Day: December 14, 2008

  •  Bar Rusty Star Grape Vine

    I received a phone call from my son Thursday night.

    He sounded concerned,
    and asked me if I was sitting down …
    twice.
    I said that I was … twice
    thoughts started to swirl …
    what was wrong?

    He told me he had been in a car accident that day.
    I knew he was concerned as to how I would react to this news.
    My breath caught in my throat, 
    and my heart skipped a beat.
    And I listened.

    I knew, then, why the LORD had impressed it upon my heart
    to pray for him earlier that day … fervently!

    I asked Ian how he was … twice.
    He said, ‘okay’ … twice!

    I remember what he shared with me about the accident,
    every detail, and how it happened ……..

    The young girl who was driving, had been text messaging on her cell phone.
    She realized she had run a red light …

    Ian looked out his window,
    and saw a vehicle coming right at them …

    His first instinct was to turn toward the young girl driving …
    to shield her body from the impact, and also the flying glass he knew was sure to come
    … and it did.

    He said the impact was very hard.
    Glass shattered all over them, and his glasses flew off.
    His leg was pinned in until they could get the door open …
    and his shoulder had been hurt.

    They were both taken to the hospital … she was extremely distressed … 
    he was quite shaken, but he knew he needed to keep calm for her …
    and on the way, he held her hand, and prayed for her in the ambulance.

    Other than some bumps and bruises, they were both released.
    Her parents were so grateful that Ian had been with her.
    We were so grateful they were both alright!
    He said it could have been worse …

    but, God saw to it that it wasn’t!

    Ian said he now has a ‘healthy’ fear of driving,
    even though he wasn’t the one that was driving!
    He likens it to having a ‘fear’ of the LORD.
    He knew God had been with him, and had protected him.

    So did I!

    He sent me this photo from his iPhone that he took at the scene.
    I look at this, my breath catches, and tears come to my eyes.

    I thank God for His Hand of protection! 
    I dearly love my only child! 

    And … I have God’s peace,
    knowing that Ian is more His, than he is mine!

    This is the third time that He did, indeed, protect his life!
    At least those we’ve known of … someday I may share those times!

    How many times does His protecting Hand come into play that we aren’t even aware of?!
    We can’t even begin to know, or count!

    “He will put his angels in charge of you to protect you in all your ways”.
    Psalm 91:11

    I know now that Ian will always be in the Lord’s Hands!
    We, as parents, want to hold on, and try to do our own protecting, don’t we …
    but I realize now, that we are to let go, and let God do the protecting!

    And … HE DOES!

    So when He places someone on your heart …
    don’t wait …
    PRAY for them right when you feel that prompting!

    You never know who’s life might be saved …
    … but HE DOES!

    Rejoice with me!!
    Praise the LORD with me that it wasn’t as bad as it could have been …
    that He watched over my son that day!

    Thank you, LORD!!

    “The angel of the LORD encampeth round about them that fear
    him, and delivereth them.”
    Psalms 34:7  KJV

    hearts small goes with divider here somewhere  

    Ian's Accident 12-11-08

     

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads