby up as well, they are very close, and unfortunately they just live too far away from each other!  They’ll be spending alot of time together with Dad!  It’ll be good for them all.

    Well, that’s about all for now … I’m missing being able to check in on everyone.  Maybe one day I’ll get a laptop and use it during the slow times at the shows!  Anyone out there have one that you take with you to use?  I sure could have used one today!  I’ll try to visit some during the evenings the rest of the weekend.  I hope the sun is shining, and the birds are singing where you are, and that your weekend is truly blessed! 

    Animated Sun little Hugs,
              ~ Deborah  <><


    SCRIPTURE Commit thy works


    ~ Song of God’s Love ~

    His song a gift of wonder

    In nature’s sound we share
    The glory of a symphony
    To give our heart repair

      In awe and inspiration
    As breezes softly flow
    We hear the gentle music
    Of nature’s finest show
     
    He sings a song of God’s love
    With harmony and cheer
    Creating such a concert
    For all the world to hear
     
    Such beauty in this magic
    That gives us pause to say
    The chorus now performing
    God’s masterpiece each day.
     
    ~ Francine Pucillo ~

    av_41

  •  

    CMDudash He shall Hear My voice Dark

      

    Entering Into His Presence
    ~by Gail Rodgers


    They all voiced the same thing.  Different women, different ages and different stages in life.  The desire of their hearts echoed from their individual corners, “I want to go deeper with God.”

    We hear it often these days in individuals and in churches.  I began to ask, “What do you mean by the term “going deeper”?”  One wanted to hear God’s voice more clearly and be guided in intercessory prayer.  Another wanted to feel God close in every way and increase her intimacy with her Lord.  Still another wanted more knowledge of the Bible and what God says about Himself and about us.  Another wanted to bring people to a point of brokenness over sin, and see God work to replace apathy with desire.

    Deep longings.  Desperate hearts to know God.  God’s Spirit is clearly moving to draw us to Himself in new ways.  Some, as yet, do not recognize this desire as the drawing of the Spirit.  Their hearts are unsatisfied.  They are looking for more. Yet they look for new career direction, a new church to attend, a new romance or new ways to make money.

    God put this longing in our hearts and He identifies it.  In the midst of the book of Ecclesiastes He reveals the source of our longing.  He says, “God has set eternity in the hearts of men”
    {Ecclesiastes 3:11}.
      God has put a longing in our hearts for the things of eternal value.  The futility and frantic running after things and possessions, titles and relationships eventually exhausts us.  God’s Spirit is there to take us deeper into the things that matter … the things that have value for eternity.

    Answering the call …

    How do we answer this call of eternity in our hearts?  How do we move our own walk with God to a deeper level especially when depth looks different to different people?

    I believe the answer lies in entering into God’s presence.  Yet what does such a lofty sounding act really look like on a Monday morning, or a Wednesday afternoon when the dust of life is gritty on our faces?

    We know that without God’s presence a Bible study is simply a class offering knowledge, but not life.  A prayer time is simply a recital of wants and desires.  Without God’s presence to wash over our souls and bring refreshment, we find the dust of life just settles over our soul.

    God calls us to His presence.  It is there we find the refreshment our soul desires.  It is there we find the depth we need.  It is there we find our longing fulfilled.

    We find the clues to this deeper level of knowing Him sprinkled throughout Scripture.  Let your heart hear the call …
    • “Come before His presence with thanksgiving … ” {Psalm 95:2}
    • “Come before His presence with singing … ” {Psalm 100:2}
    • “Come to the throne of grace with confidence … ” {Hebrews 4:16}

    Feeding your soul …

    “How priceless is Your unfailing love!  Both high and low among men find refuge in the shadow of Your wings. They feast on the abundance of Your house; You give them drink from Your river of delights” {Psalm 36:7,8}.

    God knows the deep parts of our hearts.  He knows we will be hungry and thirsty from the journey and He puts the desire in our hearts for something that will have true and lasting value.

    Then He offers the answer to that longing … He offers us Himself and His presence.  He even tells us the route to go in order to find our way there.  He tells us to feast on His abundance.

    Feasting on His abundance simply means responding to the greatness of God.  It will bring thanksgiving and singing and a boldness to see God act in all His greatness.

    Feasting on His abundance means looking beyond the hardship of the moment to the power and majesty of God.  He meets us with His strength in the middle of the dust storm.

    Feed your soul with the freshness of the knowledge that …

    • He is the wisdom you need.                      1 Corinthians 1:24,25
    • He is faithful always.                             Deuteronomy 7:9
    • He is your strength.                               Isaiah 12:2
    • He is your restorer.                               Psalm 23:3
    • He is your resting place.                         Matthew 11: 28,29
    • He is your refuge from the storm.            2 Samuel 22:2,3
    • He is Almighty!                                      2 Corinthians 6:18


    Ponder these things.  Let the reality of who God is settle over your soul and wash off the dust of discouragement.  Lay the truth of His character over your circumstances.

    As you let your thoughts dwell on the greatness of God, thankfulness will begin to re-surface at the realization of His power and greatness.  Boldness will come again as you remember you are invited to come to Him.  Singing will result, sometimes even as your sacrifice, because your eyes of faith see the hope He brings to your heart.

    Drink from this river and you will find new depth and deep satisfaction that will answer the longing of eternity that is in your heart.  Go deeper with God by entering into His presence.  The longing of your heart will be satisfied there.

    Pic Bible Rose Tea

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads