Day: October 4, 2007

  •  

    sunflower 2



    Well, another busy weekend is upon us!  We start an antique/craft show tomorrow through Sunday, and I’m still not rested from last weekend … it’s been a busy week and I haven’t had too much of a chance to rest … we all know how that is, right?!  So, I’m praying for energy to get me through this weekend, then we’ll be off until the first weekend of November. 

    I was hoping for cooler weather here, but they are now telling us that we will be near 90 thru the weekend, and muggy!  What happened to Autumn?!  There is hope though … I’m also hearing now (you all know how changeable those weathermen can be!) that by the middle of next week, we should have much cooler temperatures … the leaves here are still green, for the most part, and I’m waiting for them to turn … then it’s fall photo time!! 

    I’ve talked with Ian and his shoulder is doing better.  He is also making reservations, either today or tomorrow, for his flight home the week of the 22nd.  We’re making lots of plans!  We only get him for about 8 days and we want to fill it with lots of memories!  

    Well, I’m cutting my evening short in order to get some extra sleep before tomorrow.  I’ll leave you with this story I read today … I hope it touches your heart as it did mine.  I’ll be around some tomorrow evening, in the meantime, have a fantastic Friday!

    Tiny Tag Sunflower Button 2 Blessings,
            ~ Deborah <><  

     

    footwashing 3 rc


     
    ~ HE WASHED MY FEET ~

    Supper was special that night.
    There was both a heaviness and a holiness
    hanging in the air.
    We couldn’t explain the mood.
    It was sacred, yet sorrowful.
    Gathered around that table
            eating that solemn, holy meal
            seemed to us the most important meal
            we had ever sat down to eat.

    We were dwelling in the heart of MYSTERY.
    Though dark the night,
    Hope felt right—
            as if something evil
            was about to be conquered.

    And then suddenly
    the One-Who-Loved startled us all.
    He got up from the table
    and put on an apron.
    Can you imagine how we felt?

    GOD IN AN APRON!

    Tenderness encircled us
            as He bowed before us.
    He knelt and said,
            “I choose to wash your feet
            because I love you.”

    God in an apron, kneeling.
    I couldn’t believe my eyes.
    I was embarrassed
            until His eyes met mine.
    I sensed my value then.
    He touched my feet.
    He held them in His strong, brown hands.
    He washed them.
    I can still feel the water.
    I can still feel the touch of His hands.
    I can still see the look in His eyes.

    Then He handed me the towel
    and said,
    “As I have done,
            so you must do.”
    Learn to bow.
    Learn to kneel.

    Let your tenderness encircle
            everyone you meet.
    Wash their feet–
            not because you have to–
    but because you want to.

    It seems I’ve stood two thousand years
            holding that towel in my hands.
    “As I have done, so must you do,”
            keeps echoing in my heart.

    “There are so many feet to wash,”
            I keep saying.
    “No.”
    I hear God’s voice
            resounding through the years.
    “There are only My feet.
    What you do for them,
            you do for Me.”

    –Anonymous–

  • Thank ‘full’ Thursday

            
     grateful heart

     Don’t lose sight of the source!
    –A Daily Devotional on Thankfulness–

    “And one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, and with a loud voice glorified God
    And fell down on his face at his feet, giving him thanks: and he was a Samaritan.” {Luke 17:15,16}

    In ancient times, lepers were social outcasts because of their highly contagious disease.  In this passage, ten lepers came to Jesus begging for mercy and He graciously healed them.

    Can you imagine?  These lepers had an awful disease.  Their bodies were slowly deteriorating — and worse, they were shunned from their friends and family and forced to live in a community of only those who were, too, withering away. Suddenly merciful Jesus comes along and “poof!” the sickness leaves them!  How life changing!  These people must have been overjoyed!  Now they could go back to their families, their homes, their communities and live normal lives!

    But as I reread this story today something struck me.  Only one of them returned to thank the Lord!  But how often do we do the same?  We get so focused on our blessing and forget about the One who gave it!

    Just as the Samaritan returned to Jesus to thank and worship Him who had redeemed his life, we too must thank God — for every good and perfect gift comes from Him and He deserves all the honor and the glory!  And as a matter of fact, one of the cornerstones of effective prayer is entering His gates with thanksgiving and praise.  Let’s start thanking God for all His goodness toward us!

    It’s easy to get caught up in the blessing — God has given us so much!  But let’s be sure that we make daily habit of thanking God first! 

    We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures. 
    –Thornton Wilder

    Thou who hast given so much to me, give me one more thing – a grateful heart!   –George Herbert

    Thankful thursday 2


    ~ So, what are you especially thankful for today? 

    “Be Thankful”
    ~By Author Unknown

    Be thankful that you don’t already have everything you desire.
    If you did, what would there be to look forward to?
    Be thankful when you don’t know something,
    for it gives you the opportunity to learn.

    Be thankful for the difficult times,
    it’s during those times you grow.
    Be thankful for your limitations,
    because they give you opportunities for improvement.
    Be thankful for each new challenge,
    because it will build your strength and character.

    Be thankful for your mistakes.
    They will teach you valuable lessons.
    Be thankful when you’re tired and weary,
    because it means you’ve made a difference.

    It’s easy to be thankful for the good things.
    A life of rich fulfillment comes to those who
    are also thankful for the setbacks.

    Gratitude can turn a negative into a positive.
    Find a way to be thankful for your troubles,
    and they can become your blessings.

    Thanking God for all of you, and praying you have a thoroughly Thankful Thursday! 

    Tiny Tag Sunflower Button 2 Hugs,
         ~ Deborah <><

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads