Day: June 5, 2008


  • rain umbrella



    Hope you’re all having a good week so far.  We’ve been dealing with the weather the past couple of days, and today I’m so very thankful that we’ve had no significant damage to our property, other than a couple of huge limbs that fell from the trees!  There was a lot of damage down south of our home this last round, but God has protected us again.  I’ve never known it to be this bad here … the winds were fierce, leveling buildings to their foundations, tossing cars around like toys, and I even saw a semi-trailor truck turned completely upside down.  Another tornado damaged 40 buildings at the Indiana National Guard’s Camp Atterbury … so much destruction, and they said a trailor was picked up by the storm, and landed on the roof of a public works building there on the base.  Also, a long span, two lane, covered bridge in our state was completely destroyed, built in 1886 … this was one I had yet to see … it had withstood many a storm for 122 years … and I could go on and on!  They’re saying we could have the possibility of more storms over the next few days, along with very warm, and muggy conditions.  I pray the weather in your area is much calmer than what we’ve recently experienced here!   

    I also ask you for your prayers … Tim, who has been out in California with Ian, is beginning the long drive back home here to Indiana this morning, with part of his family.  I’d so appreciate your prayers for their safe travels … he’s with his father, younger sister, and little brother … and no, Ian is not coming back with them    … I was so hoping!  He’ll still continue to work at the church, where his schedule is full these days.  He doesn’t know exactly when, but he’ll be coming home … he’s talking about the possibility of a couple of missionary trips first … one being this summer, and one in December before he would come home.  We’re hoping the first of the year.  We do miss our son!  We are praying for God’s will to be done in his life.  Some of you may remember, around this time last year, when I posted about their trip out to California, when they first flew out for a couple of weeks, and then when my husband drove them out for a longer stay.  What started out to be only a few months, has now become a little more than a year.  It’s been a long year for me, and yes, many times difficult, but I know that God has a purpose for everything that He’s allowed in my life through this … I don’t know what the future holds, but I do know that in His love, He’s taught me to trust ……

    Well, this is a little off the norm, but I’ve gotten two of these e-mails on this ‘tip’, and I thought it worthy enough to pass along, especially since most of us deal with this pesky ’little’ problem in the warmer months anyway.  Have any of you ever heard of this?  I think it’s worth trying … just to see if it does works!   I would love feedback on it … so let’s try it and compare notes!   You all have a blessed day!

    Hugs,
       ~ Deborah <><



                                                  animated mosquito original listerine animated mosquito


    MOUTHWASH MOSQUITO SPRAY

    I thought I’d share this since we have a mosquito problem here … the best way to get rid of those bothersome bugs is, believe it or not, … LISTERINE MOUTHWASH!  The original flavored medicinal type, in that BIG bottle, which costs lots less then the ‘chemical’ bug sprays, costing a small fortune, and those don’t last too long, either!  The cheap dollar store, generic brand works just as well.  The thing that I’m happy about, is it’s so much safer without the added DEET, like you’ll find in the ‘chemical’ brands, making it safer for spraying on the skin.

    We were at an outdoor dinner party, where the mosquitos were having their own ‘dinner’, when the host began spraying his lawn and deck with LISTERINE (undiluted), and those bothersome bugs were gone!  Well, I went home and I filled a 4-oz. spray bottle (full strength) and used it around my seat whenever I saw mosquitos … and it really does work!  I also use it to spray around the picnic tables, children’s swing area, and any standing water … anywhere those mosquitos can be found!  It doesn’t take much, and the effect will last a couple of days.

    During the warmer weather, I don’t leave home without it!  So, give this a try around your home and yard, and by spraying your door frames and window frames … you can even spray it in the dog house!

    Pass it on to anyone you care about!  You’ll all be ‘skeeter’ free this summer! 


quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads