Month: February 2009

  •  
    tea 2

    Well, I’m sitting here at the computer, sipping a hot cup of tea, with honey and lemon, and wanted to check in real quick to let you all know that I’m battling the flu, again!  Yes, I woke up Monday with a sore throat, and it is now a full-blown case of the flu … an upper respiratory infection … fun, fun!  It seems like so many around here have been sick this year, and more than just once, too!  At church on Sunday, a lot of people I talked to sounded like they had colds, and we found out that our former pastor is battling a case of bronchitis!  I made a big pot of homemade chicken soup, chocked full of fresh veggies, onion, and garlic for Tuesday’s dinner, so we’ve been eating that, but, it’s about gone now.  I’m hoping to be feeling better by the weekend … my sister is moving about 2 hours away this coming Saturday, and I wanted to be able to help them, and drive up to see their new house.  I’m going to miss her terribly!  Also our series by John Bevere, which I had mentioned in my last post, has been moved from this past Sunday to this coming one, and I do not want to miss that!  It will carry into next week during the evening, as well.  My hubby will be going out of town sometime next week, to put new ceramic tile in another Panera Bread Company … not sure exactly how long he’ll be gone, but please keep him in your prayers for a safe trip. 

    I also have a couple of other prayer requests … my father-in-law, O.P. (husband of Mom Betty) hasn’t been doing very well … we’ve been told that they found ammonia in his blood, which they say, may have something to do with the pancreatitis he had … they said he’s very toxic.  His memory is not very good either.  Please keep him in your prayers.  Lewis is down spending the afternoon-early evening with them both, and he’s going to eat dinner with them there in the cafeteria … (he’s probably tired of my chicken soup anyway).  Mom Betty seems to be doing pretty well, which we are thankful for. 

    Here’s an update on some of my past prayer requests … Bruce, our friend, who was in the car accident, is doing better, and should be back in church this coming Sunday. Praise the Lord!  Also, our Miss Elizabeth is doing quite well, now.  They’ve all settled back in their cabin way down south.  Her brother, Tim, is enjoying his time over in Malawi, but is wanting Ian to come over and help with his filming.  Also, the father and son, who are friends of ours, that I told you had contracted malaria over there, have responded to the medication, and both are doing much better, now. 

    *I have another dear friend, I spoke to you about, Marcia, who is battling breast cancer.  She recently returned home after four weeks of treatments, and one week spent with her son in California.  She is to go back for a mastectomy, and possible liver surgery the week of March 9th.  She is experiencing weakness and is very tired.  Please do remember her in your prayers.  She is a caring friend … one I, regrettably, haven’t spent enough time with.  I’ve known her for a number of years, and we also share the same birthday.  We want to get together now that she’s back home, but with my having this flu, she said that’s a no-no!  I’m praying we’ll be able to get together before she heads back for the surgery.  Here we are when we were at the fund raiser for our Miss Elizabeth this past October …. like I’ve said, it helps to put a face with the one you’re praying for! 

    Marcia and Me @ Fur Elise IMG_9416 rs

    ~ Marcia & Me ~


    daisy3daisy3


    So, how’s the weather where you are?  It’s a gray day here … about 46* with rain and some thunderstorms on the way for tonight, then tomorrow, a cold front with will bring those 30* temps again.  I hear we have only 20 days before the first day of Spring … it won’t be long before we’ve exchanged our complaining about the cold, for the hot, sticky, dog days of summer!  (but, not me … you know how much I love the cold weather)   Well, I’m going to go get another hot cup of tea, eat a bit of chicken soup, then go read some more, and keep working on my ‘To Do’ list on decluttering, and organizing my home!  And, I also wanted to thank you for your thoughts, prayers, and encouragement on my last post about getting decluttered and organized.  It was such a blessing to read all of your comments!  One step at a time, that’s how I need to approach it!  We’ll ‘git er’ done’, I know it!  Praying you’ll all have a wonderful Friday, and a blessed weekend!  I hope to get around to visit you here soon.  Unfortunately, all I feel like doing now is sleeping!  Thanks again for your prayers!

     coffee cup Hugs,
                 ~ Deborah <><  


    Our prayers lay the track down on which God’s power can come.
    Like a mighty locomotive, his power is irresistible,
    but it cannot reach us without rails. 
    ~ Watchman Nee

    Each time, before you intercede, be quiet first, and worship God in His glory.
    Think of what He can do, and how He delights to hear the prayers of His redeemed people.
    Think of your place and privilege in Christ, and expect great things!  ~ Andrew Murray

  • WANTED: OrGaNiZaTiOn – AKA: ‘A Place For Everything – And Everything In It’s Place’

        

    Topper Library Chair


    Okay … a bit of honesty here, and maybe even a little cryin’ on your shoulder … I hope you don’t mind my sharing some struggles I’m having!  I’ve been down, and a bit depressed … not feeling well over the past couple of days … much of the ‘battle’ takes place in our minds, and we have to learn to overcome all the thoughts that plague us in our day to day life!  Here’s the story … first of all, I have to admit that I’ve not been the perfect housekeeper … for awhile now, in fact!  I’ve had trouble getting our home back in the ‘organized order’ that it used to be in (I have pictures to prove it) … and we need to purge, and declutter things we’ve collected over the past few years, a lot of which we don’t use anymore … all that on top of the everyday upkeep we housewives are so well known for.  I wake up with every good intention of beginning this purging process, but I look, around, and really don’t even know where to begin!  I do a little here, a little there, but it’s never enough!  I don’t know about you, or if you’ve ever gone through this, but it seems I just can’t get a start to even get ahead, these days!  It’s also a real struggle coming to that point of parting with our ’stuff’!  When I was homeschooling Ian, I used to be very organized … a place for everything, and everything in it’s place (like I said, I have pictures to prove it) … but since my life has ‘changed’, and I’ve let things ‘go’ …  (I have pictures to prove that, too … not sure if I’d want to share those with you though – what would you think of me?) … well, dealing with all of this, or trying to at any rate, has just been overwhelming for me, and I find myself becoming depressed about it now.  I see the photos of your lovely homes on here, and wish that I could get mine to looking nice again.  Is there anyone else out there who’s ever felt the same way, or similar, about this subject of keeping a clean, and organized, home?!  Much of the time, I feel alone in this. 

    I could go into other details about my situation, but I will say that we have an extra room, and it’s chocked full of Ian’s things, books, clothes, several groups of collections … ones I know he’d want someday for his own children.  Well, when he does come home, he most likely won’t be coming to live here, and we do need to deal with it all.  We would have to anyway, because he’s ‘outgrown’ a lot of it … his interests have certainly changed since he’s been gone.  Also, I still have all of his homeschooling materials, as well … what do I do with all of that?!  Much of it is outdated, and although it’s all in excellent condition, I’m not sure anyone would use them.  I’ve tried selling it to homeschool booksellers, but they would only give me pennies compared to what we put into it all, because, they said, no one wants them.  Seems everyone wants the new, and improved these days.  I’ve started going through some of the books, and the work he’s done over the years,  but when I look on all the things he did when we were homeschooling, well, I have to be honest … it’s extremely difficult for me!  Bring me the box of kleenex!!  I miss those years … each day was special for us … I really have to pray and ask for God’s grace to cover me when I’m in there … it’s an emotional time for me.  And that’s just one room … he also has lots of things in the basement … I don’t think that bothers me as much as his room upstairs … more memories there!  Why do some memories have to be so painful?!  If he were home, I don’t think it would hurt so much … forgive me for ‘moaning’ … it’s one of those days!  I have much to do around here to get my life in order …. and, I sure would appreciate your prayers … for the desire to get this cleaning and organizing done, for the wisdom to know what to keep, and what to get rid of … but most of all … for God’s grace to get me through it all!  I know once it’s done, I will feel better … I just need that ‘nudge’ to get me in gear!  And, you have my permission to ‘nudge’ away!    

    07tagicando

    Well, other than that, it’s been a gray day here, but nice.  We had about an inch of snow earlier this morning … I made a pot of chili soup, and now I’m getting those wonderful smells of my banana nut bread that’s baking up for a pitch-in we’re having at church tomorrow.  We’re also having a video at church tomorrow by John Bevere … on breaking intimidation and how to overcome fear.  One of my friends went through the course, and it changed her life.  I’m looking forward to it … anyone ever hear of John and Lisa Bevere?  They have some great teachings to learn and grow from!  It’s quiet here tonight … hubby’s working away on his coin supplies for the antique mall … I’m doing laundry, and catching up here with you, watching the kitties sleeping here at my feet.  Loving little critters!  They’ve been quite entertaining today … they were both sitting in the window together watching the birds playing in the snow earlier … then a couple of squirrels joined in on the fun.  I think they were thinking that they’d like to be out there with them … but being indoor cats, well, watching will just have to do! 


    IMG_4321 M & P rs
    Here they are … the Moosh & Pooks, watching those birds,
    and squirrels, earlier this morning.

    IMG_4133 M & P rs
    Here they are squeezing into some tight sleeping quarters … well, trying to anyway!
    It was the first time the Moosh let her share … I was so proud of him! 
    He really is a pretty nice ‘guy’!  I had to get this on film!

    I’ll close for now … need to check on my bread … it’s smelling like its’ done, and hubby is asking if he can have a piece while it’s still hot.  I made enough so we could have a loaf of our own, too!  I couldn’t resist!  Anyway, I’ll leave you with a devotion that I read yesterday which prompted this post on OrGaNiZaTiOn, etc. … it was encouraging to me … maybe it will be for someone out there, as well.  Thanks so much for listening, and for your prayers … I’m praying you’ll all have a happy, and most blessed Sunday in Him!! 

    coffee cup Hugs,
                ~ Deborah <><

    Bar Red Rose Vine


    From ‘Like a Warm Cup of Coffee’
     ~ By Sarah Mae

    Do you ever wonder why it’s so difficult to keep up with your work?

    Do you ever feel like no matter what you do things just get messy anyway so why bother?

    Do you ever feel depressed and overwhelmed at the work that just keeps piling up –
    whether it’s cleaning, meal planning, or projects?

    There is a reason that the laundry keeps piling up along with dishes, projects around the house seem never ending, and in general with all of our tasks, everything just seems to tend toward chaos.

    Two words: The Curse

    Oh let me tell you about that little curse that God pronounced on our domains as a judgement:

    “Then to Adam He said, “Because you have listened to the voice of your wife,
    and have eaten from the tree about which I commanded you, saying,
    ‘You shall not eat from it’; Cursed is the ground because of you;
    In toil you shall eat of it All the days of your life.
    “Both thorns and thistles it shall grow for you;
    And you shall eat the plants of the field…” (Genesis 3:17-18)


    Because of Adam’s sin, our domains rebel against us as we have rebelled against God.  Our commands to rule, subdue, and be productive are all the harder to fulfill.  Everything is heading toward decay, and we are striving against it.  No matter how many loads of laundry we do, there will always be dirty clothes.  No matter how many times we clean the kitchen, for as long as we live it will get messy again.  This is all part of the curse.  Work is not the curse, unproductive work is.

    So how do we overcome the curse?

    We have to keep our eye on the eternal value of our work.  If we are in Christ, then everything we do not only has value here on earth, but it has value for eternity.  We have work that was created by God for us to do, and we have the power, approval, and authority to carry it out.  We also have to remember that the Lord is using our domains, and the struggles, to perfect us in our worship and service to Him.

    “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds,
    because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.
    Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete,
    not lacking anything.” James 1: 2-4

    How we take care of our domains is all about our response to God.  He gave us our domains,  He gave us, as women, the ability to give life to them!  We have to decide what our response to Him will be.  Will we respond grudgingly, and feel hopeless because it’s just another “rule” to follow, or will we accept our tasks with joy, giving thanks for all the goodness and blessings we have been given?

    Remember, He knows our weakness, and He’s not looking for perfection.  Taking care of our domains is something to cling to, to take joy and honor in, and ultimately is something that will lead us toward Christ like character and humility.  And if you’re anything like me, we need all the grace we can get!

    Now go clean something for the glory of God! :)


    Chore Cleaning Bears


  • IMG_7548 Psalm rs



    I’m back … well, I was never really away … unfortunately, we’ve been having trouble with our phone line, and having DSL, when you have no phone line, you have no way of getting onto the Internet.  Early yesterday, I had finally reached an actual ‘human’ at our phone company, and found out that a circuit board at some ‘terminal’ had been damaged, which is what’s been causing our trouble … it was good to finally get a live person!  Have you ever tried calling AT&T, or any other business, only to spend half an hour talking to a recorded voice, that sends you from one place to another, until you finally feel totally lost?!  Then ‘it’ never really answered your question in the first place, other than to precede to tell me how to fix it myself, by unscrewing and then opening a box that could either be found outside, or in our basement … well, it was all very frustrating!  I found a site that may help us all with this … it’s called GetHuman.  It’s worth coying out, to avoid any future frustration!  It is an extensive list, with even a number directly to a ‘human’ at the White House!  {Hmmm, wonder if anyone will call that one, and tell them of their frustration?!} 

    I do often wonder just how many jobs those recordings take away from people who really need them … not to mention those self check-out counters at the stores!  Things like that seem so impersonal to me.  I usually end up having to ask for help anyway, from the ’overseer’ they have at the ‘post’ there in the front of the store.  Back to my phone line … a very nice man, by the name of Troy, called back, personally, and said that he made the repairs there at the terminal, and did not need to come to my home.  He gave me his phone number, and told me if I ever had any more trouble in the lines, to call him, and he would take care of it … nice of him, wasn’t it?  Well, that was earlier yesterday, and I hadn’t been on much, even though the computer was.  I’ve had things to catch up on around here since the weekend.  I do hope yours was blessed, and that you all had a ’lover-ly’ Valentine’s Day!  We were at the antique/craft show, so any opportunity for a ‘special’ time for us, was limited.  We did have a fairly good weekend … there was a dog show going on, along with a car show, which both helped to bring people in to shop.  

    I really loved the dogs we got to see walking around the fairgrounds … I was able to snap a couple of photos of one of them below … he was BIG, and beautiful!  I loved his coloring and markings … and, if any of you know a bit about dogs (I love watching the Westminster Dog Show) he’s a Bernese Mountain dog, and, we also found out that he was a champion 4 times over.  He wasn’t camera shy either … he immediately took this pose!  


    IMG_4216 Dog Show 2-14-15-09 rs


    IMG_4219 Bermese Mountain Dog rs


    Once we were packed and ready to leave on Sunday, my husband surprised me with a belated Valentine dinner … Carrabba’s Italian Grill!  I had their Chicken Gratella … Yum!  That’s been a traditional Valentine’s restaurant for us, for about three years now.  He also bought me a delicious (not sure how else to describe it) bottle of body lotion from Bath and Body Works.  It was a scent they had carried and recently revived … I had totally missed it the first time around, but, after using it, I sure hope they decide to keep it.  It’s called ILE DE TAHITI’, with wildcrafted Tamanu nut, and Monoi oil that are both very soothing, and healing  …  I’ve never heard of these oils, but I love the smell, and the glass bottle it comes in!  {Lets hope I don’t break it!  }  It’s not often I come across a good lotion, but this one … I give it 2 thumbs up!

    IMG_4280 Valentine's Lotion rs


    Also, remember when I shared in a post, on 2-2-09, that I had accidentally broken my beloved Corelle Corningware coffee pot, then found another one at the antique mall, but on my way out the bag ripped, and that one broke, too?  Well, a dear friend, from here on Xanga, Mymanyblessings, came to my rescue and sent one to me that makes the best cup of coffee ever!  Thank you, so much, Linda, for that very special blessing!  I’m taking very good care of this one! 

    IMG_4296 coffee pot from Linda rs


    And, I wanted to share a couple of prayer requests with you … you may remember Tim, Miss Elizabeth’s brother, and my son’s best friend, who recently went to Malawi over in Africa … well, my husband’s best friend went with his family at the same time, as well, and we just got word today that both Seth and his son have contracted malaria!  As far as we know, Tim is doing well, but your prayers for Seth, and his son, are so very appreciated right now.  Do pray that Tim stays healthy, as well!  We hope to hear from him very soon to get an update on how things are going there.  Also, please keep my friend, Marcia, in your prayers.  She’s the one who is having treatment for breast cancer.  Well, I’ll finish with this for now.  I’ll be visiting around, and catching up with you this week … hope yours is abundantly blessed!

    coffee cup
    Hugs,
                ~ Deborah <><

    Commit every particle of your being in all things, down to the smallest details of your life,
    eagerly and with perfect trust to the unfailing and most sure providence of God. 
    ~ Jean-Pierre de Caussade

  •  

    valentine's day john 3 16

    “For God so LOVED the world,
    that He gave his only begotten Son,
    that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish,
    but have everlasting life”.

    ~~~~~

    Romantic love is blind to everything except what is lovable and lovely,
    but Christ’s love sees us with terrible clarity and sees us whole.
    Christ’s love so wishes our joy that it is
    ruthless against everything in us that diminishes our joy.
    The worst sentence Love can pass is that we behold the suffering
    which Love has endured for our sake,
    and that is also our acquittal.
    The justice and mercy of the judge are ultimately one.

    ~ Frederick Buechner ~

  •      
    belgiumcurtains


    Weaving Lace

    “I will give you the treasures of darkness.”
    {Isaiah 45:3}

    In the famous lace shops of Brussels,
    there are special rooms devoted to the spinning of the world’s finest lace,
    all with the most delicate patterns. 
    The rooms are kept completely in the dark,
    except for the light that falls directly on the developing pattern,
    from one very small window. 
    Only one person sits in each small room,
    where the narrow rays of light fall upon the threads he is weaving,
    for lace is always most beautifully and delicately woven
    when the weaver himself is in the dark,
    with only his work in the light. 

    Sometimes the darkness in our lives is worse,
    because we cannot even see the web we are weaving or understand what we are doing. 
    Therefore we are unable to see any beauty or any possible good arising from our experience. 
    Yet if we are faithful to forge ahead and “if we do not give up” {Gal. 6:9},
    someday we will know that the most exquisite work of our our lives
    was done during those days when it was the darkest.

    If you seem to be living in deep darkness
    because God is working in strange and mysterious ways,
    do not be afraid. 
    Simply go forward in faith and in love, never doubting Him.  
    He is watching and will bring goodness and beauty from all of you pain and tears. 
    ~ J.R. Miller ~

     Tiny Tag White Rose   Tiny Tag White Rose   Tiny Tag White Rose

    The shuttles of His purpose move
    To carry out His own design;
    Seek not too soon to disapprove
    His work, nor yet assign
    Dark motive, when, with silent tread,
    You view some somber fold;
    For lo, within each darker thread
    There twines a thread of gold.

    Spin cheerfully,
    Not tearfully,
    He knows the way you plod;
    Spin carefully,
    Spin prayerfully,
    But leave the thread with God.

    ~ From the Canadian Home Journal ~


    belgian lace 10


  • Prayer Request

       

    pic vintage AshleysWish

      
    02.10.09  UPDATE and good news about Bruce:  Once again, we really appreciate your continued prayers for our dear friend Bruce.  Many of you have probably been wondering how he’s doing since my last post on Saturday … here’s what we know so far.  We were unable to see him Sunday, but earlier that morning, at church, we heard he was having trouble breathing.  Well, that was a concern, but some friends clarified the situation for us … they said he was having trouble breathing while doing the exercises which are designed for the lungs when this type of injury occurs, so that pneumonia does not set in.  They were told, that the second set of x-rays showed no additional internal injuries, Praise the Lord … that was wonderful news!  They also found out, that if his pain was manageable outside of the hospital, he would be able to be released.  Well, after church, we called the hospital to find out more, and we were very happy to hear that his pain was manageable, and that he had been released that morning!  He is staying with his niece and her family, who live here in town, and getting very good care!  We called him last evening to see if he was able to talk a bit, but he was sleeping.  We’re going to call back, and hopefully get over to see him soon, and have an even better report! 

    There are a couple of other prayer concerns for him, as well … he is thinking there may be issues with the car insurance, as the other driver did NOT have any!  Also, he will be dealing with the car manufacturer regarding the malfunction of his air bag … as I had shared earlier, his did not go off, but the one on the passenger side of the car, did.  He would so appreciate prayer about these issues he’s going to have to sift through, and take care of, along with prayer for his healing.  

    {A little ‘rant’ here, if I may … I really don’t mean to complain, but I just don’t understand how someone can get a driver’s license without proof of insurance coverage!  The person who hit the car my son was riding in, back in December, also did NOT have any insurance!  They’re still dealing with all the paperwork!  I’m just so thankful that God watched over both of them, and that neither one were hurt any more seriously in these accidents!  It makes me wonder just how many are driving out there, without any coverage at all!} 

    I do hope you’re having a blessed beginning to your week … I’ll be around to see how your doing, and post an update as to what is happening this week in my little corner of the world.  Hugs <><
     

    Bar Red Rose Vine


    02.07.09  UPDATE On Bruce:

    First of all, I want to thank everyone for your thoughts, and prayers, for Bruce!  He will be so very blessed to hear of your prayers for him!  We still aren’t quite clear on everything that happened with the accident, but apparently the brakes on his car locked up, failed in some way, and when the impact occurred, the air bag on the passenger’s side deployed, but his air bag did not!  He is on some pretty heavy medication, and tomorrow they will be doing more x-rays to make sure there are no additional internal injuries … they said things don’t always show up right away on the films.  After church, in the morning, our plan is to go see him, so we’ll know more then.  Please keep him in your prayers for a total and complete healing!  I’m not at all sure how they treat a fractured sternum!  We are praying that he is able to sleep well through the night, and that they will find no other internal injuries tomorrow!  Praying you all have a most blessed Sunday, in Him!!  Thank you all, again, so very much!

    Tag heart Hugs,
             ~ Deborah <><

    daisy3daisy3daisy3


    URGENT PRAYER REQUEST:  I just sent this as a message to all my friends, and subscribers, but I didn’t get a confirmation that it sent (?), so just in case, I’m also sharing it here …. we need your prayers!

    We have a dear, dear friend, who we go to church with.  We found out through our prayer chain, that he was in a very serious car accident.  They found that he has a broken sternum, and is experiencing a great deal of pain.  They have him on the strongest of pain medications, and are now checking him for possible internal injuries.  His name is Bruce, and we’ve known him for many years.  He is a single man, and a wonderful witness for the Lord … he works with intercity youth, and if you knew him, you’d love him just as we do.  It’s good to be able to put a face with those we pray for, so I wanted to share this recent photo.  Here he is sharing in conversation with my husband, and other good friends, at church.  We don’t know if we can see him today, but if not, we hope we’ll be able to tomorrow after church.

    Your prayers are so very appreciated right now! 

    Thank you all so much!
           ~ Deborah <><

    Lewis, Bruce, Rick, Ken, Bill Nov

    From left to right – Lewis (my husband,), Bruce, Rick, Ken, and Bill

    daisy3daisy3daisy3


    If there are two persons praying, there are three.
    If three meet to pray, there are four praying.
    There is always one more than you can see.
    ~ S. D. Gordon ~

    Our prayers lay the track down on which God’s power can come.
    Like a mighty locomotive, his power is irresistible,
    but it cannot reach us without rails.
    ~ Watchman Nee ~


    daisy3 daisy3daisy3


  •   

    be joyful


    Thought I’d share some ’Saturday Smiles’ with you all for a change! 
    EnJOY,  and have a blessed day!  Hugs <><
     


    Family Togetherness
    An older woman recently returned from her hometown in North Carolina and told a friend they’d spruced up the churchyard cemetery since her last visit several years past.  “Lots of new greenery,” she said.  “And families are together now.”
    “All together?”  her friend asked, puzzled.

    “Well,” the first replied, “years ago they never much worried where they buried someone because everyone was a neighbor anyhow.  They’d just dig a grave wherever it seemed to balance things.  But they’ve redone it so people are with their children and grandchildren, instead of scattered.”

    The friend was aghast.  “You mean they exhumed all those people and reburied them?”

    “Oh my, no,” was the reply.  “We just shifted the headstones.


    Refined Shopping
    A very refined young man comes to a small food shop and sees fruit.
    “Give me two pounds of oranges and wrap every orange up in a separate plastic bag, please,”
    he says to the saleswoman.  She does it.

    “And three pounds of cherries, please, and wrap up every berry in a plastic bag too.”  She does.

    “And what are those there?” he asks pointing out at something dark in the corner.

    “Raisins,” says the saleswoman, “but they’re not for sale.”


    Hospital Regulations
    Hospital regulations require a wheelchair for patients being discharged.  However, while working as a student nurse, I found one elderly gentleman–already dressed and sitting on the bed with a suitcase at his feet–who insisted he didn’t need my help to leave the hospital.

    After a chat about rules being rules, he reluctantly let me wheel him to the elevator.  On the way down I asked him if his wife was meeting him.

    “I don’t know,” he said.  “She’s still upstairs in the bathroom changing out of her hospital gown.”


    Hereafter
    On a pastoral visit, the young minister asked the elder lady if she was
    concerned about the hereafter. To which she stated, “Oh my goodness yes.
    I think about it everyday when I come out to the kitchen and then say to
    myself, now what am I here after.”


    The Congregation Replied
    Down in the south, there are many churches known as “answer back” churches.  When the preacher says something, and the congregation naturally replies.

    One Sunday, a preacher was speaking on what it would take for the church to become better.  He said, ”If this church is to become better, it must take up it’s bed, and walk.”  The congregation said, “Let it walk, Preacher, let it walk.”

    Encouraged by their response, he went further.  “If this church is going to become better, it will have to throw aside it’s hindrances and run!”  The congregation replied, “Let it run, preacher, let it run!”

    Now really into his message, he spoke stronger.  “If this church really wants to become great, it will have to take up it’s wings and fly!”  “Let it fly, Preacher, let it fly!” the congregation shouts.

    The Preacher gets louder.  “If this church is going to fly, it will cost money!”

    The congregation replied.  “Let it walk, Preacher, let it walk.”


    Too Much Sugar
    A fellow nurse at my hospital received a call from an anxious woman. 
    “I’m diabetic and I’m afraid I’ve had too much sugar today,” she said.

    “Are you light-headed?” my colleague asked.

    “No,” the caller answered, “I’m a brunette.”


    18-Wheeler
    There was a man driving down the road behind an 18-wheeler.  At every stoplight the trucker would get out of the cab, run back and bang on the trailer door.  After seeing this at several intersections in a row, the motorist followed him until he pulled into a parking lot.

    When they both had come to a stop, the truck driver once again jumped out and started banging on the trailer door.  The motorist went up to him and said,  “I don’t mean to be nosy, but why do you keep banging on that door?”

    The trucker replied, ”Sorry, can’t talk now.  I have 20 tons of canaries and a 10-ton limit.  I have to keep half of them in the air all the time!”


    Found Cell Phone
    When a customer left his cell phone in my store,
    I scrolled through his saved numbers, stopped at “Mom”, and pushed send.
    His mother answered, and I told her what happened.
    “Don’t worry,” she said, “I’ll take care of it.”
    A few minutes later, the cell phone rang. It was “Mom.”
    “Martin,” she said, “you left your cell phone at the convenience store.”


    Tea Service
    One day my mother was out and my dad was in charge of me and my brother who is four years older than I am.  I was maybe 1 and a half years old, and had just recovered from an accident in which my arm had been broken.  Someone had given me a little ‘tea set’ as a get-well gift, and it was one of my favorite toys. 

    Daddy was in the living room engrossed in the evening news and my brother was playing nearby in the living room when I brought Daddy a little cup of ‘tea’, which was just water. 

    After several cups of tea, and lots of praise for such yummy tea, my Mom came home.  My Dad made her wait in the living room to watch me bring him a cup of tea, because it was ‘just the cutest thing!!’ 

    My Mom waited, and sure enough, here I come down the hall with a cup of tea for Daddy and she watches him drink it up, then says, ‘Did it ever occur to you that the only place that baby can reach to get water is the toilet??’


    Only in America
    Where else can you walk out of your mortgaged home,
    step into a time payment car,
    and drive down a bonded highway on credit card gas,
    to charge something at a going out of business sale.


    Bar Red Rose Vine

  • Thankful Thursday

     

    FLOWERS Roses-To-Remember-Posters 2   


     Be Thankful

    Be thankful that you don’t already have everything you desire,
    If you did, what would there be to look forward to?

    Be thankful when you don’t know something,
    For it gives you the opportunity to learn.

    Be thankful for the difficult times.
    During those times you grow.

    Be thankful for your limitations,
    Because they give you opportunities for improvement.

    Be thankful for each new challenge,
    Because it will build your strength and character.

    Be thankful for your mistakes,
    They will teach you valuable lessons.

    Be thankful when you’re tired and weary,
    Because it means you’ve made a difference.

    It is easy to be thankful for the good things.
    A life of rich fulfillment comes to those who are
    also thankful for the setbacks.

    GRATITUDE can turn a negative into a positive.
    Find a way to be thankful for your troubles
    and they can become your blessings.

    ~ Author Unknown ~

    Tea cups rose and Bible  

    1 Chronicles 29:13:
    Now, our God, we give you thanks, and praise your glorious name.

    Psalm 7:17:
    I will give thanks to the LORD because of his righteousness
    and will sing praise to the name of the LORD Most High.

    Psalm 69:30:
    I will praise God’s name in song and glorify him with thanksgiving.

    Psalm 75:1:
    We give thanks to you, O God, we give thanks,
    for your Name is near; men tell of your wonderful deeds.

    Psalm 136:26:
    Give thanks to the God of heaven.
    His love endures forever.

    daisy3 daisy3
     

  • A Word for Wednesday

         
    Bar Red Rose Vine



    bible and tea SWEET COMFORTS

                                       ~ Julia Bettencourt ~

    “In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy
    comforts delight my soul.”   Proverbs 94:19


    Recently I was reading in Psalm 94 after a very tiring day and I came upon verse 19.  “In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy comforts delight my soul.”  I can’t tell you how much that verse encouraged me.  I began thinking about those comforts that the Lord gives us and it just blessed my soul.

    Comforts are such wonderful things.  The dictionary meaning in Webster defines comfort as “to give strength and hope to” or “to ease the grief or trouble of”.  When I think about comforts, I think about the comforts of home, like my children being around me, the smell of dinner in the oven, or even just sitting down with my family and enjoying time together.  Those are some of the things that comfort me.

    The comforts the Lord gives me are wonderful things.  Here are some that I know He gives me.  You may have some other ones that give you comfort.

    The Comfort of God’s Love.
    Resting in the love of God is something that gives me such a relaxed feeling.  I know it’s real and won’t change.  It’s kind of like cookies baking.  The aroma of God’s love just soothes the soul.

    “The LORD hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love:
    therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.”   Jeremiah 31:3


    The Comfort of God’s Protection.
    What a sweet comfort to know that the Lord is looking out for me.  It’s like a strong house.  God’s protection will shelter us no matter what kind of weather we face.  Of course that doesn’t mean we won’t have trials, but He will bring us through them.

    “He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.   
    Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.   
    The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.   
    The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.   
    The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.   
    The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.”
      
     Psalm 55:17

    The Comfort of God’s Wisdom.
    To know that God’s thoughts are much better than mine is such a comforting thing.  His planning and working for my life is perfect.  Like the fixtures in our homes that comfort us just to know they are always there, so God’s wisdom will always be there for us.

    “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”  Jeremiah 29:11

    “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:8,9

    The Comfort of God’s Strength.
    Oh what a comfort and joy to know that I can rest in God’s strength and not my own.  I always enjoy coming home after a long trip and seeing our house still standing strong.  It’s like it reaches out to me and gives me comfort.  God’s strength is like that.

    “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.  Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.  He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.”   Psalm 91:1-4

    The Comfort of God’s Righteousness.
    It’s a real comfort to me to have a God who is good and upright.  It makes everything in my life just fall into place. Others around me may fail but to know that God can do no wrong is so assuring.

    “Righteous art thou, O LORD, and upright are thy judgments.
    Thy testimonies that thou hast commanded are righteous and very faithful.”
      Psalm 119:137, 138

    heart scrollheart scrollheart scroll

    I know I need to focus on God’s comforts more.  Sometimes life gets so hectic and we forget that we have such wonderful resources at our fingertips as Christians.  We all have those “multitude of thoughts” that come rushing at us like the psalmist talks about in our opening verse (Psalm 94:19).  Isn’t it great that we don’t have to get flustered and all stressed out by the world and what lies before us?  We can take life one day at a time with a calm spirit because we have so many sweet comforts from the Lord that soothe us and give us strength and encouragement every day.

    So, are you resting in God’s comforts?

    We woke up to 4 more inches of snow yesterday … it was such a beautiful day … cloudy, but still beautiful, with all that white, fluffy snow!  It was pretty to look at, but causing accidents everywhere!  Earlier in the morning, my hubby met a couple of men from church, for a *free* breakfast at Denny’s restaurant!  *Free*, I asked!!  He found out it was because of the Superbowl, and they offered their ‘Grand Slam’ breakfast up through 2:00PM yesterday.  He said they were packed!  I can understand why!  It isn’t too often that you get anything *free* these days!  He made it home safely after he ran some errands, then we got busy working in our kitchen.  Lots to go through in there!  I also made a pot of homemade potato soup, just like my mom use to make!  Lots of sweet onion, celery, real butter, salt and pepper, all cooked till tender in a chicken stock … then add those ‘tators, and cook ‘em to fork tenderness … finally, stir in your, semi-room temperature milk, slowly … let that heat through, and enjoy!  A simple soup, but it was yummy on a cold, wintery day!  

    Today we’ll, hopefully, get through more cabinets, getting rid of things we really don’t use anymore … especially those dust bunnies!!  Work is slow for Lewis right now, so if you would, please pray that it gets busier and more jobs come in.  I also have another prayer request, or two …  but, first a quick update … our Miss Elizabeth, and her family have moved, and settled back into their cabin, way down south … much too far away, though, but she is doing wonderfully!   She’s been through a very difficult ‘journey’ with this illness, they all have, but it looks like God has brought them all through … He always does, doesn’t He!  Do keep her brother, Tim, in prayer, as well … he is still over in Malawi, and has just recently helped to work on building a school there.  I get few updates from him, as it’s hard to get an Internet connection there, but, from the last one I read, he is loving it!  He also told me that he helped to plan Ian’s surprise visit this past December/January!  From long distance, for sure!!  He said he wished that he could have been here, too.  We also found out that Mom Betty has cataracts, and, we’re not sure of the treatment plan just yet, so if you would also be praying for her healing, as well! 

    Also, I told you, a little while back, about a very dear friend, who is battling breast cancer … her name is Marcia … I ask, if you would, to please keep her in your prayers!  She has been receiving cancer treatments at a clinic for the past 2 weeks, or so , and is going through a difficult time with it.  I will share more later, as I learn more, but, please, do keep her in your daily prayers!  She is a precious, and dear sister in the Lord, whom we’ve known for a number of years … her children are friends with our son, Ian, and we even share the same birthday.  I know she would so appreciate your thoughts and prayers more than ever now!  Thank you, all so very much!  I pray that you all have a blessed day, and let us never forget His goodness, and everlasting lovingkindness towards each and every one of us!

    How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God!
    therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings. 
    Psalm 36:7

    Hear me, O LORD; for thy lovingkindness is good:
    turn unto me according to the multitude of thy tender mercies.
    Psalm 69:16 

    Tag heart Hugs,
             ~ Deborah <>< 

  •   

    untitled


    Well, it’s February, so I decided to change the look around here a bit!  It’s snowing again, just flurries, but none the less, it’s still snow … there are about 6 squirrels playing out in the backyard, and some of them are at the birdfeeder!  I’ve never seen so many here before!  Unfortunately, they’re eating all of the bird food!  We have a guard on the pole, but does that stop them?!  No!!  Persistent little things … well, they look pretty fat in my opinion!  I’ve also noticed an abundance of oversized robins over at my sisters house … already!  They really look large to me … we haven’t had any here at our birdfeeder, yet!  Hubby recently filled it, and we have some hungry critters out there this evening! 
     
    Well, I do hope your weekend was blessed!  We went to the antique mall, on Saturday, to do some restocking … then we walked around a bit, looking at some of the booths there.  We noticed that a few of them are empty, or selling out with high percentages off … which is not a good sign for the mall. I’ve noticed a few businesses have closed in our area these days. My husband’s work schedule is slow right now, but, we’re going to pray, and trust the Lord that our businesses don’t suffer!  If something does happen, we know that He is our Provider, and will meet all of our needs!  We need not be anxious … no matter what any of us are going through!  When we seek Him, He truly does ‘supply all of our needs according to His riches in glory’!  {Philippians 4:19}

    “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on.  Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not of more value than they?  And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?  And why are you anxious about clothing?  Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.  {Matthew 6:35-34} 

    Bar Red Rose Vine

    When we were at the antique mall, I found an older Corelle Corningware percolator coffee pot, that I’ve been looking for since I accidently broke ours!  We had bought it at a garage sale, for $8.00, the first week we were married, and a couple of months ago, I set it on the edge of the counter, not looking at what I was doing … and I heard this thud, and a crash of tinkling glass!  It was a dear ’old friend’, always faithful, and making the best coffee in town!   Well, I have the ‘remains’, and haven’t had the heart to ‘bury’ it just yet!!  Back to the one I found on Saturday … Lewis really didn’t like the flower design that was on it, and it wasn’t the exact same model, or year, of the one I broke, but we thought we’d give it a try.  It was about $25.00, but, we have looked, and most perculators, these days cost twice that much, and then some!  This one was in great condition … notice, I said WAS!  When I carried it to the car, the sack, which was very thin, ripped, falling out of my hands, and landing on the concrete … !! oops !! …. more tinkling glass!  Well, I had a moment, or two, of severe disappointment, but then I got to thinking … the Lord knows, and maybe the cord was bad, and He was protecting us from a fire … ever feel like that?!  When things happen, and you wonder why … well, we can find peace, and comfort, in knowing that He sees way beyond what we do … He knows best!  I’ll find another one … eventually!  In the meantime, we’ll just continue to use our other backup, or, then again …. maybe give up drinking coffee altogether!  We only make it on the weekends anyway, but since my hubby’s been home with his ankle, we’ve been drinking it more often, and it sure does smell good, while perkin’!  But, I’m having a nice hot cup, or two, of Irish Breakfast Tea, today!  I prefer tea, anyway!  Much healthier!  And also, yesterday, I was reading about how even the smallest things can so easily become idols in our lives.  Made me realize that I have one, or two, to get rid of ……. 
     
    Sunday, we had a wonderful service at church with people sharing testimonies of how God is working in their lives … when you hear that, it is so encouraging, and helps to grow our faith!  After church we went to a very small chinese restaurant, and I had some broccoli chicken, fried rice, egg drop soup, and hot green tea.  It was a simple meal, but very good.  We left there and went to visit my sister.  We found out that they will be moving away, about 2 hours from us, but they will continue working here and commuting … so I will still get to see her!  It just won’t be as easy to drop in and visit, like we do now.  They will be moving into his mother’s home, who recently passed away.  They, like many, been struggling with finances lately, and since the house was completely paid for, things will work out much better for them financially.  Later, yesterday afternoon, we went to a friend’s house to eat a lite dinner, and then play some cards … a game called, ‘Pounce’.  It was new to me, but it was fun!  All in all, it was a full, and blessed day. 

    Today, I’ve been working on my to-do list, thinking of completely rearranging our rooms … changing things up a bit.  We are hoping to move, but in the meantime, we need to be faithful here, and be content with what we have now … God knows the right place, and the right time to move us!  Well, my hubby will be home in a bit, so I’m going to go put on our pot of chili to warm-up … we need to eat our leftovers, and chili is even better a day, or two, later!  And, we still are getting those snow flurries!!  Blessings on your day!! 

    chbiblegrouping Hugs,
                           ~ Deborah <><

    P.S.  Just got this email from my brother … here is a recipe that sounds easy, and delicious!  I’m fond of carrot cake … it was the type of cake we had at our wedding, with apple cider, and not punch!  I think I have all the ingredients for this version on hand, so I may just make this to go along with another cup of that tea!  Enjoy! 

    CarrotCakeAmber


    Carrot Cake

     
    Ingredients:
    1 box (about 18-1/4 oz.) yellow cake mix with pudding in the mix
    2 tsp. ground cinnamon 
    1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
    1/2 tsp. ground ginger
    3/4 cup Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise
    3 eggs
    2 cups shredded carrots
    1 can (8 oz.) crushed pineapple, drained
    1/2 cup chopped walnuts
    Cream cheese frosting or whipped cream (optional)
     
    Preparation:

    Preheat oven to 350°.

    Grease and flour a 13 x 9-inch baking pan, a bundt pan, or two (9-inch) round baking pans; set aside.

    Beat cake mix, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in large bowl, with electric mixer on low speed until blended.

    Add Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise, eggs, carrots and pineapple; beat 30 seconds or until moistened.

    With mixer on medium speed, beat 2 minutes. Stir in walnuts. Pour into prepared pans.

    Bake 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean.

    Cool 10 minutes on wire rack; remove from pans and cool completely. Just before serving, frost cake. 
    Yield:  Serves 12.  Enjoy!

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads