Day: June 29, 2008

  •    

    Copy of BEACH quiet

     
    PRAYING THE PSALMS
    To Touch God and Be Touched by Him
    - Elmer L. Towns 

    Psalm 84
    ‘Ashrey’ in His Presence

    There is a word for ‘blessed’ in the original language of the Psalms.  That word for bless is ashrey, which means happiness.  When God blesses you with ashrey you are positive, upbeat, i.e., you just feel good. 
    Lord, I want to feel good.  Teach me what I must do to be happy.

    The Psalmist describes a sparrow making a nest in the sanctuary, near the presence of God.  The Temple was so peaceable, the sparrow made a nest, laying eggs, and going about her normal duties.  The Psalmist wanted to be as close to God in the Temple, as was the sparrow.  The Psalmist described the intimacy he wanted with God on a continuous basis. 

    “My soul longs, yes, even faints for the courts of the Lord …
    even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself,
    where she may lay her young–even Your altars, O Lord of hosts, my King and my God”  {Ps. 84: 2-3}. 
    The Psalmist is crying out to enjoy the peace he finds in God’s presence.  Lord, I love Your presence.  

    You will be happy like the Psalmist when you stay in God’s presence to enjoy intimacy with Him. 
    “Blessed are those who dwell in Your house;
    they will still be praising You”  {Ps. 84: 4}. 
    Lord, I am comfortable in Your presence.

    The world’s happiness is only a feeling that gets you excited and makes you temporarily forget your problems. 
    But after the world’s happiness is over, the troubles of life return because,
    “Man who is born of woman is of few days and full of trouble” {Job 14:1}. 
    But the happiness that God gives is lasting, because God is the giver and He goes with you. 
    “Blessed [happy, ashrey] is the man whose strength is in You” {Ps. 84: 5}. 
    Lord, I am happy at this moment because I am in Your presence. 
    Lord, go with me to keep me happy along life’s way. 

    “Happy are the people who are in such a state [who obey the Lord];
    happy [ashrey] are the people whose God is the Lord”  {Ps. 144:15}. 

    Bar Small Vine

    PSALM 84
    ~ A Prayer To Enjoy God’s Presence In His House ~

    Lord, I enjoy coming into Your presence in the Tabernacle;
    O Lord of hosts.
    I have such a deep passion for the courts of Your presence
    That my flesh cries out when I’m not hrere.
    Lord, the sparrows are so comfortable in Your presence;
    That they make their nest within sight of Your altar.
    I also want to rest near Your presence,
    Because You are my King and my God.

    Lord, bless those who stay in Your house;
    Because they worship and praise You, Selah!
    Lord, bless those who realize their strength is in You’
    Because Your principles are in their heart.
    Lord, they come to You through a valley of weeping;
    They fill pools with their tears.
    Lord, they continue climbing from strength to strength
    In their endeavor to find Your peace.

    Lord God, my desire is to know You;
    And to look in to Your face.  Selah!
    For one day in the courts of Your presence,
    Is better than a thousand days anywhere else.
    I would rather be a doorkeeper in Your house,
    Than live sumptuously in the tents of wickedness.
    Lord, You shine warmth on my life like the sun;
    You protect me like a shield.

    You will not withhold any good thing from me,
    If I walk uprightly.
    Blessed are those who trust in You.
    ~ Amen ~

    beach scene


    **Thank you for your thoughts and prayers
    … they are surely felt, and so very appreciated.
    I’ve kept busy this week, and I’ve also been exercising …
    that is helping me to feel a little better each day.
    I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend, so far.
    I’ve had some trouble the past couple of days getting, and staying on the Internet.
    Is anyone else having a problem with that?  I’m hoping they get the problem dealt with soon.
    I’ve lost a few comments as I’ve watched them just disappear!
    I think it just might be okay now … I hope! 
    It’s so much fun trying to remember exactly what you typed, so you can type it again!

    We have a children’s play at church today … I’m hoping to get pictures.
    After church, not sure yet what the day holds …
    maybe a drive in the country … as long as it isn’t raining!
     I pray your Sunday is abundantly blessed … I’ll be back to catch up with you soon. 
    Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    P.S. The spelling of Elmer L. Towns last name is just that.
    They have it spelled wrong above, in what I’m ‘currently reading.’

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads