Month: January 2009

  •  

    Snow_Route RT

    Smilie Snowman SmallYes!!  We have snow!  Lots of snow!  12 inches of snow, in fact!  And, I’m lovin’ every single inch of it!  I know some of you will think I’ve gone off my rocker, but I really do enjoy the cold crisp winters, the way the sky looks when the sun sets at night, and the way it sounds after the snow has fallen … quiet and still!  We’ve been virtually snowed in the past couple of days … our driveway, which is somewhat long, was totally covered until yesterday, when a friend showed up with his plow, and snowblower!  This man’s name is John Freeze … seriously!!  And, Mr. Freeze did a wonderful job!  After that, my hubby went out for a little bit to do some errands, which have had to be put off because of the snow, but the roads were fine then … icing up last night was a concern, as it’s going to get back down into the teens!  We may try to get down to restock the antique mall today, but we’ll wait and see. They’re talking more snow, not sure when!  If we do go, I’ll try to get some photos of what we have now. This is the most snow we’ve had here in about 10 years!  We do want to build a snowman, too!  I know there are huge numbers of power outages!  We have friends, with family in Kentucky, who are staying in a shelter right now.  Another man from church is taking a generator down to some of his family members in Kentucky!  Many people may be without power until next week!  I pray you’re all doing well … if you are on the ‘snow route’, what are your snow totals, and temperatures where you are?!  We were prepared with enough food for the week … some people didn’t believe it would happen … but, like I said, I was hopeful!  
     
    Not much going on here, other than sleeping in late, doing a bit of ‘winter cleaning’, cooking together, and just keeping each other company.  We are working on purging books, and organizing.  It’ll feel good to get that accomplished!  I spoke to Ian … he has been sick, but is starting to feel better, so, if you could remember to pray for him, I know he would appreciate it!  I don’t like being so far from him when things like this are happening … you know a mother’s heart when it comes to our children being sick … no matter how old they are!  I am thankful that this is only the second time he’s been sick since he’s been in California!  He told me that two of his friends from here are wanting to go out to visit him soon.  I’m glad … we have to be deciding on when we’ll be going ourselves!  He really wants us to come out!  He also mentioned more earthquakes in the area … not large ones, but still, a prayer concern!  Has anyone heard about the volcano in Alaska?!  Things are becoming very active out west!   
     
    And my computer is acting strange, again … so I may be taking it in for more repairs.  Say a prayer that nothing happens before I get a chance to do that!  We have had some great entertainment over the past few days … our ‘kitties’ are getting along … well, sort of!  They do wrestle alot, but yesterday, they pretty much ignored one other!  I think Mr. Mooshie has an attitude toward Miss Pookie! (…don’t ya just love those names … lol!)  Anyway, she is a ‘lap’ cat … and he is not!  Well, not on my lap anyway!!  He never has been one to sit in our laps, but recently, he’s been changing it up a bit, and sitting in my husband’s lap during his morning devotions.  That’s okay … my feelings aren’t too hurt, now that I have Pookie, who always wants to sit in mine!  They both sat in the window, if only for a few minutes together, watching the birds, and squirrels at the feeder.  Pookie stayed longer … like I said, I think he has an attitude!  They both love my rag rugs … constantly messing them up and trying to get under them!  They are such a joy to watch, but they really are total opposites … she is so tiny, petite, and dainty, with a coat of ‘freckled’ fur, I like to call it … and he’s big, thick, and muscular, all one color, with a coat that shines in just the right light … she has bright golden eyes … his are almost lime green … she eats her food leisurely … he gobbles his down!  They’ll be fine together … they have to be … I love them both!  We’ve had Moosh for about 6 years now … and I’m so thankful that she came to live on our porch, at the end of September.  She doesn’t seem to have grown a bit, either!  I can’t wait to see them curl up together in a chair, or on the bed!  I’ll get that on film when it happens!  Speaking of which … I caught them looking somewhat civil … and, they had some thoughts of their own!  She doesn’t look too small here, but in person you really can tell the difference … and, definitely when you pick them up … she’s as light as a feather, he weighs a ton … I really think I need to fatten her up!  Well, what are your plans for the weekend?  The annual home show is open, and we may go to that.  We always enjoy going to look around, and get some new, and fresh ideas.  Well, whatever you may do, have a blessed weekend, and stay warm, everyone!  

    Smilie Cat Hugs …
                 ~ Deborah <><
     

    IMG_3625 Talk bubbles rs

    The End Cat
    …. or is it just the beginning!!

  •  

    Pic Christmas Tree Snow


    I hope you all had a blessed weekend!  I want to thank everyone for your comments, and prayers!  The show was a bit slow over the weekend, but I’m so thankful for every dollar we made.  There was a good crowd, especially on Saturday, just not alot of people buying … could it be the economy?!!!  Hmmm, yes!!  I can’t blame people for holding onto their money a bit tighter these days … we are cutting way back ourselves, being wise stewards with the money God blesses us with, and He always sees that we have what we need!  I’m still selling the soap/candles at the antique mall, and hubby is doing fairly well with his coins and coin supplies there, as well.  We don’t have another ‘road’ show now until mid-February, so we can finally concentrate on the much needed work that we need to get done around home here!  I’m ready for a good ’spring-cleaning’ myself, but it doesn’t look like spring is on the way, just yet!  It’ll have to be a good ’mid-winter’ cleaning!  We are expecting a winter storm over the next couple of days, and I, for one, am excited about finally getting a good amount of snow!  We’ve heard this before, and it only ends up to be a ‘dusting’, but this time, I’m a bit more hopeful!  I’ll let you know! 

     Sig Tag lcpsnowman1

    My hubby’s ankle, and knee were both doing better, until that is, he decided to move some boxes yesterday as we were packing up!  His ankle was quite sore last night, so do keep him in your prayers.  It’s easy for him to jump into doing more when it’s feeling better … men can be like that … but I do try to encourage him to take it easy … it’s not been 6 weeks just yet! 

    Okay … I have a question for all you TV watchers out there.  We don’t watch much, but this thing with the converter box … well, I’m hoping it won’t be too difficult to figure out!  Ian usually did things like this for us … we’re not too electronically savvy, you know!!  We only have one television that would need one, and we did apply for the coupon.  We should get it within a week.  I did hear that the government ran out of money for them, but the lady at Radio Shack, who was nice enough to apply for the coupon for us right there in the store, said we shouldn’t have trouble getting them before they completely switch from analog to the digital signal.  If anyone knows anything about this, do let me know!  As I said, we don’t watch much tv at all, but we do keep up somewhat with the weather, and FoxNews.  

    Also, I wanted to thank those of you who voted over on Iliveinmycamera.  I was so surprised, and blessed, when I logged on to find my entry had won the photo contest this past week!  I hadn’t entered in quite awhile, and it was such a surprise!  Thanks to all that voted – there were many great entries over there … there always is!  If any of you want to enter, you’ll find the directions there!  It’s always fun to see what others send in! 

    Well, you all have a terrific Tuesday … I’m hoping to have some photos of ALL the snow we may (or may not) get!  The skies do look white, and ready to burst!  Now, I’m going to go put on a pot of hot, and spicy, chili to keep us warm over the next couple of days!  I think I’ll bake up a batch of sweet pumpkin bread to go with a nice hot cup of tea, as well!   Hubby should be home soon … maybe a game of Scrabble, too!  Warm hugs to all!  <><

    Blinkie I lLove Homecooking

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

    ~ The Sounds of Silence -

    The morning was mute, quiet and still

    as I awoke from a peaceful rest;

    The sounds of silence were a soft calm

    and peace was mine – I was blessed.

    A hushed world was solemn in thought

    at the silence all around;

    Snowflakes fell like pure-white feathers

    and never made a sound.

    A lull like this, in a busy world,

    was Nature’s gift of wonder;

    I stifled thoughts of anything

    that might put it asunder.

    For just awhile on a winter’s morn,

    I turned within, in awe;

    Listening to the sounds of silence

    and the beauty that I saw.
     

    Joan Adams Burchell
    December 11, 2004


    Pic Snowflakes are kisses from heaven

  •    

    Bar Snow Village


    Just wanted to drop a quick note to let you all know that I’ll be doing an antique/flea market show starting tomorrow, through Sunday, so I may not be around too much until Monday.  I’ve been busy getting ready for it this week, and we’re hoping we’ll do well.  Please say a prayer for Mom Betty … they have found some swollen spots on her arm, and are trying to figure out what may be causing it.  They’ve moved both her, and O.P. into a new apartment at the nursing home for more watchful care.  They both are needing it now, so do please keep them in your prayers.  Could you also say a prayer for my dear hubby?  His knee is now swollen, and hurting when he walks … the ankle is doing much better, but his knee … well, that’s a different story.  He told the doctor at this last visit, that something didn’t feel right in his knee, and he told him it should get better as the ankle gets better, since he was probably favoring it … well, it has gotten worse.  He called to make an appointment with the doctor, but now they said in order to look at it, they need a clearance from the workman’s comp again … so say a prayer that he’ll get the okay and they will cover this, since it was probably due to the fall. 

    I found out, earlier today, that my sister, and her husband, are moving away.  Right now, she lives only 3 minutes from us, but in April, they’ll be moving about 2 hours away.  I know it’s not that far, but we won’t be able to see each other as readily as what we do now!  I will miss her very much!  

    We had a small taste of Spring today, with temps around 42*.  It was a beautiful day filled with blue skies and sunshine, but it is supposed to get colder again this weekend, with a possibility of snow showers.  Well, this will be short … I need to get some sleep before our busy weekend starts in the morning.  I will be around soon, and also, reply to your messages … in the meantime, I pray the Lord blesses you all with a wonderful, warm, weekend! 

    coffee cup
    Hugs,
                ~ Deborah <>< 

    SNOWFLAKE LINE IRENESCORNER COMSNOWFLAKE LINE IRENESCORNER COMSNOWFLAKE LINE IRENESCORNER COM

    We would be still and know that You are God … 
    We stand in awe of You …
    Your awesome holiness,
    majestic splendor,
    blazing glory,
    limitless power,
    and unquestionable sovereignty.

    We worship You for Your flawless character,
    Your infinite knowledge and wisdom,
    Your absolute justice, unswerving faithfulness, unending mercy …
    We bow our hearts and bend our knees before your dazzling beauty,
    Your fascinating personality, Your incomprehensible humility,
    Your unsearchable understanding, and Your unfathomable love.

    Our greatest need is to have a far greater revelation of what You are really like.
    We ask You to meet that need.

    ~ Joy Dawson ~
    Intimate Friendship with God
    (Chosen Books)

    SNOWFLAKE LINE IRENESCORNER COM

    PHOTO GIRL

    Just a Reminder: 
    If you haven’t had a chance,
    please visit
    Iliveinmycamera,
    and vote for your favorite photo! 
    Thanks again!

  • A Word For Wednesday

     

    dove


    Under His Wings
    ~
    by Anabel Gillham

    But the salvation of the righteous is from the LORD; He is their strength in the time of trouble.
    And the LORD shall help them and deliver them; He shall deliver them from the wicked, 
    And save them, because they trust in Him. Psalm 37:39-40

    If I want …

    • His salvation
    • His strength in time of trouble
    • His help
    • His deliverance,

    … then I must take refuge in Him.  These things are found nowhere else but “under His wings”—in His presence.

    Lord, I’ve never been surrounded by soft wings; I really don’t know how that would feel.  Maybe like your daddy’s lap, or snuggling under the covers when it’s awfully cold in the bedroom, or like a feather bed, or sitting in a dark car looking out at a rainstorm that has stopped the traffic.

    I can imagine it, though … the warmth, the softness, the feeling of safety and security.  Why, oh why, do I rush around outside in the angry elements, afraid and struggling, depending on my strength and my wisdom to protect me and mine?  I remember You cried one time because people refused to come nestle, to let You take care of them.

    Lord, lift Your wings . . .

    I’m crawling under.

    Bar Leaf Green Vine 1

    This brought to mind something I wrote in the margin of my Bible … ‘Nestle – Don’t Wrestle’!  How often we wrestle with things that only serve to cause us worry, or anxiety, when all we have to do is crawl into his arms … and nestle!  Rest assured, we can trust Him with all that concerns us!  

    “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
     
    I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

    Praying you’ll all have a blessed day … stay warm, wherever you are!  Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    *Please, if you haven’t yet, do stop in over at
    iliveinmycamera and cast your vote in the photo contest this week!  Some great close-up shots of a ‘bunch of things’!  Thank you! 

  •  

    green cup cocoa

    Smilie Thank You I want to thank you all for your thoughts and prayers about our church!  We went Sunday and things are drying out quite nicely with ALL that equipment they have in there!  It’s amazing what they have to do to clean up such a mess!  The Lord has indeed blessed through it all … the church has needed new carpet for a few years, and now since this has happened, we found out that the insurance will be paying for it all!  My hubby, being in the business, is getting together with one of the men from the church to discuss ‘flooring’ questions.  Many were missing on Sunday, due to a 24 hour stomach bug!  I’m so thankful that didin’t come around our way!  After church we did go down to the show where we were to have set up … Lewis sat in a booth with some friends we know, and I walked around, and picked up a few inexpensive treasures … a small wooden candlelight lamp, candles, and, there was a family who was selling Christian books, etc., from a bookstore that had recently gone out of business in the area.  The books were $1.50 each, and if you bought 5, or more, they were only $1.00 each!  Mind you, these were all brand new!  I bought 9 books!  As if I needed anymore!!  My walls are crawling with them now … oh, but I just couldn’t resist!

    Sig Tag Study to Show Thyself Approved

    After we left the show, we stopped and had a bite at Bob Evans Restaurant.  For those of you who don’t have them, you don’t know what you’re missing!  It’s such a ‘homey’ place to eat, with great service!  *A highlight of my Sunday … most of you know that our son just went back to California after a visit here over New Years.  Well, he was on my heart, and I was missing him some on Sunday.  When we got home, I realized I had left my cell phone at home, and found a text from him, thanking me for being the ‘best mom ever’ … and that ‘he knew he hadn’t told me that in a while’!  Well, I tell ya, my heart was blessed to overflowing!  That text will stay forever saved in my messages on my phone, and whenever I think of him, I’ll just pull that up …. and smile!  

    Yesterday, I must admit to being ‘lazy’!  Oh, I did do a few things, but I’m still not at 100% since being sick, so it was a day to enjoy the warmth of my home, and just relax.  We did go to the airport, last night, to see a friend off after being here this week for a visit.  It’s always so much fun to see our new airport.  Her flight was headed right into Washington, DC, where she switched planes … can you even imagine, with what’s taking place there today, how busy the airport would have been last night?!  After that, we headed home, and out of this cold weather … it was about 14*, with snow flurries, so we got in where it was warm, and had hot steaming mugs of cocoa, and played a game of Backgammon … and yes, he won … again!  *(sigh)*  I just can’t win for losing!  Lol!!   I also received another text from Ian last night, and not one that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside  … “4 earthquakes in one hour – be praying”  He said it came over a site where he gets earthquake alerts on his computer … I also chatted with him on Facebook, and he said they were centered about 20 miles inland, near Hollister … and they had increased in intensity from 2.7 to 3.8.  He said some of his friends felt it … so to my Xanga friends out in California … if you know any more about this, do let me know! 

    Today, I’m going to go through some of my older books … see what I don’t want to hang onto any longer … I need to make room for those new ones I just bought!   I wish I knew how to set up, and use EBay!  I could make a fortune selling all my ‘clutter’!  Later tonight, Lewis will be getting back to doing his prison ministry.  He’s missed that the past few weeks.  He’s doing quite well on that foot, too … although, he’s still limping a little, but I’m amazed at how quickly it’s healing!  Thank you, Lord!  I hope you all have a blessed day … stay warm!  I’ll be around, and doing some more visiting this week.  

    Smilie Snowman Small Warm hugs to you all!  ~ Deborah <><


    Blinkie Phototime  Oh, and just one more thing …. it’s been awhile since I’ve entered, and I did this time, so if you get a chance, do visit the photo contest over at
    iliveinmycamera, and vote for your favorite picture. 

    Thank you!!    

  • **PRAYERS NEEDED** 
    This is an update to the bottom of this post regarding the flooding at our church that happened yesterday!  Here is an email we just received today:

    This is a follow up to the earlier prayer request regarding the frozen sprinkler head, which in turn caused flooding.  The entire first floor of the building is flooded. The whole office area is flooded except for Jeremy Bialek’s office.  The foyer, most of the sanctuary, down both hallways, both bathrooms, the kitchen, under the stage, the rooms behind the stage, and the fellowship room. The insurance and restoration companies are already working well with us. Mr. Richards who works with the restoration company is a dad of one of the Wildcat basketball  players (the team that Jeremy coaches). More restoration will begin on Monday including: replacing drywall. Flooring, ect… We will have service on Sunday morning however there will be no pitch-in.

    Shane is currently working on an online album that will be posted at the end of this e-mail so that all of you may be able to see the intensity of the damage. Thank you for your continuing prayers, ICF Eldership Team

    P.S. This is the link to the website with photos of the damage: 

     
    ** Click on each photo to see it in a larger size! **
    http://s241.photobucket.com/albums/ff157/godrox221/Church%20pics/

    ** A quicker way to get through them in the larger size would be to watch this …
    you can click through them faster.

    http://s241.photobucket.com/albums/ff157/godrox221/Church%20pics/?albumview=slideshow

    ** I had no idea just how much damage broken sprinklers could do to a building, until I saw those pictures!  You can see in one of the pictures the water pouring in between the double doors at the entrance!  The site is at Photobucket for you to take a peek at, and if you would, please keep our church in your prayers … from what I can see, it will take some time to get things back to normal!  Regardless of this trial, we’ll all be there in the morning singing praises to our Lord!  Thank you all so much for your thoughts and prayers!  <><

     

      Bar Snow Village


    FYI:
      With all the snow around, well, for many of us, anyway, I thought it would be fun to share this with you!  I, personally, thought it would be a great gift for my hubby … his back tends to go out when he’s shoveling snow … that stuff’s heavy!!  This just might be our answer, huh, ladies?!  We have a small amount here now … and it’s still frozen to the ground, so right now, it wouldn’t do me much good!  But, winter is not over just yet!  For those of you who don’t have snow … well, I guess you wouldn’t be in the market for one of these, so, you can disregard this part of the post!!  I did find it interesting either way, though!


    Shovel well it's really a wovel

    THE SNOW WOVEL

    When shoveling snow, you usually end up throwing your back out, falling over, getting pneumonia, and eventually, you die.  Or you could start shoveling snow with the Wovel.  The Wovel Snow Shovel is this huge contraption with a big wheel and a snow shovel attached to it.  You use your body weight to move the snow around and clear out gigantic patches of snow.  The scoop on the front is enormous — “easily throws five foot piles of snow” — which makes the Wovel ideal for big jobs that need to be done quickly.  Personally, I’d like to find some little kids during a big snowfall and would chase after them with this thing.  Genius.  You can also pick up some accessories like foam grips.  Now all you need are bike pegs and you’re the next BMX/Wovel star.  If you demand to eradicate back pain this winter, grab yourself a Wovel for $120 and get to work.  The newly redesigned version goes on sale this month.

    - Courtesy of The Gadget Blog


    Bar Snowball and Snowflakes


    I do hope you’re all having a great day, staying warm, wherever you may be … I’m here, all warm and cozy, truly blessed, drinking my hot cup of tea!  We did not do the show this weekend because of some things that came up on the job for my husband, which made it a necessity for him to be there today, to supervise.  He got a glowing report from the doctor about his ankle yesterday … the x-rays showed the bone is healing very well, although it is still swollen, and was told not to lift anything heavy!  He did tell him not to use the crutches, or walker, any longer.  He said putting more body weight on it will promote healing … so, he has a tight velcro brace on it, which he’s to wear, continuously, now.  He can drive, but he can’t work on it just yet.  Also, we didn’t have the help we had hoped we’d have for the show … so with all this, we felt we had our answer, and decided to cancel this year.  We were concerned about the deposit we had paid way in advance for the booth space, but we were very blessed when hubby called the contact person for the show, to explain about his ankle, and us not having help, and his job … well, she was more than happy to transfer our deposit to the show for next year!  All we have to do is send a note to her stating why, and it would be done for us!  That was a miracle, because they normally don’t do that, especially when we called on the day we were to have set up!  God is good!  That took such a weight off of us … it can cost a pretty penny getting booth spaces at these events! 

    So, I’m home, catching up here today, Lewis is at the job, sitting, and supervising, the cats are playing (wrestling), we’re having a regular heat wave of 28* compared to the past couple of days, when the coldest reading here was -12*, with a windchill of -27 … (I also notice that it’s 67* where my son is in CA right now!)  I’m needing to do some ironing for church tomorrow … speaking of which, we got a call from the church yesterday … one of the sprinklers in the entrance hall broke, and water was pouring, not out the door, but going back into the main hall and sanctuary, and this was on a below 0* day! They finally got it shut off, and now they are trying to get it all dried out … they need prayer that they can get it all taken care of, and things work out with the insurance company!  They cancelled our pitch-in tomorrow because of it.  We’ll miss that!  It’s always such a great time of fellowship during most of the afternoon!  And, now, I’m wondering what to make for dinner here tonight … any suggestions?!  I was thinking of some lemon-herbed, baked fish, with steamed fresh veggies, and maybe a side of seasoned black beans and rice.  So, what are your plans for the weekend … perhaps, ‘woveling’ all that snow?!  :o )  Warm blessings on you all, and whatever your plans, I pray you have a wonderful Sunday! 

    WinterHotChocolateMugs2[1]  Hugs,
                                  ~ Deborah <><

    Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made
    the Lord his hope and confidence.
     - Jeremiah 17:7

    When God comes down, He removes the immovable difficulties.
    When God comes down, the impossible becomes reality.
    God moves on behalf of the one who waits. –
    Author unknown

     
     


  • A2

     
    Pursuing God ~

    We are often hindered from giving up our treasures to the Lord out of fear for their safety; this is especially true when those treasures are loved relatives and friends. But we need have no such fears. Our Lord came not to destroy but to save. Everything is safe which we commit to Him, and nothing is really safe which is not so committed.
    A. W. Tozer–The Pursuit of God

    Now, that’s a word that spoke directly to my heart today!  And not just this excerpt from the book by A.W. Tozer, but the title of that book, itself … The Pursuit of God!  How important is it to me to truly know Him … to know him intimately?  How much of my time do I put forth into activily ‘pursuing’ God?  Seeking His face … and delighting myself in Him moment by moment?  How important is it to me to truly know His will for my life? 

    Knowing His will is more valuable than all the treasures we could ever have, and we must always esteem knowing His will as the true treasure, and therefore make it the primary thing that we seek. 
    To pursue Him means striving for a more intimate relationship with Him.  It implies a continuous following through until we have attained the desired result, which in this case, is not only to be close to Him but also one with Him in all we are, and all we do. 
    Pursuing the presence of the Lord is to seek knowledge and information about Him. This we find in His Word, His love-letter to us.  I know more than anything, that my heart wants to pursue God, to seek His face, to delight in Him, to be devoted to Him, and to treasure His will for my life!  How about you?!  Let’s pursue Him together!

    Praying you’re all staying snug and warm!  We are about -10 here now, with a windchill of -25!!  Power lines went down about 2 blocks from our home, so we are right at the line where many homes are without electricity!  I’m so grateful we weren’t on that part of the grid, but I do pray for those that have no heat in these dangerous temperatures!  It’s always good to have a kerosene heater in times like these!  We are at least prepared with that … and lots of snuggly, warm quilts! 

    We have another show this weekend, which we are to set up at later today, but we may just reconsider, although the extra money sure would be a blessing right now!  We are supposed to have a ‘heat wave’ tomorrow, so if we can just get through this major cold spell today, we should be fine.  We may not have help, as we had hoped, so please say a prayer that God will direct us in what we should, or shouldn’t do, and that somehow we will have help!  Dear hubby has an appointment with the doctor this morning for x-rays to see how that ankle is setting, and he may give him the go ahead to drive.  Still not sure if it’s time yet … he’s been supervising a job this week, mostly sitting, but his ankle is still swollen.  My cough, I’m grateful to say, is much better.  I’m beginning to feel somewhat normal again.  We did bring our little ‘Miss Pookie’, the kitten, into the house, out of the cold, about the time Ian arrived for his visit.  Seems she and ‘Mr. Mooshie’ are getting along pretty fine … I’m glad he has a companion now!  It is not good for cat to be alone!  :o )   Well, I hope you’ll all have a very blessed weekend … I’ll be back on Monday to do more visiting to your sites, unless plans change, and we don’t do the show, then you’ll see me sooner.  Thank you so much for your prayers for our weekend!  Think of me warmly!

    tnlan[1]

     

     Hugs,
           ~ Deborah <><
     

       

  •  

    IMG_3371 Ian and Me 1-9-09 rs

    Here I am, with Ian, this past Friday morning … 
    and a very early morning, I might add, on the day that he left.

    Wow, I finally made it back, and it’s been a ‘whirlwind’, ‘in-a-fog’, and ‘wish-I-could-do-it-all-over-again-when-I’m-feeling-better’, week!  Being sick during a ‘surpise’ visit from your only son is not something you’d want to try!  Regardless of that, and my hubby’s broken ankle, we enjoyed what time we had together with Ian!  Please, bear with me while I catch you up on the past week. 

    As you read in the last post, Ian got in on Thursday night.  Then, on Friday morning, early, the guys went out together, to run some errands, and also did some much needed grocery shopping for the week.  The ‘cupboards were bare’, as we hadn’t planned on him coming!  That was the first morning, of many, that Ian fixed us all breakfast!  And boy, can he cook a mean breakfast!  After that, we lazed around, catching up, and then Ian went to a movie with a friend later that night.
     
    Saturday, after another ‘breakfast by Ian’, I mustered up enough energy, and we headed to a surprise birthday party at church for a good friend of ours.  Ian tagged along, but seemed bored … it was an ‘older’ birthday party, and since we came in two vehicles, he went on home a little early to catch up on some sleep.  I seemed to be feeling worse, so we weren’t far behind him!  It was a nice, quiet family night at home … just being together again was such a blessing!  
     
    Sunday, we went to church, even though I really shouldn’t have gone the way I was feeling, but I just couldn’t miss being there with Ian again!  After that we had dinner out with a few friends at a restaurant where they cook healthy Japanese food right in from of you. Yummy!  It’s one of Ian’s favorite spots, and he enjoyed that!  He tells us he eats lots of Sushi out in CA … I just don’t think I could bring myself to eat that!  I like my Chicken Yakisoba they cook there, too much! After that we headed home … Lew needed to get off that ankle, and I was starting to cough even more.  Ian helped us get settled in, and then got together with another friend for the evening. 
     
    Monday, was much the same … a great breakfast by my son, followed by another quiet family day … and yet again, Ian got together with another friend who wanted to see him.  Another highlight of the week, well actually two, one of which was on Tuesday … a friend picked him up and they went to the Porter’s (Tim & Miss Elizabeth’s family) to have a time of fun and fellowship!  I so wish I could have gone, but still too sick, and Lew felt he needed to stay home and off that ankle, as well, since it was still swollen.  Ian had a great time with his ‘second family’ that night! 
     
    Wednesday, Ian and Lewis ran some errands, and then went to see Mom Betty and O.P. to have lunch with them … they were anxious to see their only grandson!  They miss him alot!  Ian also made a trip to the chiropractor … that broken tailbone he got a couple of years ago, if you recall I had posted about, is bothering him again.  He felt better after seeing the doctor.  Me, well, I just basically stayed in bed … the cough, I came to find out from a friend who works for a doctor, said it lasts anywhere from 3 to 6 weeks … I think it’s about the 3rd week now, although, unfortunately, it got worse this past week when Ian was here, but today it seems quite a bit better.  (Figures … a couple of days after he leaves I start to feel better!!)  It had kept me up most of the night all week, so, needless to say, I’m still exhausted, and working at getting back to feeling normal again.  Ian had brought me his dirty laundry to wash … he loves me … I didn’t mind at all, so I was doing that through the week, along with ’dirty dish duty’ after he would cook for us.  
     
    The time he had with us came, all too quickly, to a close … so, on Thursday night, while quietly shedding those tears, I lovingly packed his clothes in his bag, and then helped get him ready to leave Friday morning.  I didn’t sleep much that night, again … and not all due to the coughing, either.  I didn’t want to think of him leaving … again.  My night was filled with prayers for my son.  He also shared that he wanted us to be in prayer for him … for wisdom as to what God’s will is for him concerning film school.  He’s been granted 2 scholarships and he hasn’t decided which one to go with, or even if he should go with either, right now.  He said if he went to one, it would keep him from moving back home permanently, for awhile.  Please keep him in your prayers.  We want, more than anything, for God’s will to become clearly evident to him! 
     
    We watched as he flew away Friday morning … so, it’s been a bit difficult for me the past few of days.  I need to focus on the Lord … He is my comforter … my peace.  I’ll be okay … the first few days are always a bit hard.  I’m thankful that he arrived safely in California that same afternoon.  I spoke to him that evening, our time, and he’s already back and hard at work for the church again.  I don’t have many photos of his visit either, but I’ll try to get what I do have posted soon. 
     
    Saturday, I worked at getting things back in order best I could here at home, but I mostly rested.  Hubby has had that illness known as, ’cabin fever’, so he was happy to hobble out into the cold rain that we had that morning, to go with a friend to breakfast, then to the men’s prayer meeting at church.  I’m glad he got to go out … he’s been going crazy cooped up with that ankle!  Also with this injury, his prison ministry is on hold, at least for him … a friend of his is filling in for him the next few weeks. 
     
    Sunday, he got a ride to church … he told me to stay home, and rest … I don’t like missing church, but I must admit I did agree with him, at the time, that I really shouldn’t go.  I wouldn’t want anyone to get what I have had!  Thankfully, neither Ian, nor Lewis, have gotten this … must be good immune systems … so, what happened to me?!!  Has anyone out there had this ‘congested cough’?!  I do know that Mucinex DM is helping me right now … wish I had that early on!
     
    And finally, Monday, or yesterday, my husband did go to work to supervise a job.  His friend came and drove the business van, since he isn’t able to drive for awhile yet.  Do say a prayer for him … he has to be there for 3 days this week, and I really don’t want him doing too much, too soon, on that foot.  He does have an appointment on Wednesday for more x-rays to see how it’s healing.  I’m praying for a good report!  When he got home last night, we headed out to the store to get in some groceries … we’re expecting some very cold temperatures this week, and we wanted to be prepared!  Ian also called me tonight while we were at the store  :o )  … he told me of some changes taking place at the church out there, and also, he wanted to share with me a new way we could do a video chat, so we’ll set that up today by phone.  It blessed me that he wanted to ‘see’ me so soon after he left! 

    Well, again, this is another long post … thank you all for still coming by, and for all of your sweet comments on this last post … I’ve missed coming by your sites so much … I know I’ve not been too good about my visiting habits lately … I do hope you’ll forgive me … I’ll be working on that this week!  
     
    Bless you all!
     Hugs,
        ~ Deborah <><

  •     
    11-18-07 Early Thanksgiving 092 Ian 2

    Praying you all have a most wonderful and blessed New Year – 2009!
    I got the surprise of my life on New Year’s Eve!
    Some friends called us and asked us to dinner …
    I wasn’t feeling very well, and hubby is still hopping around on those crutches,
    but he wanted to get out of the house for just a little while!

    We got to Cracker Barrel, and the Porter’s (Tim and Miss Elizabeth’s parents) -
    along with some other friends were there - we wondered if we had missed someone’s birthday!
    Well, as we were all saying hi and taking a seat, I heard this voice behind me say,
    “Is this a private party, or can anyone join in’!
    Yes!  It was my son, Ian!
    You can just imagine my surprise!!
    We pretty much caused a commotion there in our little corner of the restaurant!

    He had apparently called the Porters awhile back,
    and planned the whole thing with them! 
    I’m just so sorry it was during a time when I’m still sick, :o (
    and his dad is hopping around on crutches!  How fun can that be for him, I ask?!
    We are going to make his visit as enjoyable as possible,
    regardless of how we are feeling!

    We have him for 9 days … until a week from today,
    so I’m not sure just how often I’ll be around on here until then. 
    We’ve got some catching up to do with family, and friends to visit.
    It’s been over 6 months since we’ve seen him, and we want to
    squeeze memories into every minute he’s here!
    He’ll make some of his own, with his friends, I’m sure,
    but when he’s here with us we want to enjoy the time together!

    After we all met at the restaurant, and had dinner, we headed back to the Porters
    for a snack and games … we all had a great time greeting the New Year together!
    Didn’t get home until 2:00AM – and, were we ever ready to get home!
    It was so much fun, but we were all exhausted …
    and Ian hadn’t slept at all the night before his flight,
    so you can imagine how he was feeling by that time!

    Yesterday, we just had a lazy day here at home … and after sleeping in late,
    we ate a nice big breakfast, and a spaghetti dinner with salad … one of Ian’s favorites!
    (Although, the way I was feeling, I should have just had chicken soup!)
    Later last night, he went out with some friends for a couple of hours, and had a good time with them.
    I noticed him coughing and sneezing since he got home last night … uh, oh!
    Please pray he does not get what I have!
    (We’ll both have chicken soup today!)
    The swelling, in hubby’s foot, looks to have gone down a bit … but the bruising is growing!
    He did go to the doctor on Wednesday morning and he said it was healing very well …
    so, no plaster cast, or surgery!  Praise the Lord!
    I’m still making him take it easy on it, though!

    I do hope you, and yours, all had a wonderful New Year’s Day!
    I want to thank you for your prayers, and your sweet comments on my previous post.
    My visiting here got interrupted when my son came home, but,
    I will be getting around to you as soon as time allows!
    I do miss you all!
    In the meantime, have a blessed weekend!
    Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    Blinkie Happy New Year Blk Gld

     Resolution One: I will live for God.
    Resolution Two: If no one else does, I still will.
    ~ Jonathan Edwards ~


    We should take advantage of His faithfulness and make every day a fresh start.
    Resolve to make each day the beginning of a new year, a new morning, a new adventure.
    He wipes the slate clean and goes back to zero so we can be filled up again
    with His spirit and give it out all day long.
    Enjoy the blessings of a new year, in Christ, one day at a time!
    ~ Debbie Carroccio ~ 


    A New Year’s Prayer
    May God make your year a happy one …
    Not by shielding you from all sorrows and pain,
    But by strengthening you to bear it, as it comes;
    Not by making your path easy,
    But by making you sturdy to travel any path;
    Not by taking hardships from you,
    But by taking fear from your heart;
    Not by granting you unbroken sunshine,
    But by keeping your face bright, even in the shadows;
    Not by making your life always pleasant,
    But by showing you when people and their causes need you most,
    and by making you anxious to be there to help.
    God’s love, peace, hope and joy to you for the year ahead.
    ~ Anonymous ~


    Bar Scroll Black Flowers

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads