Day: February 26, 2009

  •  
    tea 2

    Well, I’m sitting here at the computer, sipping a hot cup of tea, with honey and lemon, and wanted to check in real quick to let you all know that I’m battling the flu, again!  Yes, I woke up Monday with a sore throat, and it is now a full-blown case of the flu … an upper respiratory infection … fun, fun!  It seems like so many around here have been sick this year, and more than just once, too!  At church on Sunday, a lot of people I talked to sounded like they had colds, and we found out that our former pastor is battling a case of bronchitis!  I made a big pot of homemade chicken soup, chocked full of fresh veggies, onion, and garlic for Tuesday’s dinner, so we’ve been eating that, but, it’s about gone now.  I’m hoping to be feeling better by the weekend … my sister is moving about 2 hours away this coming Saturday, and I wanted to be able to help them, and drive up to see their new house.  I’m going to miss her terribly!  Also our series by John Bevere, which I had mentioned in my last post, has been moved from this past Sunday to this coming one, and I do not want to miss that!  It will carry into next week during the evening, as well.  My hubby will be going out of town sometime next week, to put new ceramic tile in another Panera Bread Company … not sure exactly how long he’ll be gone, but please keep him in your prayers for a safe trip. 

    I also have a couple of other prayer requests … my father-in-law, O.P. (husband of Mom Betty) hasn’t been doing very well … we’ve been told that they found ammonia in his blood, which they say, may have something to do with the pancreatitis he had … they said he’s very toxic.  His memory is not very good either.  Please keep him in your prayers.  Lewis is down spending the afternoon-early evening with them both, and he’s going to eat dinner with them there in the cafeteria … (he’s probably tired of my chicken soup anyway).  Mom Betty seems to be doing pretty well, which we are thankful for. 

    Here’s an update on some of my past prayer requests … Bruce, our friend, who was in the car accident, is doing better, and should be back in church this coming Sunday. Praise the Lord!  Also, our Miss Elizabeth is doing quite well, now.  They’ve all settled back in their cabin way down south.  Her brother, Tim, is enjoying his time over in Malawi, but is wanting Ian to come over and help with his filming.  Also, the father and son, who are friends of ours, that I told you had contracted malaria over there, have responded to the medication, and both are doing much better, now. 

    *I have another dear friend, I spoke to you about, Marcia, who is battling breast cancer.  She recently returned home after four weeks of treatments, and one week spent with her son in California.  She is to go back for a mastectomy, and possible liver surgery the week of March 9th.  She is experiencing weakness and is very tired.  Please do remember her in your prayers.  She is a caring friend … one I, regrettably, haven’t spent enough time with.  I’ve known her for a number of years, and we also share the same birthday.  We want to get together now that she’s back home, but with my having this flu, she said that’s a no-no!  I’m praying we’ll be able to get together before she heads back for the surgery.  Here we are when we were at the fund raiser for our Miss Elizabeth this past October …. like I’ve said, it helps to put a face with the one you’re praying for! 

    Marcia and Me @ Fur Elise IMG_9416 rs

    ~ Marcia & Me ~


    daisy3daisy3


    So, how’s the weather where you are?  It’s a gray day here … about 46* with rain and some thunderstorms on the way for tonight, then tomorrow, a cold front with will bring those 30* temps again.  I hear we have only 20 days before the first day of Spring … it won’t be long before we’ve exchanged our complaining about the cold, for the hot, sticky, dog days of summer!  (but, not me … you know how much I love the cold weather)   Well, I’m going to go get another hot cup of tea, eat a bit of chicken soup, then go read some more, and keep working on my ‘To Do’ list on decluttering, and organizing my home!  And, I also wanted to thank you for your thoughts, prayers, and encouragement on my last post about getting decluttered and organized.  It was such a blessing to read all of your comments!  One step at a time, that’s how I need to approach it!  We’ll ‘git er’ done’, I know it!  Praying you’ll all have a wonderful Friday, and a blessed weekend!  I hope to get around to visit you here soon.  Unfortunately, all I feel like doing now is sleeping!  Thanks again for your prayers!

     coffee cup Hugs,
                 ~ Deborah <><  


    Our prayers lay the track down on which God’s power can come.
    Like a mighty locomotive, his power is irresistible,
    but it cannot reach us without rails. 
    ~ Watchman Nee

    Each time, before you intercede, be quiet first, and worship God in His glory.
    Think of what He can do, and how He delights to hear the prayers of His redeemed people.
    Think of your place and privilege in Christ, and expect great things!  ~ Andrew Murray

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads