Day: February 4, 2009

  • A Word for Wednesday

         
    Bar Red Rose Vine



    bible and tea SWEET COMFORTS

                                       ~ Julia Bettencourt ~

    “In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy
    comforts delight my soul.”   Proverbs 94:19


    Recently I was reading in Psalm 94 after a very tiring day and I came upon verse 19.  “In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy comforts delight my soul.”  I can’t tell you how much that verse encouraged me.  I began thinking about those comforts that the Lord gives us and it just blessed my soul.

    Comforts are such wonderful things.  The dictionary meaning in Webster defines comfort as “to give strength and hope to” or “to ease the grief or trouble of”.  When I think about comforts, I think about the comforts of home, like my children being around me, the smell of dinner in the oven, or even just sitting down with my family and enjoying time together.  Those are some of the things that comfort me.

    The comforts the Lord gives me are wonderful things.  Here are some that I know He gives me.  You may have some other ones that give you comfort.

    The Comfort of God’s Love.
    Resting in the love of God is something that gives me such a relaxed feeling.  I know it’s real and won’t change.  It’s kind of like cookies baking.  The aroma of God’s love just soothes the soul.

    “The LORD hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love:
    therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.”   Jeremiah 31:3


    The Comfort of God’s Protection.
    What a sweet comfort to know that the Lord is looking out for me.  It’s like a strong house.  God’s protection will shelter us no matter what kind of weather we face.  Of course that doesn’t mean we won’t have trials, but He will bring us through them.

    “He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.   
    Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.   
    The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.   
    The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.   
    The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.   
    The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.”
      
     Psalm 55:17

    The Comfort of God’s Wisdom.
    To know that God’s thoughts are much better than mine is such a comforting thing.  His planning and working for my life is perfect.  Like the fixtures in our homes that comfort us just to know they are always there, so God’s wisdom will always be there for us.

    “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”  Jeremiah 29:11

    “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:8,9

    The Comfort of God’s Strength.
    Oh what a comfort and joy to know that I can rest in God’s strength and not my own.  I always enjoy coming home after a long trip and seeing our house still standing strong.  It’s like it reaches out to me and gives me comfort.  God’s strength is like that.

    “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.  Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.  He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.”   Psalm 91:1-4

    The Comfort of God’s Righteousness.
    It’s a real comfort to me to have a God who is good and upright.  It makes everything in my life just fall into place. Others around me may fail but to know that God can do no wrong is so assuring.

    “Righteous art thou, O LORD, and upright are thy judgments.
    Thy testimonies that thou hast commanded are righteous and very faithful.”
      Psalm 119:137, 138

    heart scrollheart scrollheart scroll

    I know I need to focus on God’s comforts more.  Sometimes life gets so hectic and we forget that we have such wonderful resources at our fingertips as Christians.  We all have those “multitude of thoughts” that come rushing at us like the psalmist talks about in our opening verse (Psalm 94:19).  Isn’t it great that we don’t have to get flustered and all stressed out by the world and what lies before us?  We can take life one day at a time with a calm spirit because we have so many sweet comforts from the Lord that soothe us and give us strength and encouragement every day.

    So, are you resting in God’s comforts?

    We woke up to 4 more inches of snow yesterday … it was such a beautiful day … cloudy, but still beautiful, with all that white, fluffy snow!  It was pretty to look at, but causing accidents everywhere!  Earlier in the morning, my hubby met a couple of men from church, for a *free* breakfast at Denny’s restaurant!  *Free*, I asked!!  He found out it was because of the Superbowl, and they offered their ‘Grand Slam’ breakfast up through 2:00PM yesterday.  He said they were packed!  I can understand why!  It isn’t too often that you get anything *free* these days!  He made it home safely after he ran some errands, then we got busy working in our kitchen.  Lots to go through in there!  I also made a pot of homemade potato soup, just like my mom use to make!  Lots of sweet onion, celery, real butter, salt and pepper, all cooked till tender in a chicken stock … then add those ‘tators, and cook ‘em to fork tenderness … finally, stir in your, semi-room temperature milk, slowly … let that heat through, and enjoy!  A simple soup, but it was yummy on a cold, wintery day!  

    Today we’ll, hopefully, get through more cabinets, getting rid of things we really don’t use anymore … especially those dust bunnies!!  Work is slow for Lewis right now, so if you would, please pray that it gets busier and more jobs come in.  I also have another prayer request, or two …  but, first a quick update … our Miss Elizabeth, and her family have moved, and settled back into their cabin, way down south … much too far away, though, but she is doing wonderfully!   She’s been through a very difficult ‘journey’ with this illness, they all have, but it looks like God has brought them all through … He always does, doesn’t He!  Do keep her brother, Tim, in prayer, as well … he is still over in Malawi, and has just recently helped to work on building a school there.  I get few updates from him, as it’s hard to get an Internet connection there, but, from the last one I read, he is loving it!  He also told me that he helped to plan Ian’s surprise visit this past December/January!  From long distance, for sure!!  He said he wished that he could have been here, too.  We also found out that Mom Betty has cataracts, and, we’re not sure of the treatment plan just yet, so if you would also be praying for her healing, as well! 

    Also, I told you, a little while back, about a very dear friend, who is battling breast cancer … her name is Marcia … I ask, if you would, to please keep her in your prayers!  She has been receiving cancer treatments at a clinic for the past 2 weeks, or so , and is going through a difficult time with it.  I will share more later, as I learn more, but, please, do keep her in your daily prayers!  She is a precious, and dear sister in the Lord, whom we’ve known for a number of years … her children are friends with our son, Ian, and we even share the same birthday.  I know she would so appreciate your thoughts and prayers more than ever now!  Thank you, all so very much!  I pray that you all have a blessed day, and let us never forget His goodness, and everlasting lovingkindness towards each and every one of us!

    How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God!
    therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings. 
    Psalm 36:7

    Hear me, O LORD; for thy lovingkindness is good:
    turn unto me according to the multitude of thy tender mercies.
    Psalm 69:16 

    Tag heart Hugs,
             ~ Deborah <>< 

quote and verse

Faith expects from God what is beyond all expectation.
- Andrew Murray -

God often comes to us,
not in dramatic and the spectacular,
but in quiet, unexpected ways ...
In a still, small voice,
a gentle whisper,
God makes known His love.

In quietness and trust
is your strength.
Isaiah 30:15

Pleasure, possessions, power, and privilege are ultimately worthless in comparison to the indescribable
joy of knowing GOD!!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5,6

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:
I will guide thee with mine eye.
Psalm 32:8

calendar daze

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

HOW TO FIND ME … I HAVE MOVED!

I HAVE MOVED!!

past threads