Day: July 12, 2008

  •   
    Ian's Cake


    Today is a very special day for me, and my husband.  It is our one and only son’s birthday!  I know it’s near the end of the day … we’ve had such a long, and tiring Saturday with the wedding, but here, as late as it is, I still wanted to share a few pictures, along with some sweet memories from the day he was born 24 years ago … Ian’s Birth Day!  Unfortunately, back then, we didn’t have a camera, until about the day I was due, so the first picture you’ll see is the only one of me as ‘woman with child’!  Lewis always told me I was the most beautiful when I was carrying Ian.  He was, and is so sweet … but I did tell him love must be blind!  At that time, I’m glad it was!  But he did make me feel beautiful then, and still does today!

    Well, due to some forseen complications, my doctor thought it best that we deliver by cesarean.  I had such peace before the surgery … all of the doctors and nurses prayed with us … we felt God’s presence in a strong way, and everything went very well.  We didn’t know ahead of time if it would be a boy, or a girl … we didn’t want to know … I’ve always liked surprises … and surprised we were!  When they delivered him, I was behind the little curtain so I couldn’t see when he first appeared … and there was that moment of silence, then I heard, for the first time, my baby’s precious cry … well, when I was crying, everyone began to laugh … they said HE had just ‘baptized’ the doctor … Lewis said to them, “that’s my boy”!  I spent 3 semi-painful days in a very warm hospital, during the hottest part of July, but I had the total peace of the Lord, and my 2 best guys with me … yes, Lewis spent every warm night right there in a lounge-type chair with me, and our son!  He never let Ian out of his site, even when they took him for all those necessary tests!  He even changed all of the diapers … and brought us a fan!  What a wonderful man I married … I am truly blessed! 

    Ian is the only child that I have been able to carry to full term, so you can see why I speak of him often … he is dear to our hearts, and so special to both his father, and me.  We spoke to him earlier in the day, and he said he was going to just rest at home since he’s been so busy this week.  I told him I wished he was here, he said “I do too, Mom”.  It was hard being without him, especially today.  The picture of the cake above was from his Grandma and Grandpa last year, when he was home for a visit.  We hope we’ll be able to see him soon.  Well, I hope you don’t mind my sharing a trip down our memory lane.
     

    Ian's birthday 7-12-84   #1


    Ian's birthday july 12, 84  Showin' off

    These photos were taken at the ‘clean-up’ station! 
    Vicky was the best, most gentle and caring nurse with both me,
    and our precious little package! 
    Did I say ‘little’?!  :o )

    Ian's birthday july 12, 84 2a b

    In keeping with the ‘Family Friendly Site’ rules here, and in order not to offend anyone …
    you can see that I added a few touches to this one in Photoshop :o)
    So beautiful and healthy!  Yes, he was ‘beautiful’ to me!

     ian's birthday july 12, 84 2e 2

    Due to the surgery, and tubes protruding from both my arms,
    I was unable to hold Ian until later, after my time in recovery.
    So this is the very first time I got to feel his soft, warm, baby skin on my cheek!
    Vicky held him close to me for quite awhile … she was wonderful!
    I wanted to hold him … to touch him with my own hands so very much …
    and she was very sensitive to my ‘mommy’ heart!

    Ian's birthday july 12, 84 copywrite



    Ian's birthday Poppa and Ian first time to hold him

    My two best guys … this so warms my heart everytime I look at it! 
    My dear sweet husband took all of the pictures … except this one …
    I got the honors!

    July August 07

    And this is our ‘little boy’ now!  Not so little anymore! 
    He has been such a blessing to us all of these years,
    and it touches our hearts to see him loving and following the Lord!

    ~ 3 John 4 ~
    I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth. 

     Bar Denim Hearts

    I’ve certainly missed being here and checking in with everyone.  
    I’ll be back very soon to catch up and let you know what else is going on,
    but, in the meantime, I hope you all have a very blessed and joyous Sunday!

    Tiny Tag White Rose Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><
      

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads