Day: January 21, 2009

  • A Word For Wednesday

     

    dove


    Under His Wings
    ~
    by Anabel Gillham

    But the salvation of the righteous is from the LORD; He is their strength in the time of trouble.
    And the LORD shall help them and deliver them; He shall deliver them from the wicked, 
    And save them, because they trust in Him. Psalm 37:39-40

    If I want …

    • His salvation
    • His strength in time of trouble
    • His help
    • His deliverance,

    … then I must take refuge in Him.  These things are found nowhere else but “under His wings”—in His presence.

    Lord, I’ve never been surrounded by soft wings; I really don’t know how that would feel.  Maybe like your daddy’s lap, or snuggling under the covers when it’s awfully cold in the bedroom, or like a feather bed, or sitting in a dark car looking out at a rainstorm that has stopped the traffic.

    I can imagine it, though … the warmth, the softness, the feeling of safety and security.  Why, oh why, do I rush around outside in the angry elements, afraid and struggling, depending on my strength and my wisdom to protect me and mine?  I remember You cried one time because people refused to come nestle, to let You take care of them.

    Lord, lift Your wings . . .

    I’m crawling under.

    Bar Leaf Green Vine 1

    This brought to mind something I wrote in the margin of my Bible … ‘Nestle – Don’t Wrestle’!  How often we wrestle with things that only serve to cause us worry, or anxiety, when all we have to do is crawl into his arms … and nestle!  Rest assured, we can trust Him with all that concerns us!  

    “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
     
    I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

    Praying you’ll all have a blessed day … stay warm, wherever you are!  Hugs ~ Deborah <><

    *Please, if you haven’t yet, do stop in over at
    iliveinmycamera and cast your vote in the photo contest this week!  Some great close-up shots of a ‘bunch of things’!  Thank you! 

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads