Month: June 2008

  •  

    Beach-Cottage-Print-C10264439


    Wait  – On God’s Timing

    Desperately, helplessly, longingly, I cried,
    Quietly, patiently, lovingly God replied.
    I pled and I wept for a clue to my fate,
    And the Master so gently said, “Child, you must wait.”

    “Wait? You say, wait! ” my indignant reply.
    “Lord, I need answers, I need to know why!
    Is your hand shortened? Or have you not heard?
    By Faith, I have asked, and am claiming your Word.

    My future and all to which I can relate
    Hangs in the balance, and YOU tell me to WAIT?
    I’m needing a ‘yes’, a go-ahead sign,
    Or even a ‘no’ to which I can resign.

    And Lord, You promised that if we believe
    We need but to ask, and we shall receive.
    And Lord, I’ve been asking, and this is my cry:
    I’m weary of asking! I need a reply!

    Then quietly, softly, I learned of my fate
    As my Master replied once again, “You must wait.”
    So, I slumped in my chair, defeated and taut
    And grumbled to God, “So, I’m waiting … for what?”

    He seemed, then, to kneel, and His eyes wept with mine,
    And he tenderly said, “I could give you a sign.
    I could shake the heavens, and darken the sun.
    I could raise the dead, and cause mountains to run.

    All you seek, I could give, and pleased you would be.
    You would have what you want – But, you wouldn’t know Me.
    You’d not know the depth of My love for each saint;
    You’d not know the power that I give to the faint.

    You’d not learn to see through the clouds of despair;
    You’d not learn to trust just by knowing I’m there;
    You’d not know the joy of resting in Me
    When darkness and silence were all you could see.

    You’d never experience that fullness of love
    As the peace of My Spirit descends like a dove;
    You’d know that I give and I save… (for a start),
    But you’d not know the depth of the beat of My heart.

    The glow of My comfort late into the night,
    The faith that I give when you walk without sight,
    The depth that’s beyond getting just what you asked
    Of an infinite God, who makes what you have LAST. 

    You’d never know, should your pain quickly flee,
    What it means that “My grace is sufficient for Thee.”
    Yes, your dreams for your loved one overnight would come true,
    But, Oh, the Loss! If I lost what I’m doing in you!

    So, be silent, My Child, and in time you will see
    That the greatest of gifts is to get to know Me.
    And though oft may My answers seem terribly late,
    My most precious answer of all is still, “WAIT.”

    Author Unknown


    Walking girl with hat matches larger one

  •    

    Copy of BEACH quiet

     
    PRAYING THE PSALMS
    To Touch God and Be Touched by Him
    - Elmer L. Towns 

    Psalm 84
    ‘Ashrey’ in His Presence

    There is a word for ‘blessed’ in the original language of the Psalms.  That word for bless is ashrey, which means happiness.  When God blesses you with ashrey you are positive, upbeat, i.e., you just feel good. 
    Lord, I want to feel good.  Teach me what I must do to be happy.

    The Psalmist describes a sparrow making a nest in the sanctuary, near the presence of God.  The Temple was so peaceable, the sparrow made a nest, laying eggs, and going about her normal duties.  The Psalmist wanted to be as close to God in the Temple, as was the sparrow.  The Psalmist described the intimacy he wanted with God on a continuous basis. 

    “My soul longs, yes, even faints for the courts of the Lord …
    even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself,
    where she may lay her young–even Your altars, O Lord of hosts, my King and my God”  {Ps. 84: 2-3}. 
    The Psalmist is crying out to enjoy the peace he finds in God’s presence.  Lord, I love Your presence.  

    You will be happy like the Psalmist when you stay in God’s presence to enjoy intimacy with Him. 
    “Blessed are those who dwell in Your house;
    they will still be praising You”  {Ps. 84: 4}. 
    Lord, I am comfortable in Your presence.

    The world’s happiness is only a feeling that gets you excited and makes you temporarily forget your problems. 
    But after the world’s happiness is over, the troubles of life return because,
    “Man who is born of woman is of few days and full of trouble” {Job 14:1}. 
    But the happiness that God gives is lasting, because God is the giver and He goes with you. 
    “Blessed [happy, ashrey] is the man whose strength is in You” {Ps. 84: 5}. 
    Lord, I am happy at this moment because I am in Your presence. 
    Lord, go with me to keep me happy along life’s way. 

    “Happy are the people who are in such a state [who obey the Lord];
    happy [ashrey] are the people whose God is the Lord”  {Ps. 144:15}. 

    Bar Small Vine

    PSALM 84
    ~ A Prayer To Enjoy God’s Presence In His House ~

    Lord, I enjoy coming into Your presence in the Tabernacle;
    O Lord of hosts.
    I have such a deep passion for the courts of Your presence
    That my flesh cries out when I’m not hrere.
    Lord, the sparrows are so comfortable in Your presence;
    That they make their nest within sight of Your altar.
    I also want to rest near Your presence,
    Because You are my King and my God.

    Lord, bless those who stay in Your house;
    Because they worship and praise You, Selah!
    Lord, bless those who realize their strength is in You’
    Because Your principles are in their heart.
    Lord, they come to You through a valley of weeping;
    They fill pools with their tears.
    Lord, they continue climbing from strength to strength
    In their endeavor to find Your peace.

    Lord God, my desire is to know You;
    And to look in to Your face.  Selah!
    For one day in the courts of Your presence,
    Is better than a thousand days anywhere else.
    I would rather be a doorkeeper in Your house,
    Than live sumptuously in the tents of wickedness.
    Lord, You shine warmth on my life like the sun;
    You protect me like a shield.

    You will not withhold any good thing from me,
    If I walk uprightly.
    Blessed are those who trust in You.
    ~ Amen ~

    beach scene


    **Thank you for your thoughts and prayers
    … they are surely felt, and so very appreciated.
    I’ve kept busy this week, and I’ve also been exercising …
    that is helping me to feel a little better each day.
    I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend, so far.
    I’ve had some trouble the past couple of days getting, and staying on the Internet.
    Is anyone else having a problem with that?  I’m hoping they get the problem dealt with soon.
    I’ve lost a few comments as I’ve watched them just disappear!
    I think it just might be okay now … I hope! 
    It’s so much fun trying to remember exactly what you typed, so you can type it again!

    We have a children’s play at church today … I’m hoping to get pictures.
    After church, not sure yet what the day holds …
    maybe a drive in the country … as long as it isn’t raining!
     I pray your Sunday is abundantly blessed … I’ll be back to catch up with you soon. 
    Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    P.S. The spelling of Elmer L. Towns last name is just that.
    They have it spelled wrong above, in what I’m ‘currently reading.’

  • Uncertainty? Trust!


    myseascape

      
    This is how I’ve been feeling the past few days with some things that have recently taken place here … uncertainty … not sure what tomorrow holds for our family.  My mind swirling with it all.  I know God has a plan, but right now we just don’t see it.  Things feel different, it’s hard to explain … it’s hard waiting … but during that time we pull in close to Him … trusting.  I pray you’re each encouraged as you trust Him for your ’uncertainties’ today, tomorrow … we all have them … He knows … and He holds all the tomorrows that we don’t see … aren’t you glad?!  <>< 

    UNCERTAINTY
    ~ Gail Rodgers

    So what’s ahead of you today? Is it a routine day with a morning rush to get out the door?  Is uncertainty in some area nibbling at the edge of your mind?  We strive hard to maintain a measure of control in our day and in our plans.  The measure of control we had hoped to have can feel shaken at times.  We can feel shaken.

    This week a young man e-mailed from across the ocean.  “I would be interested to know what you think of world events right now,” he wrote.  Having three young adults myself I could read between the lines.  As young people stand on the threshold of their adult lives they feel the uncertainty.  As older ones raise a family and balance the mortgage and the gas prices, they feel it too.  Baby boomers who planned for their retirement feel little control as they watch shifting markets.

    Yet our God, who loves each of us dearly, knows we will face uncertainty in our lives.  He offers encouragement and instruction through the words of the Psalms.  Listen …

    “I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.
    I have set the Lord always before me.
    Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken”  - Psalm 16:7, 8

    In order not to be shaken in uncertain times, “set the Lord always before you.”  What does that mean on a Friday morning?  It means bringing Him into focus as you start your day.  When you get up in the morning acknowledge that, as His child, you are assured that He is right beside you.  Ask His Holy Spirit to remind you that He is with you as your busy day progresses.  Hold tight to His hand and ask for wisdom to deal with situations as you move through the day’s activities and the uncertainties of your tomorrow.  Praise Him.  He will counsel you and instruct you.  He will steady you so that you will not be shaken.

    Walk with Him step by step through whatever your day holds.  His presence will not only enrich your ordinary steps today, but will also hold you steady through the uncertain steps of tomorrow.

    Father God,
    I thank You and praise You that You alone have the ability to hold me steady in uncertain times.  Please help me today to set You before me in all that I do.  Help me to be conscious of Your presence as I journey through my day today.  Help me to be quick to call on You for the words and attitudes and wisdom that I need.  When the uncertainties of my life and of our world crowd my mind today, let me lean hard on You to steady me.  I praise You that because You are with me, I will not be shaken. Lead me step by step through the routine and through the unexpected. I ask this in Jesus’ name, amen.

    Sign Lighthouse Psalm 27 1

       

  •  

    REFLECTIONS 2



    It’s All About God, Not Us …
    - CFDevotional -

    In the devotional series, Fight Like a Girl, Lisa Bevere said, “Adam and Eve were not the image of God, they were made in the image of God … they reflected God {like a mirror}.  To be a reflection means that you can not initiate something, only mimic. We are reflections of Christ.  “He has to initiate Himself in us, not ourselves initiating our Christ-likeness within ourselves.”  This statement is so wonderfully full of the New Covenant promise that is so easily forgotten.  I believe it is because of our soul longing for the deeper things of God, while our humanity tries to tag along.

    It is in this refreshing reminder that I can once again come back to the place at the Cross, where I can go simply as I am, with all of my human tendencies and natures; that I don’t have to do the work, and moreover, God doesn’t want me to do the work. He Himself wants to do the work inside me that produces the fruit of His glory in my life.  It is in this moment, that I again remember that I don’t have to try to be like God.  That is not what God intends for us.  Instead, truly, our goal is to surrender ourselves and allow God to initiate Himself – His thoughts, actions, and deeds within us.  I believe it is in this moment of complete submission, that we become the reflection of Christ.  It is here where others see past us, and can begin to see and hear Christ instead.  So let us, once again, go to the Cross and lay down our all in full submission, yielding every part of ourselves to the Lord.

    Father, I thank You for dying on the Cross, so that we may have life abundantly through You.  Thank You for the gentle reminder that it is truly about You having Your way in and through our lives.  Help us to remember that we do not need take control, but rather to surrender, and in so doing, reflect Your majestic glory.  Thank You for this day, and for Your grace and mercy that is new every day.  In Jesus’ name, AMEN.

    Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard,
    and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.
    Philippians 4:9

    REFLECTION
    The believer is most satisfied when he is most glorifying God with his life.  Through his faith, God’s grace works in his life to do good.  Daily he is being conformed to the image and quality of the God he serves.  Recognize, O Christian, whom God has made you, and do well according this truth.  And peace will be yours!  So says the Word of the Lord …


    “But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.  
    For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer,
    he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass:

    For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way,
    and straightway forgetteth
    what manner of man he was.
    But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and
    continueth therein,
    he being not a forgetful hearer,
    but a doer of the work, this man shall be
    blessed in his deed.”

    ~ James 1:22-25 ~

    lighthouse stamp


  • Beach Soft-Winds-Posters


    Hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend … I’ll share a bit about ours, and then share a devotional with you.  I did hear from Ian a couple of times … he told us he wouldn’t be coming for his birthday next month.  :o (  It’s not financially possible for him right now, so it’s postponed for the time being.  He seems to be doing well, sounds tired though … he’s now teaching a Bible study on Thursday nights … the one by Max Lucado – John 3:16.  He’s enjoying that!  He did travel to San Francisco to tape a conference, and they ended up driving through one of the fires burning on both sides of the highway!  Thankfully they made it through safely, but he said the traffic had been backed up.  *I just heard on the news that there are about 800 fires still burning out there, and some are even going ‘unattended’ because there are so many!  Ian did say that he saw some smoke on a ridge not far from him when I talked with him last night … he asked us to keep praying.  *Also, Lew spent some time early Saturday morning with his parents … and my father-in-law, O.P., isn’t doing very well.  He’s falling asleep all the time, and is extremely weak … they think it’s the medication, so they are working at getting that regulated … if you would, could you please keep them both in your prayers. 

    Sunday … church was wonderful, as always … we’re having a children’s play next weekend … I’ll be taking the pictures while a dear friend of mine does the videotaping.  Her husband is the ‘director’ … I just love church plays!  We have no idea what this one is about … they’ve sure been busy practicing alot, though!  I remember Ian being ‘Baby Jesus’, when he was about one, in a Christmas play at church … yours truly was Mary, and of course, hubby was Joseph.  He (that is, Ian!) just gurgled and smiled through the whole thing! :o)  Another time, when he was about 6, he played ‘The Little Drummer Boy’ … they even put that play on at the shopping mall … those were such special times, and now, special memories.  After church we went to lunch with some friends, spent time at an antique mall, and then headed over to spend some time with Tim’s family for the evening … they were in town at their oldest son’s house.  We were invited to stay for dinner and had some of the best burgers on the grill.  Tim shared some photos of Ian I hadn’t seen before … I’m hoping to get some copies to share.  Another storm came up while we were there … it looked pretty dark for awhile, but thankfully, it blew over without too much fuss … seems it’s becoming a daily occurrence, so we’re always ready with the candles and flashlight … oh, and the bucket for the basement!  It was, and is always good being with Tim’s family.  Lewis is down south working with Tim’s dad this week, and also spent the night last night … which will save on lots of gasoline!  It’s about $4.05 here now … ouch!   Someone said it may be $5.00 soon … that will be very ‘painful’!   So many people we know are struggling to make ends meet now!  Well, I do know that whatever we’re dealing with today, whatever trials we’re traveling through, we still have reason to rejoice …

    “Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance.” - Romans 5:3

    And, finally, speaking of ‘joy’ … in church Sunday, we heard about being ‘filled with joy, no matter what our circumstances are at the time.  Here are a few nuggets about this ‘fruit of the spirit’ that I’ve since come across, and also something that I just received in another devotional … just may be that God is trying to say something about this thing called ‘joy’ ?!  … thought I would share it with you!  I’ll be by to catch up with you soon!  I pray that you all have a blessed and joy-full week!

    Starfish blue
    Hugs,
                     ~ Deborah <><

    P.S.  I entered a photo over at
    BetsaflyGallery for this week’s theme on ‘Wild Animals’ … you’ll find some great entries over there, so, please do stop in for a quick peek!  Now, continuing on with our theme of ‘joy’ …..


    beach sunset



    COUNT IT ALL JOY ….
    - A Daily Devotional


    The world often associates joy with happiness and pleasure.  Unknown to most of them, joy is vastly different from happiness.  A person who has joy can be happy, but a person who is happy might not have joy.  As we know, happiness is something that is temporal but joy is something that is lasting.  Happiness is caused by outward circumstances but joy is something that comes from within us.

    When we truly have joy in our heart, people around us can feel and notice it.  They will start to see the difference between us and them.  The best way to testify of God is not just using our lips, but with our life.  Because joy is such an important element in our lives and our walk with God, the devil wants to take such joy away from our heart.  He has done quite a successful job in it since we are not filled with the joy of the Lord most of the time.  Out of our lips come forth murmurings and complaining instead of thanksgiving.  Instead of giving thanks to the Lord when a thing happens, we often end up sighing or just responding negatively.

    We also need to know that only Jesus is our source of joy.  There is no way we can find real joy apart from Him.  Since He is the living water, only when we partake of Him will we have joy in our heart.  We can try to find happiness from the world through pleasures, entertainment, riches and fame and so on.  However, we will soon find that these things can never satisfy the emptiness within our heart, for they are all vanity.  We can gain the world and find no joy because we will lose our soul.  Only in Him can we find our joy Therefore, we cannot try to find joy in any other thing apart from the Lord.

    The moment we try to satisfy ourselves apart from Him, we forsake Him, the fountain of living waters; we forsake our real joy giver.  After that, we hew out cisterns, broken cisterns that can hold no water for ourselves.  This speaks of us trying to get joy through the vain things of the world, for they cannot produce joy nor keep the joy that we have.  Thus, we need to know Him as our real joy giver and not to turn to other things to give us joy.

    The prophet Jeremiah said something that we all need to learn: “thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart”.  Has God’s word been the joy and rejoicing of your heart?  There can be no way that His word will be the joy and rejoicing of our heart unless we yearn and thirst for Him, to have a closer relationship with Him.  May we all find joy in Him and have joy in our heart. 

    “Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O Lord God of hosts.”  – Jeremiah 15:16

    Joy is cheerfulness that is a calm delight with gladness which can be exceedingly great.

    Seven Ways to Cultivate Joy
    by Insight for Living

    Want more joy in your day?  Cultivate it!  Joy springs from viewing the day’s events from eternity’s perspective.  With this intentional focus, you’re sure to see today differently—with more joy and conviction that God is at work in your life.

    1. Rehearse with God the reasons you trust Him.  Tell Him which of His attributes is your favorite right now. Read the praises of Scripture back to Him—begin with Psalm 103.  Join with another believer in prayers of thanksgiving, and delight yourself in His character.

    2. Keep a “joy journal.”  Record the reasons you have to rejoice and the reminders of God’s faithfulness that you encounter in your everyday life.  In addition, why not press a leaf from your prayer walks into its pages or include a photo of a person that brings you joy each time you remember him or her?  Think big—expand your journal into a “joy box” or a “joy drawer” that brings floods of joy each time you open it.

    3. Surround yourself with joyful people.  Joy is contagious—so build relationships with friends whose lives exhibit their confidence in God.  Pray for each other that your joy in Christ would continue to increase.

    4. Approach life’s challenges and trials redemptively.  God doesn’t waste the difficult circumstances of your life but uses them to develop His character in you.  Review Romans 5 and James 1 for help in processing pressure productively.  Joy will sneak up on you when you view your hardest lessons as gifts from God.

    5. Make praise and gratitude a habit.  Has God met a need?  Praise Him!  Have your challenges given you greater opportunities to see Him work?  Thank Him!  Joy flows from a grateful and responsive heart.  Before you turn in at night, write down three to five blessings in your “joy journal.”  Make it a habit, and watch your joyful attitude grow.

    6. Fill your mind with music.  Listen to, sing, and meditate on music that draws your heart nearer to God and His Word.

    7. Take the long view.  Investors advise their clients not to worry about the daily ups and downs of the stock market—what matters is the long view.  Does life present incredible challenges today?  Are your reserves at a low, or are you enjoying a content plateau?  Regardless of today’s events, take the long view.  Remember that God remains in charge of your days and will faithfully develop His character in you.

    Can you think of some other ways that would ‘cultivate joy‘?

    Remember, joy springs from viewing the day’s events from eternity’s perspective.  Trust that God controls your life’s details (Romans 8:28), that He hears your every request (Psalm 116:1), and that His joy will be your strength (Nehemiah 8:10). 

    “A life of intimacy with God is characterized by Joy.”  – Oswald Chambers

    Sig Tag The Joy of the Lord

  •   

    ocean



    Soaked in Grace

    Liquid linseed gleams in shallow puddles on the dining table.  It’s a raw rubber-wood surface that requires frequent oiling to protect it and keep up it’s appearance.  I’ve neglected the task for a few months and the wood has become dry.  Lifeless.  Dull.  One would imagine that such thirsty wood should eagerly soak up the rich liniment offered to it, but it’s not the case.  Like ground parched and drought-afflicted, the moisture sits unappreciated above, taking prolonged time to seep into pores and cracks.  Gradually, eventually, with coaxing and rubbing, the oils sink deep into our table once again, and it’s glory is restored.

    And my soul has been a little parched these past few days.  Not well-watered with the Word or prayer or song or thoughts of God.  Lacking lustre.  So it should come as little surprise that when I come again to receive the enhancing work of God, I don’t absorb it as readily as such soul condition requires.  It takes time.  More of it than usual.  Time to ponder, review, confess, to purposefully look to heaven and to Christ, to wait before him.  To wait for Him to rub it in, to massage puddles of grace into my soul …

    A perpetually oiled surface has no trouble receiving it’s nourishment.  And gently, through yet another picture of the everyday, I am reminded to remain ever in a state to receive.  To be constantly in the presence of God.  To cultivate a soul that through the regular applications of God is conditioned to accept all He means to impart.  I wish not to grow dim and unreceptive to the workings of God within.  I desire that this life should ever gleam as I daily, momentarily, soak in His presence.   ~ A Daily Devotion

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small


    Today,
    For what I am that I ought not to be,
    Forgive me.
    For what I am not that I ought to be,
    Forgive me.

    Be with my mouth in what it speaks
    Be with my hands in what they do
    Be with my mind in what it thinks
    Be with my heart in what it feels

    Work in me
    … through me
    … for me
    … in spite of me
    In the precious name of Jesus,
    Amen

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    Let all that I am wait quietly before God. 
    { Psalm 62:5 }

  •   
    SANDCASTLE GIRL


    Don’t Get Too Attached!

    When I describe it, you’ll be able to visualize it.  I’m certainly not the first person who has observed it.  But there is a lesson in it we may have overlooked.

    There are some children on a beach.  They’re playing at the edge of the water.  Giggling.  Building sandcastles.  They seem so intent on the project.  You get amused at how meticulous and careful they are with crumbly corners and tiny turrets.  The looks on their faces as they screw their mouths around and stick out their tongues in earnest concentration are priceless.

    Then a big wave starts to close in!  But the kids don’t panic.  They do the strangest thing.  They jump to their feet, scream with excitement, and watch the waves wash away their creations.  There is no hysteria.  No sadness.  No bitterness.  Even little children know the fate that awaits sandcastles.  So they are neither shocked nor angry when the tide comes in.

    You and I should be so wise. The stuff of this world is about as permanent as sandcastles on a beach.  Yet we get so caught up in it, defensive over it, and depressed over the loss of it.  But God didn’t create you for this world.  Your destiny is not bound up in cash and bonds, land and houses, fame and monuments.  So living to be a hundred years old is far less important than living well – Even if for a relatively short time.  Beautifying your body is not nearly as urgent as living with a pure heart before God.

    Children know that their castles in the sand are brief joys destined to be taken away by an incoming tide.  So they don’t fret as the waves approach.  They typically watch their creations get swept away without shedding tears.

    Everything about this life is so transient.  The incoming wave of our mortality is going to sweep it all away.  Like sandcastles at the edge of the ocean, nothing we do for the sake of this world can survive.  Only what you do here for eternity will last.  Only the treasures you send ahead will escape corruption.

    What would the loss of your job or business do to you?  What if your house were to go up in smoke tonight?  What if a pain sent you to the doctor and led to the discovery that you have only a few weeks to live?  These things really do happen to people, you know.  We are all vulnerable.  We are all quite mortal.  Everything about our existence here is about as enduring as the ‘sandcastle’.

    Life is God’s gift.  Revel in every good thing.  Enjoy your castles in the sand.  Just be careful not to let yourself get unduly attached to any of them.  - Daily Devotional

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    It’s a good thing to have all the props pulled out from under us occasionally. 
    It gives us some sense of what is rock under our feet, and what is sand. 
     
    - Madeleine L’Engle

    Finding God does not mean building a house in a land of no storms,
    but building a house that no storm can destroy.
    - Anonymous

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    Have a blessed day, everyone!
    Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    Be sure to go vote for your favorite ‘Close-Up’ photo over at
    iliveinmycamera
    Also at
    BetsaflyGallery, Vanessa is taking submissions for photos of ‘Wild Life’ …
    … so if you have one of those, just get the directions from her page, and send it in!
    That site is not a contest … just a ‘gallery’ to show off your work!
    You know, kind of like the fridge door at home …
    for children’s pictures!

  •  

    webstockpro com 10


    I’m sitting here enjoying a soothing hot cup of chamomile tea, with a touch of honey, and thinking over the last couple of days.  Sunday started out sunny, and a bit warm … normal for a June day.  We went to an early morning class at church, which we recently started in, called  ‘A More Excellent Way’.  It’s a biblical perspective on health and healing.  Very insightful.  I’m looking forward to next week’s class.  We had a blessed time of worship … and a teaching by DeVern Fromke … he’s been to our church many times in the past, and we always enjoy him.  Some of you may have heard of him.  He’s written about 10 books … all well worth the read.  If interested, you can see his bio, and the book titles here.  You can click on each book for a brief summary.  We’ve been so blessed by the wisdom God has given him, and we’ve also read the children’s books that he wrote to Ian during his younger homeschool years.  He really enjoyed those … there are many wonderful lessons to be learned on those pages.  Also, our pastor’s daughter had her baby this past week, and there was a baby dedication at church!  I love those!  She was wearing a little gown that belonged to our pastor’s mother.  It was about 80 years old!  A pretty soft pink gown, that had apparently been very well preserved through the years.  It was long, with delicate white lace around the bottom edge, and collar … I knew I should have taken the camera!  It was such a special morning at church … His presence was so sweet. 

    Our family plans for the afternoon had changed that morning … Lindsey, our niece who just had her little girl, is having some post delivery problems, and wasn’t able to make the dinner.  Also. both Mom Betty, and O.P., weren’t up to the trip, or company either, that day.  Neither one was feeling well, so our ‘Father’s Day’ plans may be put on hold until next Sunday.  We’re praying Dad will be better soon … he was quite weak when my husband saw him yesterday afternoon … we’re concerned … prayers are needed.  

    Well, after finding our Sunday afternoon free, some friends asked us to join them for a bite to eat.  We went, and had a good time together … we ate a wonderful Italian meal.  It was strange that there wasn’t a wait at the restaurant … usually on Mother’s and Father’s Day, there’s at least a 2 hour wait for a table.  Must be the $4.15 per gallon of gas around here these days!  We at least saved for this day in advance, just in case things didn’t work out with the family.  After dinner, we ran some errands, and saw a sign that read 93* … it was nice to finally get home and into the air conditioning.  Later in the afternoon, more storms came through … there were some high winds, and some areas did lose electricity, but again, God protected us.  All in all, we had a blessed Father’s Day. 

    Ian had called us Saturday night, and we were able to see him on the webcam … in his kitchen!  He was playing ‘chef’, and cooking an Italian casserole that I always made for him … one of his favorites.  He said he’d keep it warm if we wanted to come over for a bite!    Wish we could have … but it was such a blessing to see, and talk with him even on the computer … it made this ’momma’s heart’ pretty happy, and it also made him seem a little closer to home!  Lewis, of course, enjoyed spending some time with his one and only son, too!  He called again Sunday night just to see what I was doing.    He was going out with some college friends from church for dinner … 60 friends, to be exact   … oh, those poor waiters and waitresses … that’s such a big group!  He said they do it every once in awhile, and really enjoy themselves.  He also told us they were seeing the ash from the fires now … and it looked like light snow falling.  They apparently haven’t gotten all the fires out yet, so we continue to pray.  

    And finally, yesterday was beautiful here … clear blue skies, a gentle breeze, and cool temperatures.  I enjoyed sitting in the warm sun, with my iced green tea, listening to the birds, and reading.  I took my cat out with me … he enjoyed the sunshine as well … I enjoyed his company!   I even got a bit of a sunburn … the sun felt so good, especially after all of the gray days, and storms, we’ve had lately.  Well, that’s about it for the weekend, and my Monday.  I’ll be around to catch up with you soon, and if you would, do stop in over at
    iliveinmycamera, and vote for your favorite ‘close-up’ … I have one entered this week, and there are lot’s of very good photos there to choose from.  And, do let me know how your weekend was!   

    Starfish blueHugs,
                     ~ Deborah <><

    beach Among-Friends-II-Panel-Print-C12027645


    It is the consciousness of the threefold joy of the Lord, His joy in ransoming us,
    His joy in dwelling within us as our Saviour and Power for fruitbearing,
    and His joy in possessing us as His Bride and His delight;
    it is the consciousness of this joy which is our real strength.
    Our joy in Him may be a fluctuating thing: His joy in us knows no change.
    - James Hudson Taylor -

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    A SONG IN MY HEART

    Thank You for those times, LORD,
    when You lead me to the mountain to rejoice …
    Those times You give my heart a song,
    my happiness a voice.

    I will rejoice in the LORD,
    I will be joyful in God my Savior.
    Habakkuk 3:18

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small


  • RIOS MomentInTimeAbig susan rios rs



    The Blessing of the Father’s Love

    The greatest gift I ever had came from God;
    I call him Abba Father … Daddy! 
    - Author Unknown

    I read a couple of Father’s Day’s posts yesterday that really touched my heart … I shared a little of this with them.  As a young girl, I didn’t really get to know my earthly father, or to learn much of his love … he died when I was only 8 … my childhood had been somewhat turbulent.  I never knew the love of a father here on earth, the kind a young child’s heart so longs for.  But God …… He has been the One to show me what a Father’s love truly means over the years … and what a young child’s heart means to His.  He is a Father of gentleness, knowing my every hurt … a Father of tender affection, seeing my every tear … a Father of protection, when I’m afraid, He gathers me into His arms and carries me close to His heart.  I want to know Him more, love Him more.  His love is immeasurable, beyond what I could ever imagine, never growing weary or tired of my failings, seeing, and understanding all.  He is the giver of good gifts … in His love there is strength … He delights in me … He rejoices over me with singing.  Yes, I may have missed out on the love of an earthly father, but what God has given me today is far more precious than I could have ever asked for … and you know, there’s more!!  How can I help but to delight in Him … to rejoice in my Heavenly Father this day …. every day! 

    Today, I thank my Father, my Pappa, my Daddy, that ….

    “I am graven on the palms of His hands.  I am never out of His mind.  All my knowledge of Him depends on His sustained initiative in knowing me.  I know Him, because He first knew me, and continues to know me.  He knows me as a friend, One who loves me; and there is no moment when His eye is off me, or His attention distracted for me, and no moment, therefore, when His care falters.”  
    ~ James I. Packer

    I pray you all have a wonderful Father’s Day, loving all those fathers and daddys out there, but most importantly, enjoying God’s ever precious love for you … the love that He so willingly, and freely gave!  Be blessed today, for you truly are! 

    Starfish blue
    Hugs, 
                      ~ Deborah <>< 

  •  

    Pic Scriptue In Quietness


    Trust Him when dark doubts assail thee,
    Trust Him when thy strength is small,
    Trust Him when to simply trust Him
    Seems the hardest thing of all.

    Trust Him, He is ever faithful,
    Trust Him, for his will is best,
    Trust Him, for the heart of Jesus
    Is the only place of rest.

    - Anonymous -

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    We often think of great faith as something that happens spontaneously
    so that we can be used for a miracle or healing.
    However, the greatest faith of all, and the most effective, is to live day by day trusting Him.
    It is trusting Him so much that we look at every problem as an opportunity to see His work in our life.
    It is not worrying, but rather trusting and abiding in the peace of God
    that will crush anything that Satan tries to do to us.
    If the Lord created the world out of chaos,
    He can easily deal with any problem that we have.

    - Rick Joyner -

    Bar Blue Flower Vine Small

    Prayer Request:  Please do keep Ian in your prayers …
    I heard from him late last night … and we are a bit concerned …
    the fires are in the next valley over from him, 
    and he has a bag packed and ready to go in case there are evacuations.
    Thank you all so much … I will keep you posted.
    Blessings on your Saturday!

    Hugs ~ Deborah <><

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads