Day: March 25, 2008

  •       
    RS Plate Give us this day

    Happy Monday! (I had part of this typed, then didn’t get the rest done until late, so I didn’t get a chance to get this on for Monday, so you’ll be reading this on Tuesday … I suppose, now I should say, Happy Tuesday!)  Well, I trust you, and yours, were blessed this ‘Resurrection’ weekend!  I’ve been reading a few of your posts off my subscription pages, and I want to get around here soon to you, and comment!  We are catching up here at home, since we’ve been gone most of the weekend.  Today my husband’s van decided to take a vacation!  The brakes decided to go ‘south’ for the day … so, south it went, to the garage where she is being fixed … we also got word that it won’t be done until Tuesday morning!  Wonder what that will cost us?!  Lew’s been home with me most of the day working on coins, old bills, and supplies to put in at the antique mall.  It started out as a sunny day, but the clouds have covered that otherwise beautiful blue sky.  Impending rain, again!  Hope your day has been bright and sunny where you are!

    I’ll share a little of what we did this weekend … we started out Saturday and went to the antique mall so I could restock my desperately dwindling supply of soap and candles, while my hubby worked on his coins and coin supplies.  I got done in good time, so after stocking the shelves and straightening, I got out my trusty camera and decided to take some photos of ‘this n’ that’ … and believe you me, in an antique mall, there’s a lot of ‘this n’ that’, and I love it!  After we walked around and looked at things for a little while, my dear sweet husband took me out to eat at an Italian restaurant here in town called, Carino’s.  The Italian salad, hot fresh bread with herb oil for dipping, Rosemary Chicken over angel hair pasta with spinach and roma tomatoes, and fresh sauted garlic green beans, all were simply de-lish!  Saturday was a good day. 

    cm_wm_partlysunny1 Resurrection Sunday’ dawned partly cloudy, and cool, but it was a beautiful day.  We had planned on going to church, and then to a friend’s house for dinner, but we got a call late Saturday night that totally changed our schedule for Sunday … now, we were to meet all of the family down at my SIL’s house late Sunday morning, to have an early dinner with Mom Betty and Dad, so, Lew and I had a wonderful and blessed time having our devotions together at home early that morning.  After that, we headed south.  It was good to all be together again.  Our niece is due in June with her first child, a baby girl, and she is glowing, her husband is beside himself … he’s going to be a great dad!  I didn’t get many photos there, but next Saturday, there’s a baby shower at their church for her … I’ll get some then.  Mom and Dad looked like their new home is agreeing with them … they seem to be thriving there, although they sure enjoyed being ‘sprung’ for a few hours to have dinner at their daughter’s house with us all!  We had lasagne, caesar salad, buttery garlic bread, and a choice of two yummy desserts … apple crisp, or brownie sundaes!  I chose the apple crisp with ice cream melting all over that sweet crunchy topping … others, I know, had some of each!!  And Mom did join those sweet little Red Hat ladies … she’s really having fun making, and getting to know, new friends … now we just have to find her a nice red hat … as it is a requirement!  My hubby said that she would probably want to pick it out herself, so we’re hoping to take her soon, unless one of her daughters beats us to it!! 

    After a wonderful time there, we headed back up north, to my
    sister’s ’full’ house for the rest of the day.  My niece had just moved in with her 2 children, and my other niece was there with her 3 little ones, one of which we had yet to meet, Baby Savannah … yes, indeed, it was a full house, but we enjoyed every single minute of it!  Adorable children, and, of course, I snapped a few photos!  All in all, it was a wonderful day, although, I have to say, from a mom’s heart, that it would have been even better if my son had been here to enjoy all of the family fun with us!  Well, that’s about it for me now … hope you all have a wonderful evening … and a terrific Tuesday! 

    Tag heartHugs,
          ~ Deborah <><

    camera tiny black There’s a new photo contest going on for the week … it’s all about ‘clouds’ …cm_wm_hiddensun1
            so, if you love clouds, check out iliveinmycamera, and vote for your favorite!   


    Here are some photos from the weekend … I took so many at the antique mall, that I’ll have to share those at another time.  I did take the one at the top of this post … it was a wooden, hand painted tray.  I came close to buying that tray … but I didn’t … I bought something else, and I’ll show you later … for now, here’s a bit of our weekend … 

    RS Cinnamon Apple Nut Bread 1

    I did finally bake some bread on Friday … Cinnamon Nut Apple Bread …
    complete with before and after photos, of course …
    reminiscent of that pumpkin pie!
    Does anyone else enjoy taking pictures of food like I do?

    RS Cinnamon Apple Nut Bread Topping

    Couldn’t forget the buttery, brown sugary, crunchy topping before baking it …
    … now, for a hot buttery slice with a nice cup of tea!

    RS Cinnamon Apple Nut Bread Done

    This was my sister-in-law’s famous lasagna … it’s always yummy! 

    RS Lasagna

    This is their dog, Toby …
    Mom Betty and Toby get along quite well!

    RS Mom Betty and Toby

    Another photo of Toby’s cute face ~
    this dog has such a sweet ‘heart’, and is so attentive to everyone!
    He has the ‘whitest’ fur I’ve ever seen … so fluffy and soft.
    Frankly, I wanted to take him home with me,
    but, of course, ’the Moosh’ would have none of that!

    RS Toby 2

    This is my niece, and her husband …
     Josh & Lindsey … due in June!
    (This photo was taken about 3 months ago)
    People are starting to look younger to me these days!!!

    RS Josh & Lindsey

    Mom Betty and Dad … on their way back home. 

    RS Mom Betty and Dad

    We saw this on the way to my sister’s house …
    quite fitting for the day, don’t you think?!

    RS He died for you! 1

    We spent the rest of the day with my sister and her family …
    these are the little ones … all 6 of my great nieces and nephews!

    Little Savannah … doesn’t she look like an angel!
    Actually, she looks like a doll!
    She loved to ‘pose’ for pictures!

    RS Savannah 2

    And I just couldn’t resist sharing ‘Savannah’s Little Shoe’ with you …

    RS Savannah's Shoe 3-23-08

    This is Savannah’s brother … Tayseaen
    (pronounced: Tay-shawn) …
    He wasn’t interested in ‘posing’ …
    he was otherwise preoccupied! 

    RS Tayseaen

    And, the big sister, Sierra …
    who, like her baby sister, loves to pose!

    RS Sierra 2

    And yet, another great niece … Casandra …
    we call her Cissy, or Cassie for short.

    CASSIE RT 2

     And Cassie’s big brother, Braxton … the Thinker! 

    RS Braxton - the 'thinker'

    I have one more sweet little great nephew … Zayne. 
    They weren’t able to be here for Easter …
    but I just so happen to have a photo of him!

    RS Zane

    Now you’d think,
    with all of those great nieces and nephews running around,
    that I wouldn’t have time to miss Ian … well, not too much!! 
    My sister will be moving in a couple of months,
    and only about 2 blocks away from us. 
    It’ll be so good to be closer to them …
    more game nights!  Right, sis?!!

    chinaline

    Well, thank you for letting me share a little more of my family with you!
    I hope you all have a terrific Tuesday … oh, I just remembered … one more thing!
    It’s none other than ’Tasty Twinkie Tuesday’ …
    and that means a Twinkie recipe to try!
    Okay … did anyone try the one from last week?
    If not, well, you have another chance …
    here’s this week’s edition of
    ‘Tasty Twinkie Tuesday’!

    This one would be fun to make with children, too!
    I know all 6 of my great nephews and nieces will love these!

    twinkie vintage trim 

    “Twinkie Pancakes”
    (sorry … no photo available)

    6 Twinkies
    4 cups prepared pancake batter
    Butter or margarine
    Your choice of syrup

    Slice each Twinkie crosswise into 8 thin slices.
    Prepare your griddle, or skillet, with nonstick vegetable oil spray,
    or brush lightly with vegetable oil.  Heat over medium heat.
    Pour 1/4-cup measures of pancake batter onto hot griddle, spacing them apart.
    Arrange 3 Twinkie slices in each pancake. 
    Cook until pancakes begin to bubble and are golden brown on the underside. 
    Carefully turn the pancakes and cook the second side. 
    Serve immediately with butter and syrup!
    Enjoy!  


    PCCRAFTER COM SM coffeebreakprod

    Alan Redpath had two daughters who loved to swarm him when he came home at night.
    As he came in the door one evening, his little girls ran to meet him.
    One grabbed his leg and hugged him with all her might.
    He snatched the other daughter up in his arms.
    The one squeezing his leg said, “Now, I’ve got all of Daddy.”
    The daughter in his arms replied, “Yes, but Daddy has got all of me!”
    Perhaps the question we need to continually ask is, “Does God have all of me?”

    ~ Alan Redpath ~

    Be blessed, and have a beautiful day in Him!
    Pic Bible Rose Tea

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads