Day: November 12, 2008

  • Worship for Wednesday ~ In His Presence … JOY!

     

    leaf mapel on wood


    Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence,
    so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.
     
    Hebrews 4:16 NIV

    I’ve stumbled.  At the beginning of each day, I find some time to enter the throne room of God and bring my praises and petitions to Him.  Some days, I dance in singing praises all the way.  Other days, I march in assure of His attention and presence.  And then there are days I stumble in wondering why I’m there. 

    Once I heard my pastor say sometimes he doesn’t feel like praising.  But he goes through the motions anyway.  Then a wonderful thing happens.  He begins to believe what he’s saying.  Ever have days like that?  Sometimes you’ve had a rotten day when everything has gone wrong.  And sometimes, you are just tired.  The demands of life and living have worn you out.  So, you stumble in.

    This morning I sat on the floor of the throne room and looked around.  “I’m here, Lord,”…  like He needed me to tell Him.  I began to speak and apologize for stumbling in, not my usual peppy self.  He listened.  I explained how some days all I could do was stumble in, and in telling Him I realized it didn’t matter.  I was there.  He didn’t care how I got there.  And then I praised Him for that.  As I praised I noticed I sat up a little straighter. 

    Then I praised Him for listening to a wretch like me.  He kept listening.  My heart was full.  I stood and thanked Him for loving me.  He listened.  I felt His presence and the warm wrap of His embrace.  I raised my hands and poured out my petitions before the throne.  And guess what happened?

    He listened.  And He loved me.  And He filled me.  And He lifted me.  And I am His!  

    Though he stumble, he will not fall,
    for the LORD upholds him with his hand.

    Psalm 37:24 NIV

    Bar leafybar 2


    Set my heart, O dear Father, On Thee, and Thee only,
    Give me a thirst for Thy presence divine.
    Lord, keep my focus on loving Thee wholly,
    Purge me from earth; Turn my heart after Thine.

    A passion for Thee; O Lord,
    Set a fire in my soul and a thirst for my God.
    Hear Thou my prayer, Lord Thy power impart.
    Not just to serve, but to love Thee with all of my heart.

    Father fill with Thy Spirit, and fit me for service,
    Let love for Christ ev’ry motive inspire,
    Teach me to follow in selfless submission,
    Be Thou my joy and my soul’s one desire.

    —Joe Zichterman

    “In Your presence is fullness of joy.”
    Psalm 16:11


     

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads